Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Silver Spring, MD

Fantastic, friendly service from everyone.

Posted May 11, 2015
Overall a wonderful experience! Entire resort is clean inside and out. Great pool. Very relaxed atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Golden, CO

A little piece of heaven on the beach

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Romantic setting: 90% of guests were honeymooners or celebrating anniversaries. The charming staff with constant smiles. The superb food!!
Cons: The gym has high-quality equipment, but two out of three pieces did not work at all or properly. Access to the outside world is not very flexible.
Location: Snorkeling, scuba-diving, fishing,
This may have been our best, most relaxing vacation; and perhaps this was the best time of year to be at Matachica...except that lobster was out of season. The outside temps were in the mid-80s, but a constant breeze off the sea kept us from overheating. Our casita was very comfortable and quiet. The noise from the very efficient air conditioner drowned out any noise, so we slept like babies. This is a place where you have to go barefoot or with only sandals, because the sand is everywhere. It took us 15 minutes to adapt to the laid-back atmosphere. We ate the great majority of our meals at the hotel, because other restaurants are not easily accessible. This was not punishment, as the Matachica chef is outstanding. The included continental breakfast is copious and delicious...ripe, fresh fruit every day!!! On the other hand, be prepared for US menu prices...not cheap, plus a standard 15% service fee. The staff was sometimes embarrassed when we left more for outstanding service. Belizeans are nothing if not humble...for the most part. Everything in this property is done first-class style. From the high-quality linens that always smelled wonderfully fresh, to the beautiful infinity pool and the Coconut Mojitos that go down so easily.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Louisinia

Honeymoon

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly and very accommodating. Free boat rides in town if you went with the resort schedule.
Location: Snorkeling, going to town and renting a golf cart to see the area, diving everywere.
We went for our honeymoon trip and had an amazing experience with the Matachica Resort and Spa. We had been emailing the resort prior to purchasing our plane tickets and their responses were very helpful and right on. When we arrived the staff was there to greet us at the airport and shuttle us to the resort, never had to touch our bags once after we grabbed it from the plane. The staff was very friendly and each made it a point to learn your name. The resort was beautiful and quiet for us honeymooners/couples. All of the guest we met seem to have the same opinion. The food was great and the drinks cold. The staff would always ask how things are going or if you need anything. It was our first time in Belize and we went through the resort to book our excursions such as snorkeling Hol Chan and Shark Ray Alley, also our zip line and cave tubing. The excursion were spot on and we had the best time! Each event was done with class and the tour guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. THe resort had a crew picking up sea grass that would blow in during hire tide and the did an excellent job keeping the beach clean. The pool was great. Bugs weren't bad except for one night but the staff had OFF ready at hand. The huts had a/c which was nice. The beds were very comfortable and we slept great. The resort had free kayak rentals which you could go out and snorkel at a nearby reef. Spa was great,Again this was an amazing experience and very stress free and low keep trip
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Jose, CA

Amazing resort - best on Ambregris Cay

Posted Mar 9, 2015
I have stayed in high end resorts all around the world. This ranks amongst the best and most memorable. The resort is stunning, the staff faultless, and the restaurant food top class. Believe me, this is worth every penny, and probably one of the best choices you can make for a ruminative, relaxing and pampering resorts.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Relaxing and private resort in beautiful location

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The staff, the location, the activities, the feeling of being private and pampered at the same time.
Cons: Nothing.
From the staff greeting us at San Pedro to the last boat ride back to the airport the entire staff were wonderful, efficient and caring. The location is beautiful and the amenities awesome. Jade Spa treatments were relaxing and Mambo restaurant serves creative, delicious fresh food .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Teresa

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful secluded hotel/spa.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Felt secluded and far from the traffic of San Pedro.
Cons: Bigger portions for continental breakfast.
Location: Everything you might want to do in the Caribbean.
Sensational. Relaxing environment. Splendid island architecture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Uberlandia/MG Brasil

Descanso e tranquilidade na praia

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Restaurante. Atendimento. Quarto. Mar. Atendimento definitivamente.
Cons: Ser localizado mais próximo da minha residência...
Location: Tudo fácil, a logística do pessoal é muito boa. A recepção agenda tudo certinho, é só você ir (e pagar é claro). Muita variedade de atividades.
Ambergris em Belize não é fácil de chegar; mas vale a pena o esforço pela exclusividade. O hotel em si é simples, mas muito confortável. O restaurante é espetacular. Tem todas as comodidades que você possa precisar. O pessoal da recepção organiza tudo, você não precisa se preocupar com absolutamente nada! Os demais funcionários são excelentes, todos sem exceção. É perfeito para casal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicholasfrom Austin, TX

I Want To Go Back!

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Matachica was far and away the best resort/hotel/vacation experience I have ever had. My new wife and I stayed at the resort for 6 nights on our honeymoon and I have zero complaints. The staff, which seemed to outnumber the guests by about 2 to 1, were all so friendly and accommodating. The service was impeccable, from the wait service to the room service. We stayed in the room called Lychee, which was right behind the pool. Our little bungalow was very comfortable and it was so nice to have a space to ourselves. One of the best parts of our trip was taking out their bikes, paddle boards, and kayaks during the day to explore the island and barrier reef. They provide all of these free of charge and they instruct you how to use everything. The food in the restaurant was great, each meal prepared just how we wanted it. Lastly, the people of Belize are amazing. They are all so inviting and hospitable. I highly recommend a vacation here and stay at Matachica!! You won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Philippfrom Zürich

Amazing

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Spot, very friendly Stuff, amazing food.