Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynda from GA

Condo with pool view in San Pedro

Posted Dec 22, 2013
Pros: spacious and clean with a pool right out the door and the beach just beyond that
Cons: Just remember that you are in the bug zone so bring your mesquito spray. The congregate by the door so each time you open the door they fly in.
Location: This is a divers paradise and the dive shop is right on the beach at the sister complex. Belize Pro Dive Center is excellent.
The complex is out a ways from the airport and main town so that is pleasing. The friendly staff will take care of your every need. They have round the clock security for your convenience. The security helped us to the dock before the sun was up and waited with us for our pickup. They also make sure of no solicitation on the ground. The condo has a fully equipped kitchen if you like to cook on vacation. The rooms are cleaned daily and the front office will arrange any kind of outing for you. We had a golfcart during our stay which was very helpful since there is no restaurant in the complex. There are many great restaurants but our favorite was the Black Orchid. It is off the paved road which is the only down side but our golfcart made it there just fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by PC from Boston / Milwaukee

Great Find

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Glad we happened upon Grand Colony - it is excellent. While there we checked out almost all other prominent accommodation south of San Pedro and found that the quality of the Grand Colony (living space, furniture, linens, cleanliness, privacy, overall maintenance) were far superior to any of the others (not compared: Ramon's Place which was under construction; Victoria House which we couldn't inspect as it was full). All appliances were GE and like new. The staff was very efficient and responsive. Be aware that this is a condo complex and not a hotel/resort, so it doesn't have a restaurant or bar of its own. But buying provisions / drinks from stores is very easy and I'm sure it's more economical. Also, there are several great restaurants and bars within a 2-10 minute walking distance. We will definitely return to Ambergris Caye, and will stay only at Grand Colony.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Michele from Dulles, VA

Pleasant stay in Belize and good customer service

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Living room comfortable and good kitchen area.
Cons: Need robes in the rooms and air conditioner had a mind of it's own.
Location: On South End of San Pedro and a little far away from everything, but you can walk to most places or take a cab.
Room was larger than we needed, but staff was very accomodating and pleasant. Loved the outside patio overlooking the pool. Beach not the greatest, but still nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jamie from Texas

True Relaxation

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
I cannot say one negative thing about this hotel, it was a wonderful experience. The quality was amazing and the staff were awesome and helpful. Everything in the hotel was top quality- pillow-top mattresses- kitchenware- dining/living/patio space. There is no bar or restaurant on the premises but the in suite kitchens were FULLY upgraded and there are several good restaurant and market options nearby. The lack of bar or restaurant makes it far less resort touristy than other locations, which was a plus for us. I chose this location because I wanted to be on the beach, I wanted a nice pool, in suite kitchen and to be near enough to the town it was convenient. We spent at least one meal a day in town and rented a golf cart for the full extent of our stay. The bulk of the food options are a bit further than walking distance so I would plan on renting a golf cart (appx $300 a week), which we found to be good fun. I would most definitely stay here again and recommend it to anyone. However if you need the constant action and party of a bustling resort this is not your place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Grand Colony - Excellent

Posted Sep 30, 2013
Location: close enough to everything a couple restaurants within walking and they let you use their bikes to get anywhere you want togo.
It is the slow time so we may have had a little more attention but this place is the bomb!!! It was extremely clean, the staff was always helpful, the pool area was very comfortable. The site is just far enough away from downtown San Pedro to be off the traffic. The dive shop next to the hotel was excellent. The hotel will arrange all of your needs. Great quiet place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from NC

A really good pick for almost everyone!

Posted Apr 7, 2013
I would probably rate these villas somewhere between pleasing and superb if that option was available. There really was nothing I didn't like about the accommodation and facilities but superb seems a little over the top for almost anywhere! The villas were furnished exceptionally well and everything was good quality and comfortable. The balcony was roomy and had a great view and the pool was lovely and mostly quiet and the beach small but pretty. The staff were very helpful and when we had a problem were extremely quick to resolve it. The location of the resort was probably just about right, although if I went back to Ambergris I might try somewhere north of the bridge next time since the beaches seem a bit nicer up there and the resorts newer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Father of 2 from Houston, TX

Grand Colony Island Villas

Posted Apr 1, 2013
Pros: Everything was top notch
Cons: Everything in Mexico shuts down during Christian holidays. Groceries are very expensive. A jar of peanut butter is $11
Location: Great location on the island!
Great place for families and couples. Would stay here again without a doubt!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erika from Los Angeles, CA, USA

Clean and comfortable.

Posted Apr 13, 2012
Pros: Exceptional rooms! Very quiet.
Cons: No hospitality services such as food service.
Location: The location is walking distance from the shops via the beach or by road. Good for walkers. Complimentary pick-up and drop-off from the water taxi.
The rooms were fantastic! Loved my jacuzzi tub! Would have given it a 5 if it provided hospitality services such as restaurant/food delivery. No pool service. But it is a condo-like resort w/kitchen and washing machine amenities. So bring your own and be prepared to enjoy the area at your leisure. The staff was a big plus. Very willing to help and provide information on a number of excursions and also transportation.