Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

The best resort in Belize!!!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Internet capability
Location: It was in an excluded area of Belize and things to do nearby is the outdoorsy stuff.
Everything from the start was amazing with it beginning with our bags being hand delivered to our room right as we got out of the airport shuttle. It was followed up with a warm greeting from Javier at the counter giving us a tour of the resort with some insight of the area to the complimentary drinks and refreshing face towels from Lucy. At night time we were served with delicious drinks at the bar from our gracious bartender Derby giving us some more insights of Belize. We were then greeted by Sonia for our dinner where every table whether outside or inside was a delight for the atmospheric enjoyment. The dinner portion as well as choices were very mouth watering as well as generous portions size. Sonia had informed us of the daily dinner specials which was great to have as it was a dish from the locals. In the morning we decided to head down to the little island oasis that the lodge has with its scenic swim area to a relaxing swing on the hammock. Internet is available to check emails if need be. The best part was our last night at dinner, where the staff arrange a special table as we were to leave the next day. I don't want to get too much into detail as it might ruin future guests. From start to finish the staff of Javier, Derby, Sonia, and Lucy made our stay very welcoming and homey. I give this place a 5 out of 5.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bridget from Houston TX

Very nice Lodge. Close to waterfalls.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: I didn't find anything I didn't like.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Waterfalls, Mayan sites, Cave canoeing, zip lining, a canoe trip bird and wildlife watching. A restaurant to try out the local food.
Had a great time at this place. The roads were bad, but that was to be expected. We went on the tours that the lodge organized. Our tour guides (Francisco and Halbert) were amazing drivers, very helpful, informative and willing to go out of their way to make our trip truly memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jason from New York City

Adventure Paradise

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
Gaia is a piece of heaven that everyone should experience at least once. Yes, the rough dirt road feels like it will never end, but the journey is well worth the reward at the end. The best way to describe the experience is a cross of Jurassic Park and the Jungle Book. The waterfall is absolutely beautiful, and the amount of work that they’ve done to make this otherwise challenging terrain accessible is really impressive. Dining service is first class (I am a New Yorker, and it is obvious that the service staff have been very well trained). I can’t wait to go back for my next adventure! One word of caution: Although Gaia has made tremendous effort to make the resort safe, there is still an inherent danger to walking on rocks on an uneven grade. If you have older family members who may have difficulty walking on inclines/declines on rocks without hand rails, this may not be the resort for them. Also, I would probably avoid bringing young children here since there are so many potential ways for a youngster to injure themselves.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Connie from Landenberg, PA

Beautiful property, Warm people.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Comfort, setting, people, food.
Cons: I could have used a hairdryer.
Location: Beautiful setting. Saw Barton Cave, butterfly houses, medicinal plant trails, Amish community, Caracol, gardens, swam in the falls.
We stayed 5 nights, could have stayed longer. The buildings and furniture were hand made by local craftsman from natural materials, the gardens were beautiful, the view of the waterfalls was amazing. Food was great, and the people made us feel like part of the family. They helped us with ideas and directions of how to explore the area. The guide, Mr Elmo, took us to Caracol and shared his knowledge of the environmental, medicinal plants, the Mayans and the local Amish community. He was fun and knowledgable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique, remote oasis perched above a waterfall

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: The setting is absolutely beatiful.
Cons: If you rent a car, make sure it is newer and in good repair as the lodge is about an hour drive from the main highway on rough unpaved roads.
Location: There are a lot of nearby excursions. Nearby waterfalls, Xunatunich and the ATM tour are great options if you have only a couple days.
The facilities and property were beautiful, updated, and well maintained. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is fantastic. The beds are firm and comfortable and it is a really romantic setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Caledonia. WI

Would recommend to everyone!

Posted Feb 27, 2014
The trip starts with an approximately 2 hour ride from Belize city airport. This is the only down side to the area, the roads are very bumpy. We we're able to look past the roads at the beautiful views of the mountains and forests. Book a guide through the hotel to pick you up from the airport, it costs about the same as a cab, and they'll stop at all the local sites you want. The day trips are amazing. If you like adventure go to the ATM caves, also the pyramids are well worth the trip. All the hotel staff and guides were excellent. The food is worth the price. I honestly can't find anything I'm unhappy about. I would love to go back someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, Laid-Back Resort

Posted Feb 11, 2014
My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon, and it was perfect! The staff was amazing! Super accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. We were picked up at the airport by one of the staff members, and he let us use his cooler to house a few beers for the trek to the resort. The resort grounds, facilities and private cabanas were beautiful! There was plenty to do around the resort, and the resort offered many excursions as well. The only thing that would have been nice would have been a hot tub as it was unusually cool at the time of our stay, but other than that, everything was superb! Oh, and the food and drinks were great, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trevor from Victoria, BC

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: The nature trail near the lodge could use a bit of maintenance cutting back the jungle and getting rid of some downed trees.
Location: There isn't much in the way of towns or restaurants without driving for an hour but definitely get to Big Rock for a great swimming hold 1/2 mile away
Had an absolutely great time at Gaia. We had most of the place to ourselves and were free to relax by the river with no crowds. While it is a bit of a walk down/up from the river to teh lodge, the River is beautiful and great to swim around. The food was amazing. Great customer service, friendly staff. clean and comfortable beds made for a very relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2013
very long and bumpy road, but worth it. definitely have to spend a day at their waterfall site
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013