Ratings based on 266 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Belizean Shores Resort vacation

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Everything. Small, peaceful. Has everything you need for a Caribbean vacation.
Cons: Kitchens could be a little better stocked with items like foil, more knives, saran wrap.
Location: 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Ambergirs Caye. Numerous activities - biking, kayaking, swimming in pool or ocean, snorkeling, diving, fishing
This resort is a small (which is good) with condo style accomodations iwth full kitchens. The buildings are two stories - ground level suites are one bedroom; 2nd level suites have an extra 2 beds in the loft. All suites are one bathroom. Everything is very clean and comfortable. The grounds are maintained to an immaculate level. There are large flat screen TV's with a good channel selection and the wireless internet worked well. The pool is also very well maintained and has a swim up/walk-up bar. A tennis court is on the grounds. Bikes or golf carts are available to rent. Belizean Shores has their own water taxi fleet (runs on a schedule) and is associated with a tour/fishing/dive shop at the resort dock which is very convenient. A full service restaurant is part of the resort and there are several other restaurants within close walking distance. A small grocery store is also close by. The staff is extemely nice and helpful and hard working. I would stay at Belizean Shores again and highly recommned the resort. Very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
This is a very fine hotel. The rooms are great and the staff could not be any friendlier or more helpful. I would definitely stay there again. The only concern some people might have is that transportation to town, about three miles away, is unusual. One choice is the water taxi which is good but on a schedule. The other choice is to take the very poor road to town on a golf cart, bicycle, or very expensive taxi. Non-residnts cannot rent cars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tom from Alberta, Canada

Excellent Value

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: We liked the fact we had kitchen facilities and the fact Tuff E Nuff tours were on site. Also the staff were all friendly.
Cons: The restaurant operators could work on value for the money.
Location: If you like water sports it is the place for you. Wonderful location and friendly people. A real holiday location.
Belizian Shores is an excellent condo complex 3.5 miles north of San Pedro. They have excellent housekeeping, an excellent manager in Penni, and a beautiful location. They also have a dock with the services of Tuff E Nuff tours. The staff at Tuff E Nuff were excellent and provided great value. The snorkelling tours are wonderful and the trip to the mainland Mayan Ruins was educational and informative. The complex has an excellent pool that was never busy so you did not have to save lounges. You can swim off the dock in the warmest water this side of the equator. Complementary kayaks can be used to get out to the reef and either paddle or snorkel. The restaurant is willing but they need to work on prices. The food was good but on the high side, especially beer. We ate in the condo (well-equipped) and bought our groceries in San Pedro and our fish, lobster and shrimp on the beach. It was a wonderful 12 days we spent there. We look forward to returning some day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The rooms are great and very large.

Posted Feb 14, 2014
Pros: We loved the rooms and the availabiltiy of the free kayaks.
Cons: More information could be given about the area, vendors that came to the resort, and snorkeling the reef. It would have been nice to have another bar
We enjoyed our stay but did not like that it was rather difficult to go back and forth to San Pedro. Bikes are difficult and not to be used at night. The golf carts had to go on a road that looked like it was bombed! The water taxi schedule was difficult to meet because it was not long enough between taxis to have a leisurely meal but if you went on the later taxi you have over an hour to hang out in San Pedro. It was interesting walking around the first time but lots of shops and vendors close early and it is very difficult to walk with all the golf cart, cars, and bikes sharing the same area with no sidewalks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Nice place for an adult getaway. Quiet and beautiful...friendly staff. Catamaran day trip was a lot of fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Konrad from Singapore

actually not bad - and no mozzies

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pros: size of room, good bed linen, both A/C and ceiling fans, good shower
Wanted to stay on Caye Caulker but since it was booked out, decided for Ambergris. Booked this resort after careful consideration - where it is, how many bugs are there etc (main competition was X'Tan Ha or similar, sister resort). Pictures don't lie, it's a decent place. Big room with separate bathroom, kitchen with oven (frozen pizzas anyone?), flat TV with lots of channels (evenings). Free kayaks, paid snorkel equipment. Paid bicycles (not good, very uncomfortable). Very few hammocks, could be cleaner as well. Got a room 9A, just next to construction site. It didn't look well, but wasn't too loud, definitely didn't have to ask for a room change. There's a pool bar (open until 7pm or later), local restaurant (so-so), you can also eat in Coco Beach next door and charge it to your room here. Other bars/restaurants are 10+ minutes away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Safier

Perfect Resort

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Everything was perfect at the Belizian Shores Resort; from the friendly staff, well-equipped and clean rooms, manicured grounds, numerous amenities and good activities options. They contacted us about a week ahead of our trip to help coordinate the arrival via boat. When we arrived they were waiting on the dock for us with drinks in hand and a wheelbarrow to cart our luggage. I would highly recommend staying with them--they go out of their way to insure you have a great stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just ok.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
The air conditioning smelled moldy and caused my family to have headaches. The bed was super comfortable. The sofa was not comfortable. Strange that guests get their drinking water from a central well. One family got the diarrhea but this was after drinking the water for four days so not sure if this was from the water or something else. Overall resort is just ok. The staff and people were very sincere and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 1, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Rebecca from OH

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a very nice time in this hotel, it was clean, the beds were comfortable, the kitchen was very well stockrd with dishes and utensils, staff was friendly and helpfull. a bit far from town but can take a water taxi to town, Tuf E nuf dive shop on the hotel dock was very convenient , the staff was nice friendly and very accommodating. just wish that the pool was heated.