Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis

Good as can be for the price

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff
Location: Wife drug me to the restaurant across the street because she'd read good reviews. It was great!
Very friendly, well maintained and quiet. We put five in one room, no extra charge for the rollaway which the staff set up right away for us. We got a call and they brought the phone to our room. Really haven't seen such a good staff before. Someone mopped the exterior floors, stairs every day. Only down side; this side of the island is inundated with seaweed right now (3/15) which smells bad and makes the beach unusable, not the hotel'so fault, it's everywhere. Regulars said they'd never seen it like this before. We were all so sunburned from snorkeling it didn't matter to us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Einfaches Paradies

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Strand, Ruhe, Blick aufs Meer
Wenn man im Urlaub keine "all-inclusiv"-Verpflegung braucht, keine 5-Sterne-Service oder Wellness-Programm -dann ist das mata rocks genau richtig. Alles ist basic, aber es ist chillig, ruhig, Entspannung total. Das Team ist okay, aber sie überschlagen sich nicht gerade beim Service. Die Zimmer sind wirklich eher klein, aber der Roomservice ist gründlich. Das Hotel arbeitet mit "searious adventures" zusammen, einem Veranstalter für Schnorchel, Diving,etc.-Trips: und aller Trips waren super und ihr Geld absolut wert. Die Trips bucht man ganz einfach an der Rezeption. Man ist tatsächlich am südlichen Ende von San Pedro, das muss einem vorher klar sein. Der Beste weg in die Stadt zu kommen: 5-Dollar-Taxi-ride. Fahrradfahren ist eher anstrengend wegen der vielen Golfcarts und Autos. Zu Fuß dauert es schon 30 min., Golf-Cart: 17 dollar pro Stunde. Ein paar Restaurants sind in der Nähe, ein eher teurerer Supermarkt, man kann aber auch Essen bestellen. Schlecht gegessen haben wir in San Pedro nie. Aber die Lage ist traumhaft, einer der schönsten Strände! Einfaches Frühstück gibt es an der Beachbar: frühstücken am Strand. Niemals haben wir uns in einem Urlaub so entspannt- was will man mehr als am Strand zu liegen, die Pelikane fliegen vorbei, man trinkt einen Cocktail...
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Campbell CA usa

Great on beach location, walk or bike to town

Posted Feb 22, 2015
Pros: location, sunrise, they booked all of our day trips and we were pick up at the boat dock. The orange juice and coffee were great every day.
Cons: Inform guest to use plenty of bug spray your first day or the bugs will love to bite.
Location: El Fagan best Belize food. Snorkeling at Ho Chan/ Shark Ray Ally and Mexico rocks, The best possibly in the world. The trip to Laminae Was Fantastic
Bring your bug spray or buy it at the front desk. go snorkeling, ride you bikes to the palapala bar and order a bucket of beer and a burger. Eat at El Fagan by the airport. Take a water taxi to Cay Caulker for lunch. Do not miss Laminae a long day but worth every Dollar (US). Have a cinnamon roll at the Baker. The Mata Rocks a great hotel to stay close to everything and not to fancy or expensive. a great value
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Mata Rocks Boutique Motel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Small, quiet, well maintained facility. Nice, family style, continental breakfast at the beach bar. Squirrels nest beach bar = good drinks & company.
Cons: Distance to town is more than a 20 minute walk. Weekly, multiple day, ental rate discount for golf cart rentals. Refrigerator in room didn't work well
Location: Sailboat, kayak rentals nearby. Good excursions organized through motel staff.
Positive experience at Mata Rocks, however seaweed washing ashore in the Carribean at this time of year was a surprise. I would probably wait a few more weeks before going to a Carribean beach town again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Superschönes kleines familiäres Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Service und Sauberkeit
Das Hotel liegt direkt an einem kleinen privaten Strand. Supermarkt und Restaurants in Laufnähe. Personal extrem freundlich und hilfsbereit! Man fühlt sich sofort willkommen und superwohl! Zimmer etc. sehr sauber. Ausflüge kann man direkt im Hotel buchen. Alles in allem toller Service und tolles Hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

The staff at Mata Rocks were amazing.

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Staff, comfort, safety
Cons: A restaurant would be great. Some good ones close by though.
Location: Quiet and relaxing location. Lots nearby and others a bike or golf cart ride away.
The Squirrel's Nest was our favorite hangout at Mata Rocks. The ladies behind the bar made our stay unforgettable. They are a great source of info about the island. They became friends instantly. They went out of their way to help us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ontario, Canada

Immaculate, Odor Free Resort

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: Free use of bikes, although it was inconvenient to return them by 6 pm. Closeness to waterfront.
Cons: Room blinds DO NOT offer sufficient privacy...in & out! Resort needs a new dock w/ stairs/ladder to access water. Too much seaweed from shore
Location: Must eat at Robin's (BBQ chicken) & Victoria House Bar & Grill (chicken wings). Both offer dining in or out.
Overall very positive! Maids & Maintenance were excellent & very attentive. Front Desk & Bar Staff could be more aware (knowledgeable) about eating establishments around resort...restaurant book outdated. Larger rooms could have bigger fridge. Excellent, quiet A/C. Always had hot water. Resort states water is drinkable but don't recommend. Acceptable ONLY for washing dishes, brushing teeth & bathing. Excellent Snorkel recommendation by resort (Searious Adventures...Guides: Nick & Eddie).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tom Burke, South Africa

A gem on the beach!!

Posted Jan 25, 2015
What can I say, quiet, comfortable, personal, everything you need to relax and get yourself recharged for the new year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne, Australia

Lovely hotel with a relaxed vibe

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: The relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff were my favourite aspects of Mata Rocks.
Location: Robin's kitchen sells delicious and cheap jerk chicken across the road. Staff will book snorkeling tours for you which start right outside the hotel.
We had an excellent experience staying at this hotel. Staff were universally friendly and helpful, our room was clean and in good condition, and the grounds were very well kept. The location is fairly quiet, being somewhat to the south of San Pedro, which was a positive for us as it gave us a chance to relax. Taxis only cost $5 U.S. to take you downtown, or alternatively you can take a 30 minute walk or 10 minute ride with one of the bicycles supplied (for free) by Mata Rocks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Robertfrom Portland Oregon

Clean cozy quiet and great staff

Posted Dec 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room is nice & clean but a little small. Bar staff very helpful & friendly with menu's from local restaurants as well as booking trips and cabs. Could use a better fridge and a microwave.