Ratings based on 296 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel

Posted May 1, 2015
Cons: Face lift on the outside paint and tile.
Location: Close to town and on the water.
This hotel is on the water, several restaurants with one on the water, movie theater, Casino, and a bar. It is in a nice location in proximity of the town. I enjoyed my 4 night stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

Big Old Hotel. Needs updates

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: Food and Pool
Cons: Rooms
The hotel rooms need renovation. We booked two rooms and one was missing the closet door, the other one has a graffiti on the bed. Food was great. Good Pool. It is also a casino and they allow smoking
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lancaster, PA

Miserable Staff

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Attitudes of service staff. Crackling and crumbling plaster ceilings.
Location: This hotel is a bit out of the way and not close to many points of interest.
This was an ok hotel stay - at best. The good news is Ramada appears to be putting some money into updating the Belize City facility. The bad news is that it's noisy and dirty. We took the updating into consideration of our ok rating. What was absolutely terrible was how miserable their employees were. The bartenders and restaurant staff must all despise their jobs because they were not typical of the kind and welcoming Belizians we'd encountered so many places. Frankly, they were pretty rude. The exception was the porter and front desk staff who were very accommodating. In the end, we complained to the general manager who promised some sort of rebate, but that has not shown up as of this posting. We suspect it never will. If you want a better hotel experience, consider the Radisson which is closer to more shops, the market and other points of interest. It also appears to be more updated, clean and the staff we encountered when checking it out (for our next visit) were all very friendly.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom belize

Needs work

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Good experience but bad quality for the price place is always under construction
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NH

Staff are the best!

Posted Mar 13, 2015
Pros: The location, the room, the restaurant, and the staff.
Cons: The snack bar/cafe should offer sandwiches, hot dogs, or burgers when the restaurant isn't open. Should be open for coffee earlier in the morning.
Location: On the water, close to downtown area to shop or eat.
The hotel is good - lots of updating going on, but very comfortable despite this. Right on the water, close to the heart of the city. The check-in manager upgraded us to a suite on our arrival. The staff is outstanding - Anthony, Douglas, Rojelio, Desiree, Beverly, Carla, Brenda, Kandace, Gianne, Andrea to name a few. They all went out of their way to accommodate guests. Great omelet/buffet breakfast every morning. Sea View restaurant food good. Shena, in the "Tease" gift shop was wonderful and helpful as well. The shuttle to the airport and the car rental agency was great. The customer service made up for any hotel inconveniences. We recommend staying here - rent a car and explore the country and visit Beluze Zoo, or walk to the downtown area to shop or eat.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Total lack of management in each department xxx xxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place to stay

Posted Feb 14, 2015
The hotel is still under renovation but the rooms were very pleasant and clean. A beautiful view of the ocean. Pool is very large and clean. Staff very friendly and excellent restaurant just outside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom guyana

Totally enjoyable experience

Posted Feb 1, 2015
The room was pleasant. Staff wS very courteous. I enjoyed my meals at the Seaview as well at the Calypso .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Keeps getting worse

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Pros: Free breakfast buffet for guests, but it is pretty limited. Cold-cuts and cheese is not my idea of breakfast food. Sea-view from all rooms.
Cons: See comments under "write about your experience.
Location: There is a park with local music and food kiosks on weekends a short distance north of the hotel. Popular with locals and food is mostly local type.
Not sure how this hotel keeps a three-star rating. They have many facilities many people like such as a casino, bowling alley and theater. If you are not interested in those, it is down hill form there. II have stayed at this hotel 3 times and I thought when this hotel became associated with the Ramada brand it might improve. Not much evidence of that yet. "Business center" has one or two computers, but no printer. To print you must e-mail a document to the desk and they will try to print it. The last time I was there I tried to print a boarding pass and gave up after 3 unsuccessful attempts. On this visit, water in the shower was tepid the first two days. The faucet for the shower was pretty rickety so I thought that might be the problem, but the water in the sink was the same. The third day the water from the hot water tap was exactly the same as the cold water. There was a "consulting team of at least 10 people there, but I never saw them talking to a guest, only management and themselves, so not sure how much will be changed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Wendyfrom Kelowna, bc, Canada

Ok but needed communication.

Posted Jan 8, 2015 on Hotels.com
The security of the hotel is great for being in Belize City. We would have liked to know that there was major renovations/construction going on during our stay. Very noisy at the pool, bowling alley closed, restaurant closed and driveway closed.