Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Connie from Landenberg, PA

Beautiful property, Warm people.

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Comfort, setting, people, food.
Cons: I could have used a hairdryer.
Location: Beautiful setting. Saw Barton Cave, butterfly houses, medicinal plant trails, Amish community, Caracol, gardens, swam in the falls.
We stayed 5 nights, could have stayed longer. The buildings and furniture were hand made by local craftsman from natural materials, the gardens were beautiful, the view of the waterfalls was amazing. Food was great, and the people made us feel like part of the family. They helped us with ideas and directions of how to explore the area. The guide, Mr Elmo, took us to Caracol and shared his knowledge of the environmental, medicinal plants, the Mayans and the local Amish community. He was fun and knowledgable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Unique, remote oasis perched above a waterfall

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: The setting is absolutely beatiful.
Cons: If you rent a car, make sure it is newer and in good repair as the lodge is about an hour drive from the main highway on rough unpaved roads.
Location: There are a lot of nearby excursions. Nearby waterfalls, Xunatunich and the ATM tour are great options if you have only a couple days.
The facilities and property were beautiful, updated, and well maintained. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is fantastic. The beds are firm and comfortable and it is a really romantic setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andy from Caledonia. WI

Would recommend to everyone!

Posted Feb 27, 2014
The trip starts with an approximately 2 hour ride from Belize city airport. This is the only down side to the area, the roads are very bumpy. We we're able to look past the roads at the beautiful views of the mountains and forests. Book a guide through the hotel to pick you up from the airport, it costs about the same as a cab, and they'll stop at all the local sites you want. The day trips are amazing. If you like adventure go to the ATM caves, also the pyramids are well worth the trip. All the hotel staff and guides were excellent. The food is worth the price. I honestly can't find anything I'm unhappy about. I would love to go back someday.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful, Laid-Back Resort

Posted Feb 11, 2014
My husband and I stayed here during our honeymoon, and it was perfect! The staff was amazing! Super accommodating, friendly and knowledgeable. We were picked up at the airport by one of the staff members, and he let us use his cooler to house a few beers for the trek to the resort. The resort grounds, facilities and private cabanas were beautiful! There was plenty to do around the resort, and the resort offered many excursions as well. The only thing that would have been nice would have been a hot tub as it was unusually cool at the time of our stay, but other than that, everything was superb! Oh, and the food and drinks were great, too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Trevor from Victoria, BC

Posted Jan 24, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything
Cons: The nature trail near the lodge could use a bit of maintenance cutting back the jungle and getting rid of some downed trees.
Location: There isn't much in the way of towns or restaurants without driving for an hour but definitely get to Big Rock for a great swimming hold 1/2 mile away
Had an absolutely great time at Gaia. We had most of the place to ourselves and were free to relax by the river with no crowds. While it is a bit of a walk down/up from the river to teh lodge, the River is beautiful and great to swim around. The food was amazing. Great customer service, friendly staff. clean and comfortable beds made for a very relaxing vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel

Posted Dec 9, 2013
very long and bumpy road, but worth it. definitely have to spend a day at their waterfall site
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mini from CT

Great Resort

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: Staff was outstanding
Cons: Not sure if it is possible in the jungle, but Wifi for the lodges would be nice. (They already have Wifi in the main building)
Location: Caracol, Close to Tikal (Guatemala), Zip lining, Barton Creek cave. Location itself has a waterfall and small beach on the river
Great resort. Staff was outstanding in their friendliness and willingness to accommodate. Very clean and well kept in the middle of the jungle. Outstanding experience! We rented a Jeep (needed!!) and it was quite a way from the main road (1hr), but the adventurous trip was worth it and rewarded by this great place. On that "off-road" there where lot of things to do (caves, zipline, Caracol) so we could have a good mix of sightseeing, adventure and secluded relaxation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by michelle from toronto

Most romantic and exotic place ever!!

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was on my honeymoon and this was the perfect spot. Impeccable service, gorgeous cabanas and very private trail/waterfalls to swim in. For one night we were the only people there and enjoyed every moment! I will say this- it's a trek to get there. It costs about $80 whether you have their service pick you up from San Igancio, or take a cab on your own (wouldn't recommend it- you need a jeep for sure). There are also a lot of service fees included in your bill, but you are also expected to tip your individual server as well. Having said that- this was our hilight. Really nice people, very tranquil and romantic. Go for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jessie from St. Louis, MO

Awesome Jungle Adventure Resort

Posted Jun 13, 2013
Pros: The staff, the location, and the lodges.
Cons: The Menu was very limited and wish they also had a pool and spa, which I think they plan to add in the future.
Location: Very beautiful! Serene for the perfect getaway and educational/adventurous vacation!
We went to Gaia Riverlodge after our wedding on Ambergries at the sister resort Matachica, which we absolutely fell in love with. The hotel staff was so friendly, Nigel and Javier who met us when we came in were very good managers and very informative. Lucy and Silvia, who were the waitstaff were super sweet and made us feel very comfortable. Oswald was our bartender and we enjoyed catching up with him in the evening for pre-dinner drinks. We loved all the guides; Calvert, Virgil, and Jose, all our tours were very intimate and very personable. We really got to see Belize in it's natural beauty and learned so much on this vacation. Would def recommend this resort!