Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to town

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Had a great time at Mata rocks, nice price, clean, beach, walking distance to everything! Loved it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Caribbean

Pleasant little hotel on the beach.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Pros: Clean, good location, nice staff.
Cons: Drapes inside the rooms, bigger breakfast.
Location: Located just a few minutes from the center of town. Plenty of restaurants within walking distance. Some tours pick you up right at the hotel's dock.
The hotel itself and the staff are very nice. The staff will be happy to help you with tours, where to dine, and so on. The room was very clean and nice. My only complaint is that there are no drapes. Consequently, the room is quite bright during the night. I have trouble sleeping, so this was a problem for me.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Wayne, IN

It was a perfect spot!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: The hotel was a little south of the downtown area, so it's more peaceful than staying closer to the activity downtown. The staff is excellent.
Cons: The wifi was inconsistent in the room, but that was probably a good thing at the end of the day. It gave me a valid reason to stay off of work email.
Location: The staff will arrange all of the trips and their rates are competitive. This allowed us to take it one day at a time and actually do no planning.
We stayed there for a week during mid June. It was perfect for us. We stayed in a junior ocean view suite that had a great view of the ocean and overlooked the pool. The room was clean and the beds (queen and sofa bed) were comfortable. The AC worked well for relief at the end of long days outside. All in all, the room was very comfortable. We did the Lamanai ruins excursion, snorkeled Hol Chan and shark alley, made an afternoon trip to Caye Caulker, and spent the rest of the time either relaxing at Mata Rocks or wandering around San Pedro. The Lamanai tour was great and filled the whole day. Hol Chan was an easy morning diversion. It's very easy to get around. The staff can arrange a fifteen minute flight from Belize City airport to the island. It was worth it after a long day of travel to Belize. A complimentary cab will take you from the San Pedro airport directly to Mata Rocks. Getting around is easy. If you like to walk, you can walk along the beach to downtown (where most of the restaurants are) in about twenty minutes. There are plenty of places along the way if you don't walk to walk that far. You can also check out bikes free of charge or rent golf carts (which most of the locals use rather than cars). For us, the easiest thing to do was take a cab. They're cheap and get you downtown in five minutes. Hurricane's bar/grill had the best seafood, hands down. Simple fresh food and nice service. Be prepared to slow things way, way down
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Looks good in photos

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Beach was small, and full of seaweed. Breakfast was effectively tasteless. Kind of duped on the transportation they offered. They said to land and they would pay for transportation services to the hotel. This was a big deal since we landed in Belize City. That meant, taxi, water taxi, taxi. The room was plain. Refrigerator never got cool. Water for showering was foul, much less potable. Wifi was spotty. Customer service was poor. It was a much different experience than anywhere else on the island. The location was very far to the south of everything. 30 minute walk to midtown. 5-10 minutes by car. They had complimentary, dilapidated bikes for use. So that was cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mata rocks Rocks!

Posted Jun 25, 2014
Pros: Super clean, they repainted the floors around the swimming pool twice when I was there, everything was clean, staff scrubbing the floors,
Cons: Breakfast was not enough, food ran out, not open long enough. Need better selection, tea, more pastrys, cereal, milk, eggs.
Location: Perfect distance away from the bustle of down town, easily access able with free bikes! Or walk!
I stayed for a week, 4 in the room, 2 teen daughters, me and my wife. We had basic room #8. 2 very comfortable double beds with nice linin and pillows. Relaxing quiet atmosphere. Staff was so nice and helpful! Great value for the price, about $87 per night which is cheap for Belize.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by april from santa fe new mexico

Very nice! Beautiful views. Ocean view bar was fun

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Expectations were met! Staff was nice . Accommodations were very nice and clean. Bikes were fun . We walked to and from town , for some a bit of the walk but we enjoyed. Had a party of 8 and we all had fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janice from Panama City, FL

Small hotel on the beach just outside of San Pedro

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Quiet location, cleanliness, comfortable beds, helpful staff, nice bar.
Cons: The water pressure was a little lacking but not enough to cause any issues.
Location: Basically eat and drink your way through San Pedro....many fantastic local restaurants with fresh ingredients...try them all.
The hotel is a small hotel located right on the beach just a 30 minute walk along the beach from town or a 5 minute taxi ride. The hotel staff were all courteous and helpful. The beds were extremely comfortable! There is a small bar on the beach and the drinks were fabulous. Each drink was made with the freshest fruits; no canned/bottled stuff here! The beach area is small but absolutely adorable - be prepared for the folks to come by peddling their wares but they were all very nice and not pushy at all. We enjoyed staying here as it was very quiet and tranquil. All the local tours will pick you up right at the dock so it is not any inconvenience to be outside of town. All in all, we loved this place. The place was beautifully kept and the staff went to great lengths to make our stay enjoyable. I would stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rebecca from Lafayette, Louisiana

Everyone should stay here!

Posted May 4, 2014
I love this hotel!!! It is the perfect distance from town to not have foot traffic in your way all day, and you can walk to any restrurant. So nice to have a pool and a beach! Day trips to the main land pick up right at the hotel dock!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Nothing to right home about Grounds keepers hard working &more accommodating then office.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Zoe from USA

very clean, only a little bit of disappointment

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room is very clean. Staff even clean up the debris/leaves pushed up shore in the morning. Only disappointment happened when we were given a golf cart which had very little gas which ended up running out in the dark where no stores nearby, no mobile reception either. Had to walk and asked for help.