Ratings based on 262 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Betsy from Redmond, WA

Loved our 1st visit to Belize - we will be back!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: See above. Also, the activities offered were reasonably priced and offered at convenient times, and not too crowded. Onsite Tuffenuff tour options.
Cons: I would have liked the pool area to be quieter....sometimes music was blaring from the bar. Would be nice to have more onsite eating options..
Location: San Pedro seems to be an unspoiled paradise. The local people were warm, a little shy, never "in your face" trying to sell you things..
We had a lovely experience at Belizean Shores. Our unit 4-1 was ground floor close to the pool. It was clean and comfortable, and just steps from the pool and the beach. Although technically we did not have an ocean view, we could indeed see the ocean. I was especially impressed by the generosity of the establishment...free kayaks, paddle board, $5 per day bike rentals, no prickly policies about how many beach towels you could use...we really felt like guests, and were not nickel-and-dimed to distraction every time we turned around. The staff was superb - genuine, low key, endlessly pleasant. Golf carts are available for rent - about $55 for 8 hours - some reviewers in the past complained about the bumpy road the cart had to use to get into San Pedro town - about 30 min ride - we in fact loved it since it was an authentic experience we would never forget - we hope they never pave it since it would increase motorized traffic. on this route is a great BBQ place.. the smoked bbq chicken is great.. ribs are spicy - little pricey but worth it. Loved the kitchen - since we like to fix breakfast and to cook dinners sometimes. Try to get condos in bldgs 1, 2, 11, 12 to be closer to the sea/beach and away from the pool noise. Construction nose behind 11 and 12 are not a major issue,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jeremiah

Wait... why did we leave???

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Can't wait to come back! We were treated like royalty!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chaya from Atlanta, GA

Beautiful beach and pier.

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Very friendly staff. Great location and the resort was nice and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by George from Phila PA

Nice hotel and convenient

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Laid back and friendly
Cons: Water taxi schedule could have more frequent times in between. We found ourselves waiting in town too long at times.
Location: Try restaurants Tavern and Capricorn for dinner, Randevieu for deserts, and Capt Morgan for lunches. Try a supermarket that delivers in advance
Nice older style hotel but very clean and very courteous and helpful staff. Close to sister hotel Coco beach that is available to use. On site water sports and diving. Water taxi available to SanPedro on schedule that is good for a reasonable weekly price. Nice pool and beach area that is not crowded. Several restaurants within walking distance on beach that seems safe...at least we felt safe and did not experience any problems at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Slight room issues but great staff

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Spent a lot of time at sister resort, coco beach, but our hotel bar was more lively.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Suzanne from O

Friendly staff, excellent accommodations!

Posted Mar 7, 2014
We could not have asked for a better experience! From the moment we arrived Ms penny took great care of us. The pool was perfect. Not too big, not too small. Mike at the pool bar was awesome! The food was great. The beds were very comfortable! We took our kids and felt safe with them exploring the grounds (ages 10 & 12) I highly recommend this place!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Penny from Victoria BC Canada

Beautiful waterfront setting

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: The accommodations and staff were very pleasant and would be highly recommended. We really enjoyed having our own kitchen facilities.
Cons: The on-site restaurant could be better promoted.
Location: 3.5 miles from San Pedro so close enough for a bike or water taxi ride but sufficiently remote to be quiet and private. Reef is a short paddle away.
We were quickly relocated due to adjacent construction. The replacement accommodation was closer to the beach and had a fine view of the beach and water. There was no appreciable construction noise over the rustling palm trees and the sounds of the birds and boat movements. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive. The apartment was very spacious and the water-facing deck was private and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Belizean Shores Resort vacation

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Everything. Small, peaceful. Has everything you need for a Caribbean vacation.
Cons: Kitchens could be a little better stocked with items like foil, more knives, saran wrap.
Location: 3.5 miles north of San Pedro, Ambergirs Caye. Numerous activities - biking, kayaking, swimming in pool or ocean, snorkeling, diving, fishing
This resort is a small (which is good) with condo style accomodations iwth full kitchens. The buildings are two stories - ground level suites are one bedroom; 2nd level suites have an extra 2 beds in the loft. All suites are one bathroom. Everything is very clean and comfortable. The grounds are maintained to an immaculate level. There are large flat screen TV's with a good channel selection and the wireless internet worked well. The pool is also very well maintained and has a swim up/walk-up bar. A tennis court is on the grounds. Bikes or golf carts are available to rent. Belizean Shores has their own water taxi fleet (runs on a schedule) and is associated with a tour/fishing/dive shop at the resort dock which is very convenient. A full service restaurant is part of the resort and there are several other restaurants within close walking distance. A small grocery store is also close by. The staff is extemely nice and helpful and hard working. I would stay at Belizean Shores again and highly recommned the resort. Very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fine Hotel

Posted Mar 2, 2014
This is a very fine hotel. The rooms are great and the staff could not be any friendlier or more helpful. I would definitely stay there again. The only concern some people might have is that transportation to town, about three miles away, is unusual. One choice is the water taxi which is good but on a schedule. The other choice is to take the very poor road to town on a golf cart, bicycle, or very expensive taxi. Non-residnts cannot rent cars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Excellent Value

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: We liked the fact we had kitchen facilities and the fact Tuff E Nuff tours were on site. Also the staff were all friendly.
Cons: The restaurant operators could work on value for the money.
Location: If you like water sports it is the place for you. Wonderful location and friendly people. A real holiday location.
Belizian Shores is an excellent condo complex 3.5 miles north of San Pedro. They have excellent housekeeping, an excellent manager in Penni, and a beautiful location. They also have a dock with the services of Tuff E Nuff tours. The staff at Tuff E Nuff were excellent and provided great value. The snorkelling tours are wonderful and the trip to the mainland Mayan Ruins was educational and informative. The complex has an excellent pool that was never busy so you did not have to save lounges. You can swim off the dock in the warmest water this side of the equator. Complementary kayaks can be used to get out to the reef and either paddle or snorkel. The restaurant is willing but they need to work on prices. The food was good but on the high side, especially beer. We ate in the condo (well-equipped) and bought our groceries in San Pedro and our fish, lobster and shrimp on the beach. It was a wonderful 12 days we spent there. We look forward to returning some day.