Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stan from Brooklyn, NY

Works in a pinch.

Posted May 18, 2014
I got just about what I expected, having lived in Belize for 10 years. This hotel provided the bare minimum for the price. Not for a family stay nor for a romantic getaway. For the seasoned single male traveler or adventurous couple looking for an economical place to stay in a pinch. Clean and adequate; staff helpful. I would stay there again if need be.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from uk

Breakfast could be better.

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Breakfast is very overpriced for what you get. Half a sandwich and a piece of stale pastry with some juice for $12bz a head. I don't think the coffee jug had been cleaned in a few days either. Nice place to stay with clean bedroom and bathroom, friendly and helpful staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very hot entry no AC two fans, noise Beds AC good

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Never go back to this place No place to walk after 8 pm Fair price for the room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Doug and Sandi from San Jose, Costa Rica currently

A traveler's hotel with little to offer but staff

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Price and staff. Good high quality towels. Save.
Cons: Better quality toiletries, tell the truth in the web listings on the various sites. This is a 2.5 star hotel at best but rated on some sites as a 4?
Location: As I mentioned everything is a taxi ride from the hotel. There is a great restaurant called the Riverside Tavern located within walking distance.
The hotel is located in a pretty run down area of town however in all fairness it appears that the area is improving and we found a great restaurant-bar within walking distance. We are travelers not tourists so we intentionally choose lower cost places and have lower expectations but, then again, there are basics. The hotel advertises a restaurant for example. While technically they have a restaurant, it is not open... EVER. The room was clean and plenty big in size. They offer and did have hot water with decent water pressure. The have A/C in the room, however the unit in our room (110) is not big enough to properly do the job. Anywhere you want to go from this hotel is a cab ride away.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Elia from Los Angeles

Pleasant Room

Posted Mar 2, 2014
Pros: The bed was comfortable, the air condition was quiet and worked immediately with no problem.
Cons: More towels, more wash cloth and maybe have ice available even if for sale.
Location: Near to main streets, taxi cabs and walking distance to restaurants and downtown area.
The hotel is in mid city of Belize which is close to eating places, taxi, bus and walking distance to the main streets. THe employees are corteous, friendly, and helpful with whatever you need. THe room was nice, clean and the maid service was lovely. I would recommend this hotel to a friend for sure.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointment

Posted Feb 28, 2014
noisey, lousy neighborhood, uncooperative hotel staff
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It maybe what to expect in Belize city

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Location: It was not the best place to go out at night at....Although I did,
The hotel is not in the best part of town, but maybe that goes for all of Belize city.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

don't expect much.

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Cons: It would help a lot if they had a simple map available. Not much of anything is withing walking distance.
Location: Not a location for local activities. Nothing close by and no map provided. It may be better to get a taxi than use the guy they call for you.
You're not paying much, so don't expect much. If you have not traveled and stayed in non-resort centeral America with the locals, you might find it is not were you want to be. If you travel cheap and stay with the locals, you probably know how to handle it. Room clean, staff nice. Don't walk around after dark if you don't know how to not look like a tourist. Or at least be smelly enough to be bothered less. Not the worst part of Belize City, neither the place to take your date for an evening stroll. OK to spend a night. Certainly nothing fancy. My rating is based upon the price. It is OK for the price. However, I won't be staying there again. I will spend the money and stay on the water where it is a much better environment, even for just a night. The hotel manager basically says don't go out after dark, or if you do, don't carry much money or passport. But there was no place to lock up valuables. Probably great for backpackers and experienced travelers saving money on room rate. Expedia picture is NOT a picture of the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Very Basic Room

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I stayed here for one night before our flight home the following day. I wasn't expecting much, but still felt like the place was a bit run down. The room was somewhat clean; i found wood shavings on the bathroom floor. It's a very basic room and they only provide a soap bar. The decor is pretty bad and the room has a musty smell. But....you get what you pay for. There really isn't much to do in Belize City, especially on a Sunday when most places are closed, so we were stuck in the room for most of the time. At least there was a TV in the room that had a lot of channels. There is a market and a good Chinese restaurant in walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
I found the information about the Hotel Bakadeer to be misleading concerning the shuttle to the Airport - the cost should have been mentioned. I did not feel safe around the hotel and it was necessary to use taxi service when leaving fro shopping or to visit attractions. The surrounding houses are very close and evening sounds were disturbing.Breakfast was fine as was the computer support from the manager. However, the internet connection was abruptly terminated at 9:00 PM. The hotel is clean but dark and there was no way to contact the desk unless you walked down there.