Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great Hotel on the Beach

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: We loved everything about this hotel.
Location: It is a little out from the action but you can take a boat to go do stuff.
A great hotel on the beach with separate thatched roof rooms. Food is the best you could ask for and the service is excellent. They have a dive center on site. Only one problem is you have to take a boat to town, but you can walk to two other hotels if you want to take in a different meal. You can rent a boat with a guide to take you fishing first then snorkel then you go and have a bar-b-q what you brought in fishing. That was so much fun.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dannie from Boston

Perfect vacation you can ever ask for.

Posted Jun 12, 2014
Like being greeted with flowers and went towels in banana leaf upon your arrival? Like to have all the staff calling you by your name and have a nice souvenir to bring back home? Like to be served with great food and drinks? Like to have a quite relaxing time to spend on your vacation and really get a good time off from your normal stressful life? Like to have a personal scuba instructor taking you to see the wonder of the sea? If so then this place is for you. Can't say more than this place is perfect and I am definitely going back next year!
3 out of 5
by Janine from los angeles

Decent hotel but not worth it

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Hotel room was pleasant except the people staying in the room above sounded like they were stomping around and awoke us every morning at 6am. The food is less than mediocre and very overpriced. Watch your bill closely. We paid as we went and when we checked out they tried to charge us for bar services we had already paid. Too far from town. Not worth the commute.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The Hotel was great!

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: The staff was wonderful! Everone was very nice and accomidating!
Loved the hotel! The staff was wonderful and very helpful before we even arrived on the island. From the moment we arrived we were treated GREAT! It was a wonderful experience with the greatest staff! Each day had flowers on our bed.
3 out of 5
by jones from Minnesota

Food is an issue.

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Hotel is lovely. Staff is great. However, there are no options for food other than the over priced and marginal hotel restaurant, unless you take a boat in to San Pedro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

My wife and I enjoyed a great vacation.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Location, location, location
Cons: More water toys and we are told they are coming.
Portofino is isolated but we liked being away from town. We took the Portofino boat in one evening and the water taxi home. We enjoyed going to the both the resort and beach bar just a short walk from Portofino. The hotel food is excellent but a bit pricey. Dive shop is wonderful. Pool is wonderful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from New York, NY

Little Slice of Beach Life

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: Excellent staff and activity packages. (you MUST swim with the nurse sharks and rays!) Small feel, not the giant overcrowded resort type of place.
Cons: We had a few lizard droppings on our bed when we came back to our room every night. I understand it's part of the area wildlife, but still unpleasant
Location: Snorkeling is a MUST!! Also try the local ceviche in San Pedro, yum!
The setting of this hotel is what we were looking for - small boutique feeling with friendly staff and comfortable rooms. The pool is great, sitting in a chair IN the pool was very relaxing. The hot tub wasn't working when we were there which is a shame, it would have been nice to sit back in there and look at the stars at night. If you want to swim in the ocean I recommend going out to the end of the pier (they have 4 loungers and a bed out there) and getting into the water there. They have cleared away some of the sea grass in this area and it's a nice place to cool off. Only downside I can think of is that I wish the hotel was a little closer to the main town of San Pedro.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by MIchelle from Atlanta, GA

Loved it!

Posted Oct 26, 2013
Pros: It was very island feel, staff were great, rooms were great. I recommend getting a VIP suite so you have your own little bungalow.
Cons: The Portofino boat needs to run more often. Water taxi gets expensive!
Location: I recommending if you dive the blue hole- ASK multiple times how many people will be going. We ended up being combined with other shops and 30 people.
The hotel and staff were great. We thought it was nicer than the pictures portrayed. The place was immaculate and just beautiful. So relaxing and easy to wind down. Its a bit remote and we would of liked the Portofino boat to run more often. We had to rely on the water taxi and its $11/person each way which adds up. The food was great at Portofino and we enjoyed several meals but when your staying for a week you just want something different. We went fishing one day and caught all kinds of stuff. They usually cook up your catch for you but my boyfriend wanted to cook it multiple ways himself. They set him up a cooking station and he had a blast. It was really a nice touch. Very laid back!
3 out of 5
by Joe/Sam from Phoenix

Excellent Staff

Posted Jun 5, 2013
Pros: Staff
Cons: Transportation accommodations, outdated rooms.
Location: Location was a little far north, but Ok.
Staff was excellent, very accommodating. The rooms need to be updated, i didn't even want to shower without my flip flops on. The restaurant was very expensive with a very short menu. Food wasn't good at all. Lack of transportation was the biggest inconvenience.
3 out of 5
by Rob from Denver CO

Secluded Hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2013
Pros: Food was exceptional
Cons: Not comfortable rooms
Location: Secluded and no real access to town except by boat.
This hotel is 6 miles North of the town of San Pedro and is only accessible by boat. Portofino has a boat that goes to San Pedro several times a day so you can catch a free ride with them otherwise it is $11 per person to ride the coastal taxi. The food is fabulous at this resort, especially lunch and dinners, but there is only one restaurant on premise. There is another restaurant about 15 minute walk on the beach south of this resort. It was very windy while we were there so unable to do any snorkeling or diving, and not alot of other activities. The room was not comfortable for lounging.