Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Disappointment about beach access

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly, courteous, and helpful. Had a great view of the bay and food was good. Room was quiet and cool and had a refrigerator.
Cons: Maintenance, if it was kept up better that would make a big difference. If the break-wall was kept clean of garbage and sea weed it would help appear
Location: There was nothing close by accept to walk to the neighboring little park. No large grocery/department story close, had to take taxi to get anywhere.
There are no beach access close to the hotel and the water taxi to San Pedro is expensive and long. The remodeling of the hotel in 2012 didn't do a lot to the bathrooms: floor tile broken/hole in flooring, the shower head was old and worn out, the towel rack was falling off the wall, hot water didn't work without calling front desk; and bed was hard and door drug on floor and the chain safety lack on door was installed backwards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great location. Good safe area.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
We were very concerned about our stay here due to some unsavoury reviews, but my wife and I were very pleasantly surprised: Our room was not only clean, but smelled clean and breakfast was a delight. We had a great view from our room and the staff was all in all very good.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

NOT A GOOD EXPERIENCE

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
not a clean hotel, Staff not friendly, did not have running water and not addressed at all by hotel or staff, there has to be a better place to stay in belize city. we actually left a day early because of conditions and they would NOT refund our money.. EXPEDIA PLEASE ADDRESS THIS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay in Belize City.

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Enjoyed the pool and room and the helpful friendly staff. Food was good too.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice facility bad workers

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Upon arrival we were greeted by Magda at the front desk. Initially she stated she could not find our reservation. After telling us this, she then continued other tasks, and asked us if we had confirmation. We had to plug the laptop and try and search for it. Long story short, me and my family were not given keys to our room for almost a full hour, as we had to wait for the manager to get there. We were pressured to give another credit card, even though we had just paid for our room online. Ultimately they tried to blame expedia, but later realized that their system was being merged with another and it was their FAULT. The facility wa beautiful. It took an hour for the front desk to send towels to my room. Being that I am a loyal expedia member and have never had this experience, I doubt I will stay here again. The staff and their computers need an upgrade
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Fe, NM

Worth the price

Posted Jun 25, 2014
I stayed here for one night. I think that the previous references to the smell is due to the casino. There was no smell in the room. The room was clean. My only issue is that I stayed there with the understanding that there was free in room wireless, which there was when I first arrived. That night it wasn't working. The front desk said that it wasn't working but I could get it in the hotel lobby. A inconvenience but not enough to prevent me from staying there again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by berg from usa

cheap but simple

Posted Jun 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
none of the ammenites are available. Bowling/game room was only available on weeknends. Movie theater only on Wed-Sun. Not a great neigboboorhod and we should have stayed on the outer islands instead. But prices are right and food in the seafood resturant next door is very reasonable and food is great. The casio on the hotel is much-less than stellar. They do not open a new table when others are full (even when 10 employees are bored and stading at empty tables), nor do they seem to care less about customers. However, the reception at the hotel is great and people is friendly. The boat rental is good and the trip up the river with the local captain is a real treat and his crew is awsome! so, overall a mixed review that the hotel owner could fix quicky with better madresses in the roooms and better.firendlier casio employees...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Belize City Hotel

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Casino was fun.
Cons: The rooms need to be updated including mattresses and linens. Pool hours should be longer.
The hotel is VERY dated. The pictures on the website make it appear that the linens on bed are new but when we entered our room we found 1980's style bedspreads that were worn thin and smelled. The mattresses are horrible. They are so old that when you lay on them you roll to the middle. The curtains were so filthy that when we shut them to keep the light out a wave of dust filled the air. If the hotel would have been $50 it might be a decent deal but the prices are significantly higher. I would not stay or recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Self contained Hotel and Casino.

Posted Jun 11, 2014
The Princess Hotel and Casino had everything necessary to have a comfortable stay in Belize City. The buffet style breakfast was excellent, varied and unlimited. Your eggs were made to order, and the food was fresh and tasty.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel with a view

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: Pool was generally vacant. Casino vouchers were a nice add-on.
Cons: Don't take towels that aren't on the floor. You leave a card stating that only those on the floor will be taken but don't abide by it.
My girlfriend and I stayed here in May 2014. This hotel was quite expensive but that's representative of all of Belize. Buffet breakfast and lunch were good with plenty of variety. Casino vouchers were provided during the weekends which was a nice bonus. There are no laundry facilities that guests can use. Only dry cleaning that is expensive. Hotel staff did not inform us that our normal looking lunch buffet was actually a Mother's Day special that would cost us twice as much, which left us displeased. Staff would take towels (even if they weren't on the ground) and wash them, but wouldn't provide replacement towels for a few hours. Pool was large, although a bit shallow.