Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom canada

Best hotel on island

Posted Feb 21, 2015
Had a wonderful stay at this hotel. I was given the best room in the house! Walk out balcony to the amazing pool and beach bar. Rooms were clean and big! Staff was also very friendly. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cleveland, NC

Wonderful place to stay!

Posted Feb 19, 2015
We loved our stay at Island Magic Beach Resort! The staff was helpful, friendly and trustworthy. The room was immaculate. The kitchen was well stocked with dishes, as well as a refrigerator and microwave and stove top. The wifi worked well. Also, the room had a safe where we could store our valuables while we were out and about during the day. The pool was clean and the bar had amazing snacks. It's in a tranquil part of the island, within sight of an amazing Italian restaurant (Pasta Per Caso). We were within a five minute walk of the dock where our water taxi first brought us to the island. We could see the belize barrier reef from our balcony. If we ever come back, we'll stay there again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2015
Pros: Great location, spacious room with kitchenette so we could do our own breakfast. Private hammock on the room's terrace.
Cons: The bathroom needs an extractor fan. The floor gets a bit dirty, but hard to avoid given all the sand on the island.
Location: Caye Caulker is amazing!
Loved Caye Caulker - so relaxed and laid back and lots to do (snorkelling trips etc). Great food and drink too. Great location for the hotel - only 2 minute walk to the main area of the islands with lots of restaurants and the water taxi but far enough away to be nice and quiet. Great to have the hotel's own private jetty, pool and bar. Very spacious room and loved the hammock!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MERIDA MEXICO

NICE HOTEL, A LITTLE BIT EXPENSIVE

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: SWIMING POOL
Cons: PRICES
Location: GREAT
GREAT EXPERIENCE, A BIT EXPENSIVE BUT REALLY NICE PEOPLE
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buellton, CA

Great Place!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Had a great 5 day stay with our family. Perfect location, but everything is close on Caye Caulker. The pool is a great place to hang out and cool off (with the bar close-by)- the small private dock is a relaxing spot too. So many great things to do in Belize, and Josue was the best. He is a helpful, friendly, and responsive manager in the office, but most of all he was excellent in setting up all our tours during our stay. I e-mailed him a week before our arrival, and he had everything organized and set-up for us when we got there. We will be coming back!
2 out of 5
by Azfrom Los Angeles

Needs to improve.

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The hotel staff were nice, the pool and beach area are good, and my room had A/C and cable tv. There is also wifi but it only works sporadically.
Cons: A staff member needs to be at the hotel even after hours, or at least reachable and close by in case of an emergency. The sheets need to be bleached.
Location: It's close to everything.
There are many things they need to work on for it to be a good hotel. My first night, I noticed that the sheets were not totally clean. There were stains and hair (not mine). Yuck. There is nobody there after 8 pm, however, to ask for anything. I had already asked if I could get a different room earlier in the day and they told me they were fully booked. The next morning I asked if the sheets are changed daily and they said yes; I got clean sheets after that. The second night, I noticed a sewage smell coming up from the toilets. This a common problem with the ground floor rooms apparently, because of their well system. They apologized and said they've had this problem for over a month, but they can't do anything about it (other than using those toilet tank deodorant pills). The third night, my toilet stopped working. I found out the next morning it was because their pump had gotten stuck. Again, no one there at night to deal with the problem. I asked them about this as well, they again apologized and gave me their maintenance guy's phone number. Overall, it just wasn't a pleasant experience. I didn't want to complain too much because I realize Belize is not a rich place and didn't want to impose some unrealistic, wealthy American standard on them. But the multitude of problems leaves me no choice but to not recommend this hotel to anyone else. It felt unclean and not well taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Donaldfrom Dallas, Texas

Outstanding

Posted May 1, 2014
I would definitely recommend Island Magic Beach Resort to anyone. What an incredible experience we had and the staff went out of thier way to make sure of that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kristifrom Caye caulker, Belize

Major mess up but they took care of it

Posted Apr 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
There was a miscommunication between the hotel and hotels.com. When my hotel didn't have the room I had requested anymore they had asked hotels.com to inform me of the upgrade. The hotel anticipated a response and since they didn't get one, they booked our room to others. We were able to stay there for two of the three nights that we had already paid for, and they arranged for us to stay at Seaside Cabanas for one night. I'd recommend that location more, I'm not sure I'll work with hotels.com again as they charged me for my stay when I booked the hotel and not upon my arrival. That was frustrating to have already paid in full for a room that I actually only stayed in one out of three nights. My dissappointment is really with hotels.com and not so much Magic Iskand as they were as accommodating as they could be and it is a beautiful place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great pool and beach view when laying out.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Great location, staff was friendly, room had a bit of a musty smell but other than that it was a great experience. Would definitely stay again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great location, mediocre hotel

Posted Apr 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed here for three nights with a 14 month old, and while the kitchenette was helpful for fixing little snacks (and boiling water), in general the hotel was not that great. The bathroom drain had a terrible odor whenever the toilet flushed and even though we napped the baby in the room (they did provide a crib which was nice) room service never managed to clean our room in the three days we were there! We made a special request and they gave us new towels, but otherwise they never came by even though we were out and about for large chunks at a time. The pool is excellent, the balcony is nice with a hammock and the location is just 5 minutes away from the ferry. But despite the pool and location, there isn't much else to recommend.