Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom kansas City, Missouri

The best ever! I am ready to go back now

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Clean, very pretty, felt like I was at home, relaxing and quite
Cons: I would have to say, not a thing, keep it as is.
Location: All the activities were all nice, the beaches, pools, bares, shopping, and all the staffs entertaining.
The staff was great, food is good, people all nice, place well kept up, and very safe..
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Virginiafrom Dallas, TX

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel with a beautiful pool but can not use the beach area. They had the great idea of putting a barrier to protect the boats. Now the water is dirty and stinks. They need to remove the barrier and keep the beach area clean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location and pool

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: Nice location and pool.
Cons: Service and communication of any issues or changes
The hotel facilities were fine. The hotel bumped us from the room we booked and not all of the facilities were available while we where there. None of this would have been a big deal, but the was no communication or advance warning from the hotel. Not even when we arrived. One of the nicest aspects of the hotel, the bar on the pier was closed for a private function the whole time we were there-something none of the staff or the concierge seemed to be aware of. Not sure I go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Total disaster

Posted Apr 25, 2014
My girlfriend an I booked the Placencia hotel through Expedia and requested 2 beds. I spoke with an Expedia rep and she assured me we were confirmed for 2 beds (2 king beds) really unheard of… When we arrived at the hotel we were given a room with 1 king bed. We were moved to a room with a queen bed and a futon, next day we were moved again to a room with 2 queen beds. On our last night we were actually moved again! Ridiculous! Not once did the staff apologize or comp us for the room. We lived out of our suitcase and never even unpacked!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Mary Nfrom California

Wonderful relaxation before flight home

Posted Mar 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent customer service, exceptional maintenance throught the property.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Uriah kahanfrom North California

Pretty good

Posted Mar 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was nice a little out of the way as far as direction to placincia but it is all inclusive so if you don't plan on leaving your hotel your in the right spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J&Lfrom Somerset, PA

Relaxing and beautiful

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The food was good and the staff was so accommodating and friendly.
Cons: Since there was not much nearby it would have been nice if they provided or at least suggested ways to get around.
Location: It is a little remote but the staff was helpful in recommending things to do.
We were looking for a place that was not too "touristy". It was very relaxing and beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by nelufarfrom atlanta

hotel by the sea

Posted Mar 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
although a beautiful hotel, i will not stay here again if i come back to belize. i booked a room with a ocean/beach view. what they offered me when i arrived (and took the paper print out of my reservation! i had the email!!) they offered me a view of the pro shop (back side of hotel) with a double bed. the hotel was only 1/3 full. i had to pay an extra $25 a nite for a ocean view (mainly the pool view, which was pretty~and the ocean was behind the pool) but there were NO waves b/c of the breakers. I could have stayed on the lagoon. Beautiful hotel, disappointed with my reservation.
3 out of 5
by Kathleenfrom Seattle

Bad Air conditioner

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Nice looking resort, clean. Nice comfortable lounge chairs on the beach.
Cons: Should have moved me to a room with working air.
Location: It's sort of remote. Roberts Grove and Belize Ocean wasn't too far but you'd have to have car or cab.
Let me be clear, this is a really lovely looking hotel. The pictures are spot on so what you see in the pictures is what you will see when you get there. The hotel design is sort of esthetically sterile looking (just my opinion). Still very pretty but not a natural palm tree lined scenery. I had a few major concerns during my stay. The room I paid for through Expedia was a junior suite. Really? I travel a lot and this was the smallest suite I've ever seen. It was just a very small room with a small bathroom on the backside of the property with no view. Bed linen was inexpensive looking (clean but just ok). Once I saw the room (location and size), I asked for an upgrade and this was probably my first mistake. The upgrade (with a per day charge) took about 45mins and even for that I had to call to front desk to ask if room was ready. Mind you the resort looked to be 20% occupied (pretty much a ghost town). They moved me to a room on the 2nd floor first building with living area, a full kitchen and separate bedroom. The room was lovely but looked very sparse (no wall decorations, no resort info booklet, no pots or pans for cooking). My biggest problem was that the air conditioner in the living area never worked. I called 3 times to complain about air and they came out twice but was never fixed. I had to close the door to bedroom so it wouldn't be hot in the bedroom. I didn't get in ocean. Water looked like ocean water near a marina or pier, not very clear.