Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Beautiful setting in the rainforest

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Would highly recommend this hotel - beautiful setting, great service and food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice and friendly staff

Posted Jul 27, 2014
The Hotel was very nice, the meals offered were delicious, the staff could not have been nicer or more accomodating. Although not that many things work well in Belize, this hotel does!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Christine from Florida

Great location

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
great service, great location-walking distance to San Ignacio, the food at the restaurant was great, the hotel arranged the tours for us and we had excellent guides! I would definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

uniqie character and good food

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We visited with our two daughters. it is conveniently located yet in a quite place. We loved the surrounding jungle feel and pathways. the room was a bit small for 4. they cooked to order - the food was good though a bit pricey. we did an ATM tour with them and they gave us a very good guide and price. When we drove off to Tikal we left our luggage there. The only sticky point became our no-show for our second stay, when we got stuck at a roadblock at the border, for which they charged us and did not budge to wave our charges even after explaining and communicating to the manager. we had to shift our schedule by a day and had the same issue with the other hotels on our itinerary by they all were understanding and did not charge us for missed stays. Our circumstances were unusual because we got stuck due to local protests plus we communicated in advance we were running late.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay!

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Large veranda overlooking the property, small pool, and the dining outside under a canopy was great!
Cons: The bed was a little on the hard side, but that is a matter of preference I am sure.
Location: About a mile outside of town, locals walk to and from the area but we drove. Burns St. in San Ignacio is great for a little nightlife/dinner/shopping
After seeing in person the other places that were recommended in San Ignacio/Santa Elaina, I would not have stayed anywhere else! From the minute we checked in the staff was bending over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The jungle setting was wonderful and the way the lodges were set up made the most of breezes and vistas. But the food...THE FOOD!! Beyond wonderful with a chef preparing every meal with locally grown produce/fruit. If I ever get the opportunity to return I would definitely go back to Mountain Maya Lodge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mayan Mountain Hospitality

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The food, staff, and ambiance of the hotel setting made our family of five adults comfortable and relaxed during our stay in San Ignacio.
Location: Barton Creek, ATM, Mayan ruin sites, Cave tubing, Green Iguana Project, medicinal trail, butterfly exhibits and horseback riding near Maya Mountain.
Setting was natural and relaxing. The rooms are clean, pleasant, and affordable. Staff and food was wonderful. Convenient amenities available to comfortably enjoy the getaway in the mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew from Melbourne

Fantastic

Posted Apr 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here for 3 nights from Guatemala as part of a stopover to the Cayes and had the most relaxing and enjoyable time. The food and staff was among the best I've experienced in my travels. Other reviews mentioned they 'try and push' you to go on their tours...not true and I never felt pressured to do so (I lounged around at the lodge the whole time uninterrupted). The owners gave done a good job putting this place together. Well done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven

Beautiful Jungle Grounds

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The grounds of the lodge were gorgeous natural jungle. The food on site was delicious, but you can save money by eating town. However, it is a trek to town so a taxi probably necessary. It is five dollars US each way. The bathroom could use a little updating. It was very small and there was a bit of mold in the shower. The A/C worked great though. It is worrh hiring a private guide for visiting Xunantunich. Ask for Mario.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven

Beautiful Jungle Grounds

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The grounds of the lodge were gorgeous natural jungle. The food on site was delicious, but you can save money by eating town. However, it is a trek to town so a taxi probably necessary. It is five dollars US each way. The bathroom could use a little updating. It was very small and there was a bit of mold in the shower. The A/C worked great though. It is worrh hiring a private guide for visiting Xunantunich. Ask for Mario.