Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best place to stay!

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Large veranda overlooking the property, small pool, and the dining outside under a canopy was great!
Cons: The bed was a little on the hard side, but that is a matter of preference I am sure.
Location: About a mile outside of town, locals walk to and from the area but we drove. Burns St. in San Ignacio is great for a little nightlife/dinner/shopping
After seeing in person the other places that were recommended in San Ignacio/Santa Elaina, I would not have stayed anywhere else! From the minute we checked in the staff was bending over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The jungle setting was wonderful and the way the lodges were set up made the most of breezes and vistas. But the food...THE FOOD!! Beyond wonderful with a chef preparing every meal with locally grown produce/fruit. If I ever get the opportunity to return I would definitely go back to Mountain Maya Lodge!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mayan Mountain Hospitality

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: The food, staff, and ambiance of the hotel setting made our family of five adults comfortable and relaxed during our stay in San Ignacio.
Location: Barton Creek, ATM, Mayan ruin sites, Cave tubing, Green Iguana Project, medicinal trail, butterfly exhibits and horseback riding near Maya Mountain.
Setting was natural and relaxing. The rooms are clean, pleasant, and affordable. Staff and food was wonderful. Convenient amenities available to comfortably enjoy the getaway in the mountains.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steven

Beautiful Jungle Grounds

Posted Apr 10, 2014
The grounds of the lodge were gorgeous natural jungle. The food on site was delicious, but you can save money by eating town. However, it is a trek to town so a taxi probably necessary. It is five dollars US each way. The bathroom could use a little updating. It was very small and there was a bit of mold in the shower. The A/C worked great though. It is worrh hiring a private guide for visiting Xunantunich. Ask for Mario.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andylav from Devon, UK

Nice retreat in San Ignacio

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, out of town location, clean, nice pool/deck area, free WiFi.
Cons: Better selection of food from the restauruant (they have one dinner option each evening). Also quite slow service for brekfast (and it wasnt busy)
Location: It is a 15 minute walk to San Ignacio - not ideal at night as it is poorly lit. It is also a very dusty road with a suprising volume of traffic!
Nice hotel just outside San Ignacio. On arrival the staff were very friendly and everything went smoothly - they also helped us in booking a tour for the following day. Everything payable on checkout (in one bill), which seemed to be a rarity in Belize in general. It was a 15 minute walk into San Ignacio along an unlit dusty road. We got a taxi back which was only 10 belize dollars.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug and family from Colo Springs, CO

Great value, wonderful staff & time in the jungle

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Price - value - location - good food
Cons: Beds were too hard, we laded out our dried scuba wet suits and beach towels on top on the mattresses to make them comfortable
Location: Close to town, central location for jungle and Mayan ruin touring
This is a wonderful little place and a fantastic value compared to other resorts in the area. This property is a little rustic but very charming. The staff and other guests we met at all meals in the common area were friendly and helpful. I was with my wife and teenage daughter, we would recommend this place to everyone and we had a wonderful time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basics Included

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The staff at Maya Mountain make this lodge shine. The rooms are okay - clean and decent, but a few upgrades could make this place go a long way. The food is great and ease of booking tours cannot be beat, plus it's very close to town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dave from Edmonton, AN

Great place to base a holiday

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Nice to be in the jungle. The staff were all great. The pool was nice during the heat of the afternoon. Would recommend the Barton Creek Cave/Big Rock Falls and the ATM tours.
3 out of 5
by Charlotte

Nice and clean, free wifi

Posted Apr 5, 2014
I was able to stay there for one night. The staff was nice. There is a nice pool and the room was comfortable.
3 out of 5
by Sandra from Canada

most expensive cab ride ever

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: The grounds were beautiful, a jungle heaven!
Cons: rooms were a little rustic, and as I mentioned the transportation needs to be sorted out and clarified
Location: mayan ruins nearby were impressive, the little town would be nice except for he serious car pollution
I would never have booked this hotel if I had been in formed of the 115 US cab ride to get there! I had asked if there was a hotel pick up and was emailed back by the staff that they would send someone to pick us up. At the end of our stay, we were told of the ridiculously high charge. \this hotel needs to get with the program like the rest of the world, and book trips in partnership with other nearby hotels to bring in guests on the same van. what a waste of gasoline, to bring people a few at a time for a 1.5 hour cab ride! Thankfully, they did agree to reduce the fee after I complained, to their credit, but there is no excuse for this waste and confusion.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kim from texas

Wonderful scenery and food.

Posted Feb 28, 2014
The staff members were just the best. They treat everyone like they are at a luxurious spa catering to your needs. The food is magnificent! We enjoyed it more than the food at the restaurants in town. It was close to town but not on a busy street. Definitely not what Americans call 4 star accommodations but for Belize it was 5 stars!!! Most definitely would stay here again!