Ratings based on 171 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Good resort on a tight budget

Posted Jul 21, 2015
If you are looking for a place on the beach when you are on a tight budget, this is a good option. Our room was very basic, but they kept the place very clean and the staff is extremely friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Great romantic place on the beach!

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Clean rooms at a great price with friendly and helpful staff
Cons: breakfast bar could be expanded. Funky smell from seagrass
Location: Great location, minutes from downtown but quiet enough for couples who just want a little alone time.
My boyfriend and I just got back from a wonderful stay at Mata Rocks. The staff were happy to accomodate and help us with any needs. The room was clean and provided a great view of the Caribbean Sea. Unfortunately, there was sea grass EVERYWHERE on the beach but that was on the whole island, not just on Mata Rocks. We were looking forward to laying out on the beach, but never got the chance to.That was the only disappointment of this trip. However, Mata's staff booked us a wonderful snorkeling trip that picked us up right on the dock, outside our room.The trip was incredible. Mata Rocks has a beachfront bar, Squirrel's Nest, that has happy hour everyday, with wonderful drinks and great service. The breakfast bar could be better, but hey, I won't complain about free stuff. The hotel offers free bikes to get around the island, or if you need a golf cart or taxi, just ask any staff and they can get you one in less than 2 minutes-seriously. We enjoyed our wonderful stay and are missing the island already! We will consider Mata Rocks first on our next trip to San Pedro!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Very basic hotel with minimal privacy

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Nearby guests could see into our room. Room was very basic with small bathroom and bed. Hotel charges fees for any additional service (late charge for bikes, towels, etc.). Hotel does not serve food; you have to pay for food to be delivered and menus and not even updated. Would not recommend for the price. There are much better resorts for the same price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Clean, Safe, Friendly!

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Staff, location, premises.
Location: Right on the beach, and close enough to walk to shopping, dining, and excursions.
Everything from the accommodations to the transportation, guided trips, and morning breakfast were exceptional. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean and appropriately sized. And, the hotel is within reasonable walking distance to downtown and restaurants and shops. All around, a great place to stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Belize

Quaint Hotel Away from Town

Posted Jun 12, 2015
We stayed at Mata Rocks for a short part of our honeymoon. The hotel is well outside of San Pedro town which necessitates getting a golf cart or taxi for getting around. For some this may be an inconvenience. For us we wanted to be away from the noise and hussle of the town. The hotel is very small but we'll kept. With a small pool and is right on the beach. We did not get to use the pool in our time their and because of the terrible amount of seaweed that affected the whole island the beach area was not an option. The complimentary continental breakfast was nice, being made up of coffee, tea, toast and an assortment of pastry. Not much of a selection but still appreciated. The room was on the small side and the bed was not very comfortable. The room also reminded us of an old office as it had office tile ceilings rather than natural wood or another material more suited to such an island retreat. The only real negative aspect of our stay was needing to checkout at 6:00 am to catch the first boat off the island. There was no member of staff available at that time on the premises to assist us and other guests who were waiting. The office was closed and not even a groundskeeper or security guard were in sight. We ended up missing the first boat. With the caveats mentioned above we would recommend Mata Rocks to others going to San Pedro, Belize.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dallas

Good option south of town

Posted May 30, 2015
Check-in was a little strange, but staff was friendly and accommodating. Small complex but close to town and walking distance to several restaurant options
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2015
Room was nice, clean, big, and cozy. Nice location, away from all the hustle and bustle. On the "beach" which is filled with seaweed and smelly however all the beach front hotels encounter the same problem. Free bikes for rent. And golf cart available for rent at a price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington, Kansas

Belizable Rest

Posted May 17, 2015
Pros: Private and small but up to date with accommodations.
Cons: Occasional smell of sewer gas from the community sewer plant a couple of miles away. This occurred only when the wind blew from the SW, a rarity.
Location: Snorkeling at the reef, swimming with the sharks and rays, cave tubing, exploring Mayan ruins, laying by the pool, sailing in a catamaran.
Mid-May was the perfect time to avoid crowds. We selected Mata Rocks for its limited number of rooms and on the beach location--just the right size to have privacy or meet new friends. We did both. The staff worked hard to keep the services the best, the accommodations perfect, and recommending the best tours for our ability and comfort. While the Tiki bar did not serve sandwiches, nearby restaurants provided that need. The food nearby was tasty but pricey. We could have eaten local street vendor food, but heard of favorable reviews too late to appreciate. Our room had a kitchenette but we used only the refrigerator. In Belize, Coca-Cola is sold in glass bottles and has the old fashioned sugar taste, something I appreciated. Sea-rious Adventures provided excellent tour packages. Their staff's skill and knowledge provided wonderful snorkeling, caving, zip-lining, Mayan ruins, Caye Caulker, and even shark swimming adventures. This was our first trip to Belize. We would stay at Mata Rocks again in a heart beat.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2015
Pros: We especially liked Criselda, she was super nice! It was close to Hidden Treasures, a great little place to eat.
Cons: Although the seaweed was washing in daily it would be a much nicer beach if the seaweed was cleared.
Location: Very quiet location but it was a bit of a walk to downtown San Pedro.
We had a pleasant experience, location was quiet. There were only a couple of resturants close by with about a 30 minute walk to downtown San Pedro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 14, 2015
A little small but great for the money. I would stay there again because of the location and the quaintness of the hotel