Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Overpriced, pretty grounds.

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The pool was nice and the hotel was pretty.
Cons: A better trained staff.
Location: Swap-meet market. Ko ox Ha-Nah restaurant. Kareoke bar. Dancing with locals at Blue Angels.
The hotel was pretty, a stark contrast from the rest of the city. It felt out of place. The hotel staff was sweet but not very professional. We left empty water bottles in our room so we could refill them later. When we got back, they were thrown away by the housekeeping staff. We then asked if we could have them replaced, and they would only sell us new bottles. We asked them to ask a manager for us, they never got back to us. Then we asked other staff, who said (1 day later) that they found our empty bottles and would return them to us. They expected us to refill bottles that had been thrown in the trash. Eventually we had to buy water bottles because it was 97degrees outside and we were dying of thirst. I found this incredibly unacceptable. Water should be free and easily accessible to hotel guests - especially at a hotel that claims to be of a higher luxury level. I would not recommend this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Riccardo from Palm Beach FL

Nice and convenient

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Pros: Clean and modern with helpful staff and good food. Nice pool area. Not inexpensive but worth the price.
Cons: Better coordination with other hotels to hold down the cost of tours and transfers.
Location: Easy distance to town with friendly bars and people. San Ignacio is not large, and it seems quite safe. Hippies and backpackers abound in town.
Walking distance (downhill) to town. Inexpensive car ride back. Helpful staff for booking tours and transfers. Nice restaurant with good food. Some construction going on which closed the bar area while I was there. Interesting iguana preservation project on the premises -- hold, feed and pet iguanas which will climb all over you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anita from Los Angeles, CA

Best place to stay in the heart of San Ignacio

Posted Jul 29, 2013
Pros: Free Wi-Fi in your room, cold A/C, newer remodeled shower, super friendly staff, close to all the best places to eat in town
Cons: Nothing--everything exceeded my expectations
Location: Right in the heart of San Ignacio--hotel is located en route to the Guatemalan border if heading to Tikal
The resort was located at the top of a short hill right in the heart of San Ignacio. Easy walk to and from anywhere in the main district you want to go. This was definitely the nicest place to stay in the city, complete with a well decorated room, recently updated bathroom/shower, and COLD A/C...exactly what you need and want in the humid tropics. The staff was also very friendly and accomodating and gave us a guided tour of the hotel and it's facilities upon our arrival, complete with a free welcome drink--Rum Punch! There is free Wi-Fi in your room that worked very well and was a major plus! Parking for our rental car--a must for visiting the sites near San Ignacio, was always available and never a problem even when the hotel hosted a wedding reception; the hotel staff will make sure to accomodate your vehicle if the small lot gets full. We never got to take advantage of having breakfast at the hotel since we were always off doing our actvitities but the patio where you can have breakfast with the birds looked very inviting with a great view. I would totally recommend this hotel to others and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel in San Ignacio

Posted May 7, 2013
Pros: Friendly staff, food
Cons: none
Location: Close to ATM, easy access to Tikal
Amazing staff, good food, would definitely stay there again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joyce from Iowa

Fair hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2013
Hotel doesn't provide safe drinking water for free except for initial bottle of water per person on arrival. TVs are very small and outdated. Unable to get wifi to work in room most of the time--had to take IPad down the hall closer to the lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly and accommodating. They have an iguana project on the grounds where you can learn more about them and touch and hold them! We also had bird and kinkajou sightings just eating on the patio! Great location too if you want to go to Tikal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 7, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from California, USA

Convenient for trips to local Myan ruins

Posted Dec 3, 2012
Pros: Queen Elizabeth stayed there
Cons: Noise from the steep road in front of the hotel.
The physical appearance of public rooms was gracious and imposing. Rooms and furnishings were somewhat dated but comfortable. Veranda for dining and breakfast had a good overlook of pool and surrounding trees. Menu was extensive and quality of food good but not brilliant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JP from Orlando, FL, USA

Very romantic

Posted Sep 11, 2012
Pros: The pool and the help we got from the staff, how quite the place was. How nobody Body bothered us yet was there when we wanted them.
Cons: I am struggling to find something to put in to this section. Nothing can be perfect but this was as close as I have had it for twenty years or more.
Location: The location was very good for us as it was close to town center and easy to find our way back.
This was an excellent hotel and we had a really great time. The staff was not only good, but very good. We could not have had better treatment anywhere. Mary in the office was a gem and helped us with everything we wanted, and one of the front office staff saw us lost down town and got into our car and took us to the place we could not find. I have stayed in hotels all over the World and I will remember this one as one of my best experiences. I am not one who writes reviews or comments, good or bad, I just never go back. This hotel is one that I hope I am lucky to have the good fortune to go back too. The room was perfect and the pool and grounds very good. The dining room and restaurant staff could not have taken care of us better. If I was getting married or having a wedding this is the place I would to go to. I cannot find anything to complain about this was one of my better deals.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Excellent personalized service

Posted Aug 21, 2012 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff was instrumental in making certain all our needs and the interests of learning the most about the locale were perfectly addressed