Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City, UT

Quiet secluded resort next to beach

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Staff and location
Cons: Pool could have better access and be a little cooler in temperature. Maybe one set of stairs could have a hand rail.
Location: Resort is 15 min water taxi ride from town. Jet ski, kayaking, paddle boarding on site.
We were greeted at the water taxi by hotel staff and led directly to our room with no pressure to check in immediately. Room was comfortable and spacious with well stocked kitchen and bathroom amenities. A gallon of fresh water was provided with option to refill from treated rainwater well spigot. Pool was nice although was a bit too warm and not easily accessed by older people. Having free access to sister resort and pool just down the beach solved this problem for my mother. Enjoyed the hammocks and beach chairs under the palm trees on the beach. Resort provided complementary DVD player and movies and plenty of reading material. Free use of kayaks and paddleboards was also a bonus with the reef for snorkeling just a 10 minute paddle away. All the resort employees were extremely friendly and courteous. We really enjoyed the quiet relaxed get away but if you are looking for a lively nightlife this may not be for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guymon, OK

Friendly and helpful staff.

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Pros: Friendly helpful staff.
Cons: resort restaurant
Had a great relaxing vacation. Services like massage on the beach and Tuff Enough excursions were fantastic and priced reasonably. I would recommend the visit to Hol Chan Marine Reserve. The snorkeling was amazing! The rooms were in good shape and clean but are not considered luxury. I don't recommend the restaurant at the resort, however we did eat at "O" and "Capricorn" both short walks away and both were very good. If you want a smaller resort with less crowds, this is perfect. The free use of kayaks and paddle boards was a plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Stayed here for 6 days, hotels staff was very friendly and took care of any needs you had. room was very spacious and clean. will be going back hopefully soon
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix Arizona

Great place for large families

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The people by far are this hotel's biggest asset...and welcoming you at the dock with a rum punch drink was stellar. Miss Penny is a must meet!
Cons: Re-word the bar & restaurant. I am B/R consultant and gave ideas to make it the best place around but it will need work.
Location: they have free kayakin, which I dont do. Theres tennis courts, ping pong all in the back of which I dont do. The beach is not good.
The room you get isn't just a room, it;s more like an apartment and it has two floors. There really is very little entertainment on this site, the restaurant and bar needs serious help to make it more inviting but the drinks were good and the food was OK, but nothing out of the ordinary. Better food off-site however that's a water taxi ride away at $5 per person with limited times...whatever you do, dont stay out after 1030 as the water taxi shuts down and they want $60 (all US) to get you back. On the bright side, in town is only a 15 min water taxi ride. I was there mostly for diving and by myself so much of all that didnt matter to me. Id get back from a full days diving, have some chow and a couple beers and hit the rack to do it again the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Great location and amenities
Cons: Air conditioning to not get turned off when the housekeeping cleans. They need the restaurant to be improved.
Location: They are restaurants to walk to nearby and snorkeling right off the dock.
Great place to stay with the sister resort Coco BEach a plus for a different atmosphere and much better food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Luis from Tampa

very relaxing

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Extremely peaceful and relaxing. The room was great, service was impeccable. Everyone was so genuinely friendly. Before we got there the manager contacted us and arranged air travel from Belize city to San Pedro, and complimentary water taxi to the resort. A couple of points to keep in mind though, this is a third world country in which if you're not into water sports there's not much to do. Definitely go to the market and get food and drinks. The units are small apartments with full kitchen, take advantage of that. San Pedro is small but "colorful", definitely rent the golf cart and go into town at least once, my wife and I were cracking up laughing with the 3 mile trip to town! Definitely will come back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Excellent stay; great staff and location

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at Belizean Shores for a long weekend with friends and my time there was beyond enjoyable. The room was very accommodating and clean and felt like a home away from home – with a bedroom, kitchen, dining and living area and an upstairs with twin beds, so you could easily fit a family or group. The hotel showcases the simplified beauty of the island; nothing over the top but beyond comfortable. There is a pool, but not a huge space to layout at the beach, but it's easy to walk around to find the right area. For us, we liked that we could enjoy our relaxed vibe and go to nearby places if we wanted more excitement or a party atmosphere. The most standout part of my stay was the staff and location. Belizean Shores is located right off the dock where the water taxis pick up and drop off for visits to town and where the activity center is located. It is important to note that the water taxi is the preferred mode of transportation. Upon arrival, our travel arrangements got delayed and the hotel staff went above and beyond to try to accommodate our new arrival times and guests that already arrive; their hospitality continued throughout the entire stay. I can say the same for the activity center staff, who helped us select the right activities. Overall, we were looking for something that felt like home in our island paradise, and this was a fit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jeannie from Colorado

Wonderful resort

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Belizean Shores is a wonderful place to enjoy the beautiful Caribbean ocean, white sand, and relaxation. It is located north of San Pedro and somewhat isolated but perfect for a total unplugged vacation. The staff are extremely interested in customer service and a delight. Can't wait to return for a longer vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Belize Me

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Relatively small, not crowded, quiet and low key - just what we wanted.
Location: Close enough to town by water shuttle and far enough for quiet relaxation, with several restaurants within walking distance.
A very nice, convenient place to stay with helpful and friendly staff and nice view of the water. Cozy and comfortable, but not fancy. On site dock with convenient water shuttle access to town and water sports.