Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Relaxing and private resort in beautiful location

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The staff, the location, the activities, the feeling of being private and pampered at the same time.
Cons: Nothing.
From the staff greeting us at San Pedro to the last boat ride back to the airport the entire staff were wonderful, efficient and caring. The location is beautiful and the amenities awesome. Jade Spa treatments were relaxing and Mambo restaurant serves creative, delicious fresh food .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful secluded hotel/spa.

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Pros: Felt secluded and far from the traffic of San Pedro.
Cons: Bigger portions for continental breakfast.
Location: Everything you might want to do in the Caribbean.
Sensational. Relaxing environment. Splendid island architecture.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Uberlandia/MG Brasil

Descanso e tranquilidade na praia

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Restaurante. Atendimento. Quarto. Mar. Atendimento definitivamente.
Cons: Ser localizado mais próximo da minha residência...
Location: Tudo fácil, a logística do pessoal é muito boa. A recepção agenda tudo certinho, é só você ir (e pagar é claro). Muita variedade de atividades.
Ambergris em Belize não é fácil de chegar; mas vale a pena o esforço pela exclusividade. O hotel em si é simples, mas muito confortável. O restaurante é espetacular. Tem todas as comodidades que você possa precisar. O pessoal da recepção organiza tudo, você não precisa se preocupar com absolutamente nada! Os demais funcionários são excelentes, todos sem exceção. É perfeito para casal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicholasfrom Austin, TX

I Want To Go Back!

Posted Nov 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Matachica was far and away the best resort/hotel/vacation experience I have ever had. My new wife and I stayed at the resort for 6 nights on our honeymoon and I have zero complaints. The staff, which seemed to outnumber the guests by about 2 to 1, were all so friendly and accommodating. The service was impeccable, from the wait service to the room service. We stayed in the room called Lychee, which was right behind the pool. Our little bungalow was very comfortable and it was so nice to have a space to ourselves. One of the best parts of our trip was taking out their bikes, paddle boards, and kayaks during the day to explore the island and barrier reef. They provide all of these free of charge and they instruct you how to use everything. The food in the restaurant was great, each meal prepared just how we wanted it. Lastly, the people of Belize are amazing. They are all so inviting and hospitable. I highly recommend a vacation here and stay at Matachica!! You won't be disappointed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Karanfrom Phila, PA

Paradise

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Matachica is like staying in Paradise. It is so relaxing.
Location: Take a ten minute boat ride into San Pedro for a change of pace and night life.
As soon as you arrive you are greeted at the dock with a drink, things just get better from there. All of the rooms are name after fruit, ours was raspberry and we had a perfect view of the ocean even though I don't think you can have a bad view. The food at the restaurant (Mambo) was delicious and plentiful whether it was breakfast, lunch or dinner. Of course the desserts were my favorite with a tie between the caramel flan and chocolate soufflé. The staff was very nice, Sam was especially helpful and never tired of all our questions. Israel really knows how to make the best mango smoothie w/dble shot of vodka. I can't wait to go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, facilities, service and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Blakefrom Chicago, IL

Perhaps the best hotel I've ever stayed at

Posted Feb 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Mata Chica was absolutely incredible! If you are looking to get away, this is the place for you. The staff was outstanding, the decor was super cool, and the food was incredible. The resort had breath-taking views. What really took this place to another level is the fact that everyone gets their own Casitas. This gives an added touch of privacy and uniqueness. I can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by susanfrom Lakeville MN

Beautiful Romantic Relaxing slice of Paradise

Posted Feb 15, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: Scuba, snorkel, windsurf, kayak, biking, pool, hot tub, bar, great restaurant, relaxation, romance!
We were married at Matachica and spent our honeymoon there. We absolutely loved it. On the beautiful blue water, white soft sand beach, excellent restaurant, friendly wonderful staff, the rooms are lovely and private. Very romantic place. It was magical and we will go back again. We were scuba certified with White Sands (great dive shop) and they will pick you up at the dock at Matachica. The scuba diving was amazing-nurse sharks, sting rays, turtles, moray eels and tons of fish. Boats back and forth multiple times per day to san pedro. They have organized tours as well if you want to see Mayan ruins, zipline, cave tubing etc. You can kayak out to the reef from matachica and snorkel too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Best Resort on Ambergis Caye!

Posted Feb 11, 2014
This place was amazing! My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon, and from the initial contact with the staff (they picked us up from the small airport in San Pedro and then took us by boat to the hotel) until the end of our stay, we treated so kindly by everyone! Also, the resort was beautiful! The beaches were cleaned each morning, and after taking a bike ride down the beach, you could easily see why it needed to be done everyday. While a lot of the other beaches were littered with trash and rotting plant life, ours was pristine. The rooms were well spaced from one another and were cheery and clean, and each room had a hammock outside. Although the resort was booked to capacity while we were there, we felt pretty isolated (even at the beautiful pool & hot tub), which was great! It was also nice that the resort offered free bikes, kayaks, snorkeling gear and small sailboats. You could kayak about 10-15 minutes out to reef, tie up and jump in. It was beautiful and amazing. The resort also offered really awesome excursions that you could sign up. The food and drink were also wonderful and pretty well priced. If you were in the mood to switch it up, they'd make a reservation at another restaurant/resort for you as well. We had the best time ever!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Regan Loustalotfrom Oregon

perfect romantic getaway

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
My now Husband and I spent the last 7 days at Matachica for our wedding/honeymoon and we couldn't be happier that we chose this resort! From the friendly resort staff to the luxurious casitas to the impeccable care of the resort grounds they truly make you feel like you are in paradise. Beatrice helped us with all the wedding details and paperwork so the only thing we had to do was show up on time for the ceremony which turned out absolutely perfect. The resort has kayaks, snorkeling gear, bikes and paddle boards that you can use at your leisure, we kayaked out to the the reef that is located about 500 yards out from the resort and snorkeled around and saw so many different fish it was amazing. We biked into town one day which is about a 5 mile bike ride right on the shoreline and only took about 45 min. That is a great way to see the Island as well, because there are many restaurants and bars that you pass on the way. . The resort is located 5 miles North of San Pedro so they have a complementary water taxi that runs 3 times a day to take you into the town, which is fun to explore all the shops and many restaurants. Matachicas restaurant Mambo is fantastic! they offer breakfast, lunch and dinner, I recommend the seafood ceviche and the coconut mojito. the only downside to the restaurant is the high prices, because we would have loved to eat there everyday. My husband and I will definitely be visiting Matachica again!