Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Outstanding service and quality for great price!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, the staff, and the amenities provided such as free water bottles, TV, room service, and sister hotel.
Cons: The water smells kind of funny, not a big problem, and it would be nice to have a trash can for the kitchen unit.
Location: A ten minute boat ride from San Pedro town, not a whole lot of other open places near the resort during slow season. 30 minute bike ride to town.
From the moment we arrived we were treated warmly, which was much appreciated after a long day of traveling. The food tasted great, the people were friendly and easy to talk to, and the units were clean and air conditioned. The kitchen was stocked enough to where we could make meals easily if we wanted to save some money. I would recommend buying groceries in San Pedro before arriving if possible. It made it easier to snack when it wasn't time for meals. The pool was very clean and the pool bar was fun and friendly. We also spent some time at the pool at the sister resort, Coco Beach, which is a two minute walk south on the beach and you can buy food and drinks there and charge it to your room. Coco Beach had a water slide in one of their pools, which we found very entertaining. The hotel tours company, Tuff Enuff, took us out to Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley. We had a great time, and the snorkeling with sharks did not disappoint. There is plenty to do on the resort if you wanted to stay and play, but there was also a very well accommodated ferry from the resort to town which was very reasonably priced. Great place. Very clean and very fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Quiet secluded resort next to beach

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Pool could have better access and be a little cooler in temperature. Maybe one set of stairs could have a hand rail.
Location: Resort is 15 min water taxi ride from town. Jet ski, kayaking, paddle boarding on site.
We were greeted at the water taxi by hotel staff and led directly to our room with no pressure to check in immediately. Room was comfortable and spacious with well stocked kitchen and bathroom amenities. A gallon of fresh water was provided with option to refill from treated rainwater well spigot. Pool was nice although was a bit too warm and not easily accessed by older people. Having free access to sister resort and pool just down the beach solved this problem for my mother. Enjoyed the hammocks and beach chairs under the palm trees on the beach. Resort provided complementary DVD player and movies and plenty of reading material. Free use of kayaks and paddleboards was also a bonus with the reef for snorkeling just a 10 minute paddle away. All the resort employees were extremely friendly and courteous. We really enjoyed the quiet relaxed get away but if you are looking for a lively nightlife this may not be for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guymon, OK

Friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff.
Cons: resort restaurant
Had a great relaxing vacation. Services like massage on the beach and Tuff Enough excursions were fantastic and priced reasonably. I would recommend the visit to Hol Chan Marine Reserve. The snorkeling was amazing! The rooms were in good shape and clean but are not considered luxury. I don't recommend the restaurant at the resort, however we did eat at "O" and "Capricorn" both short walks away and both were very good. If you want a smaller resort with less crowds, this is perfect. The free use of kayaks and paddle boards was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Stayed here for 6 days, hotels staff was very friendly and took care of any needs you had. room was very spacious and clean. will be going back hopefully soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristina from Virginia

Posted Jul 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an awesome time at Belizean Shores! The pool was great and the accomodations were comfortable and spacious. The hotel has a touring company located at the end of their dock which made it very easy to book snorkeling/scuba diving trips and arrange water taxi service to San Pedro. I would definitely come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix Arizona

Great place for large families

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The people by far are this hotel's biggest asset...and welcoming you at the dock with a rum punch drink was stellar. Miss Penny is a must meet!
Cons: Re-word the bar & restaurant. I am B/R consultant and gave ideas to make it the best place around but it will need work.
Location: they have free kayakin, which I dont do. Theres tennis courts, ping pong all in the back of which I dont do. The beach is not good.
The room you get isn't just a room, it;s more like an apartment and it has two floors. There really is very little entertainment on this site, the restaurant and bar needs serious help to make it more inviting but the drinks were good and the food was OK, but nothing out of the ordinary. Better food off-site however that's a water taxi ride away at $5 per person with limited times...whatever you do, dont stay out after 1030 as the water taxi shuts down and they want $60 (all US) to get you back. On the bright side, in town is only a 15 min water taxi ride. I was there mostly for diving and by myself so much of all that didnt matter to me. Id get back from a full days diving, have some chow and a couple beers and hit the rack to do it again the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Great location and amenities
Cons: Air conditioning to not get turned off when the housekeeping cleans. They need the restaurant to be improved.
Location: They are restaurants to walk to nearby and snorkeling right off the dock.
Great place to stay with the sister resort Coco BEach a plus for a different atmosphere and much better food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Resort, relaxing enviornment

Posted Jul 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed the stay very much. I traveled with friends in June (which we didn't realize was low season) and still had a relaxing time. The other guests we met there all seemed to be honeymooning or on an anniversary. So we traveled to town frequently for a younger crowd. Overall the stay was just what we wanted.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by TxCoolRider from Pal-Tex

Excellent Accommodations!!! Will Stay Here Again!!

Posted Jun 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I usually do not do reviews of hotels, but I want to rave about Belizean Shores. Did lots of searching on Hotels.com and decided on this property due to the photos, we were not disappointed- the grounds and our condo looked just like the photos. Had an upstairs unit with bedroom, kitchenette and living area that also had a loft with two twins and a pull out couch. The grounds were meticulously taken care of every morning with everything looking top notch. The staff was quite helpful and seemed to know who we were; daughter misplaced moms nice flip-flops out on the dock and they were found and returned to us- great service! For first time travelers to the area, the journey is a little long and arduous, but part of the adventure. There are two ways to get to the island, fly from Belize City or take a water taxi. Look into both and see how they fit into your schedule and budget. Know before you go!! Every morning there is a man (or two) who rides around on a bicycle and sell’s homemade breakfast and lunch burritos. Going rate was $5 BZ or $2.50 US each, get a bunch for your stay or just hope to catch him every morning. Look online for grocery delivery services on San Pedro Belize- order before you go and the food stuffs will be stocked in your room when you get there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luis from Tampa

very relaxing

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely peaceful and relaxing. The room was great, service was impeccable. Everyone was so genuinely friendly. Before we got there the manager contacted us and arranged air travel from Belize city to San Pedro, and complimentary water taxi to the resort. A couple of points to keep in mind though, this is a third world country in which if you're not into water sports there's not much to do. Definitely go to the market and get food and drinks. The units are small apartments with full kitchen, take advantage of that. San Pedro is small but "colorful", definitely rent the golf cart and go into town at least once, my wife and I were cracking up laughing with the 3 mile trip to town! Definitely will come back.