Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buellton, CA

Great Place!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Had a great 5 day stay with our family. Perfect location, but everything is close on Caye Caulker. The pool is a great place to hang out and cool off (with the bar close-by)- the small private dock is a relaxing spot too. So many great things to do in Belize, and Josue was the best. He is a helpful, friendly, and responsive manager in the office, but most of all he was excellent in setting up all our tours during our stay. I e-mailed him a week before our arrival, and he had everything organized and set-up for us when we got there. We will be coming back!
2 out of 5
by Azfrom Los Angeles

Needs to improve.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were nice, the pool and beach area are good, and my room had A/C and cable tv. There is also wifi but it only works sporadically.
Cons: A staff member needs to be at the hotel even after hours, or at least reachable and close by in case of an emergency. The sheets need to be bleached.
Location: It's close to everything.
There are many things they need to work on for it to be a good hotel. My first night, I noticed that the sheets were not totally clean. There were stains and hair (not mine). Yuck. There is nobody there after 8 pm, however, to ask for anything. I had already asked if I could get a different room earlier in the day and they told me they were fully booked. The next morning I asked if the sheets are changed daily and they said yes; I got clean sheets after that. The second night, I noticed a sewage smell coming up from the toilets. This a common problem with the ground floor rooms apparently, because of their well system. They apologized and said they've had this problem for over a month, but they can't do anything about it (other than using those toilet tank deodorant pills). The third night, my toilet stopped working. I found out the next morning it was because their pump had gotten stuck. Again, no one there at night to deal with the problem. I asked them about this as well, they again apologized and gave me their maintenance guy's phone number. Overall, it just wasn't a pleasant experience. I didn't want to complain too much because I realize Belize is not a rich place and didn't want to impose some unrealistic, wealthy American standard on them. But the multitude of problems leaves me no choice but to not recommend this hotel to anyone else. It felt unclean and not well taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donaldfrom Dallas, Texas

Outstanding

Posted May 1, 2014
I would definitely recommend Island Magic Beach Resort to anyone. What an incredible experience we had and the staff went out of thier way to make sure of that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kristifrom Caye caulker, Belize

Major mess up but they took care of it

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was a miscommunication between the hotel and hotels.com. When my hotel didn't have the room I had requested anymore they had asked hotels.com to inform me of the upgrade. The hotel anticipated a response and since they didn't get one, they booked our room to others. We were able to stay there for two of the three nights that we had already paid for, and they arranged for us to stay at Seaside Cabanas for one night. I'd recommend that location more, I'm not sure I'll work with hotels.com again as they charged me for my stay when I booked the hotel and not upon my arrival. That was frustrating to have already paid in full for a room that I actually only stayed in one out of three nights. My dissappointment is really with hotels.com and not so much Magic Iskand as they were as accommodating as they could be and it is a beautiful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pool and beach view when laying out.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Great location, staff was friendly, room had a bit of a musty smell but other than that it was a great experience. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, mediocre hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for three nights with a 14 month old, and while the kitchenette was helpful for fixing little snacks (and boiling water), in general the hotel was not that great. The bathroom drain had a terrible odor whenever the toilet flushed and even though we napped the baby in the room (they did provide a crib which was nice) room service never managed to clean our room in the three days we were there! We made a special request and they gave us new towels, but otherwise they never came by even though we were out and about for large chunks at a time. The pool is excellent, the balcony is nice with a hammock and the location is just 5 minutes away from the ferry. But despite the pool and location, there isn't much else to recommend.
1 out of 5
by Marcfrom marseille

Very expensive compare to service

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Restaurant everytime close. Even in morning no breakfast available . One informe open at 6h30 am. Around swimming is dirty. Woman at office is not smiling. No recommandation for something, no bike, no transfer to the pier. Longchair is broken. So no confort for 250 € per night is crazy !!!!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mariefrom San Diego, CA

Okay hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was okay. Having a kitchenette was great and the pool was very nice. It was pretty comfortable. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Value

Posted Apr 6, 2014
This is the best hotel value out there - everything looks exactly as pictured and beds are very comfortable. It's also just a few min walk from the Water Taxi - can't beat it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Toucanfrom Brisbane, Australia

Good location - avoid room 5!

Posted Mar 17, 2014
This property was in a good location close to ferries and restaurants with a nice sun deck looking over the water. Room 5 is marketed as a balcony room with view. While the room was spacious and pleasant, it was on the ground floor and the balcony view was of the office wall which was a metre from the balcony. Disappointing