Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Good quality/price ratio in Belize

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Pros: Nice staff, really quiet place, they can arrange for you to do tours (we did a day of snorkeling on a really nice sailboat, that was GREAT),it's clean
Cons: The restaurant should have more choices + be opened at all times, the staff should stay all day/night long, there should be a night shuttle
Location: Location is OK, resort is real quiet, there are some "tours" to do if you organize them with the frontdesk but at the hotel its : pool, beach, hammock
I stayed for 7 nights in this hotel. What is positive : really nice and accommodating staff, the hotel has 2 pools + a private beach, lots of lounging chairs and hammocks throughout the resort. What is OK : the beach is OK, though not really long, and at the end of both sides it's dirty (but you do not need to go there!). The water is no really deep, and there are a lot of algae, hence you do not get the clear blue water. What needs to be improved (big time) : two things: the restaurant + the shuttle to go to San Pedro. 1. About the restaurant : it's a small place, the menu is basic, not that many options, and they do not always have everything... Also, they come to your place by 5pm to ask you if you're planning to eat there at night. If not, and if no one says yes at 5pm, then the staff leaves, so you'd better not change your mind. Also, if they have many guests at once, they do not know how to handle it, and they make you wait (like 1:10 minutes... but they were nice about it, the next day they decided not to make us pay, as an apology). 2. about the shuttle to San Pedro. You have to know the hotel can only be reached by sea, and it takes about 25 minutes to go there. They have a shuttle in the morning (leaving at about 9, changes daily but they inform you), and one leaving at about 1pm, and you get back by a shuttle either at 1pm or at5pm. But that's it. So you cannot go to SanPedro in the evening...unless you get a water taxi (expensive...)
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Luis, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time out to post a review. I am proud to report that we have undertook major changes since your visit. Our restaurant now boast top notch menu items and we are proud to be listed in the top 5 on the island. We have extended our menus and we now specialize in Latin American and Caribbean Cuisine. Our restaurant is open at least until 8:30 pm daily and we no longer inquire of our guests on whether they will dine with us. Our improvements in this regard alone ensure that we always have guests milling around our restaurant and tiki bar. Our boats now have a set scheduled time daily and we try to provide at least 2 trips to town per day. We are about to address the issue of a swimming area and have also purchased numerous games and equipment which are all complimentary to our guests. I do hope that you would visit us again to see the improvements we have made. Luis
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cheryl from Vancouver, Canada

Beautiful hotel with fantastic staff.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: New and well equipped. Only one restaurant but the food was fantastic.
Cons: Still building in progress - needs to be completed before serenity can be achieved. A more frequent boat service has to be provided.
Location: Remote. 30 mins boat ride to San Pedro but this would suit some travellers.
Gorgeous but location too remote for our purposes. Would recommend to anyone wanting seclusion and or an out of The way resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brian and Terri from Fort Worth, TX

Beautiful Beach and Condos

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: My family and I loved that it was beautiful, calm, and away from the chaos of San Pedro. But we could still get where we wanted to go.
Cons: I don't know of anything that needs improvement. They all work so hard to make this a special place.
Location: You are only 15 minutes by boat from San Pedro. The staff will run you in on the resort boats whenever you want. And they will set up your tours. :)
This Resort was wonderful. :) We plan to go back to it when we come back to Belize, which will be a yearly trip. The beach access is like a post card. The staff does a wonderful job of keeping the beach clean (kelp and seaweed that wash ashore) on a daily basis. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and constantly cared for. They even have 3 pools that are well maintained, clean and sparkling. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the little restaraunt on the Resort. The meals were gourmet and fantastic. They give you a plate of food that looks like art, and plenty of it to fill you up. Each meal was wonderful and we found it hard to bother eating anywhere else. But I think what made this resort so special was the staff (Ben, Rafael, Luis, James, Smoky, Phillippe, etc.). They were wonderful people and always made sure that we had everything we needed to make this vacation special for my family. We miss them all. :)
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Len from Usa

Nightmare in Belize

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The worst vacation ever. Air con was broken, for 4 days, toilet was blocked. All activities are $200 plus per person. Had to pay $650 extra to fly to Island where there is nothing to see or do. The worst vacation ever.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 6, 2014 by Luis, Hotel Management
I apologize for your bad vacation. There are somethings that we just cant change. The tours do cost a bit more as we are ten miles from San Pedro's town core. When you land at Belize's international airport, you then have to get a boat or plane to the island. This can be as cheap as USD30 per person round trip or USD130.10 on a plane per person round trip(FYI these prices have only fluctuated by a couple dollars throughout the years). If you paid upwards of 600 dollars then you must have rented a private plane to bring you to the island. That was your choice and beyond our control. Traveling to a foreign country, one would expect to at least do some research on where exactly you are going and to post the flight cost as a part of your 'nightmarish,'vacation is a bit disingenuous to say the least. Most of our guest, if they so chose, use our complimentary boat services to get to town and then do their own tours from there if they deem our prices too high. Again I apologize for your bad vacation in Belize although I am certain there was not much we could have done to rectify these issues. Luis GM
2 out of 5
by Homer from Dallas

Very isolated condominium complex

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: New, clean, nice staff
Cons: Get TV, and road to resort
Location: Too isolated. only can get there by boat. Nothing to do there but lounge or socilaize
Condominiums are only accessible by boat. It is a 30 minute speedboat ride from San Pedro to resort, and boats run only a couple times a day. Resort is new, clean and comfortable, but very limited in available activities. No television!, only DVDs. Beach has a lot of grass on it the limits how far you can go, I could only walk 400 yards before obstacles were encountered. No snorkeling from shore, too much seagrass. No snorkel or scuba operators in vicinity. Basically, it was a lovely resort if you did not mind doing nothing.
3 out of 5
by Suzi from Los Angeles

Out of Way under construction resort

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Very few guests even during height of season.
Cons: Complete hotel so don't see construction. Remove trash along the water.
Location: Very secluded location. Must take boat ride to go anywhere.
The resort is about a 25 minute boat ride from San Pedro (town). There is nothing around the resort as far as restaurants, roads, activities. There are only 2 kayaks for resort guests to use. To either side of the beach there is trash everywhere, which make a stroll very unappealing. The snorkling from the resort is ok and very safe for all ages. The food is fine but a very limited menu. Our room came with a full kitchen so we could have cooked if bought groceries in town. One pool was not filled with water. Staff is very nice. The place is brand new. The room was nicely decorated but tiny for the price. No tv available - can watch dvds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014
The hotel is very quiet and a peaceful place to relax, but it is very difficult to get to the mainland. We had to wait two times for more than an hour to catch the boat to the resort. Very frustrating experience because we were often told "the boat is on its way" when it wasn't
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Frederick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 1, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bryan from Apple Valley, CA

Great Place

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Location, Staff, Amenities, Beach, You Name It!
Location: San Pedro has everything you need.
My wife and I stayed for a week and it was great! Sam, the property owner, is on site and makes sure everything goes smoothly. The beach is beautiful. The staff is great (Adrian and James in the restaurant, Rafael the Boat Captain, Smokey at the bar, sorry I did not get house keeping or maintenance, but they were great too). The place is peaceful and secluded, but only a short 25 minute boat ride to San Pedro with plenty to do. We will be back. Bryan & Amy
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Spa
by Omar W from Pennslyvania

I would stay here again

Posted Dec 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The staff @ the hotel was very helpful and nice. The food from the onsight resturant was great, and the prices were reasonable.