Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J&L from Somerset, PA

Relaxing and beautiful

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: The food was good and the staff was so accommodating and friendly.
Cons: Since there was not much nearby it would have been nice if they provided or at least suggested ways to get around.
Location: It is a little remote but the staff was helpful in recommending things to do.
We were looking for a place that was not too "touristy". It was very relaxing and beautiful.
3 out of 5
by Kathleen from Seattle

Bad Air conditioner

Posted Mar 15, 2014
Pros: Nice looking resort, clean. Nice comfortable lounge chairs on the beach.
Cons: Should have moved me to a room with working air.
Location: It's sort of remote. Roberts Grove and Belize Ocean wasn't too far but you'd have to have car or cab.
Let me be clear, this is a really lovely looking hotel. The pictures are spot on so what you see in the pictures is what you will see when you get there. The hotel design is sort of esthetically sterile looking (just my opinion). Still very pretty but not a natural palm tree lined scenery. I had a few major concerns during my stay. The room I paid for through Expedia was a junior suite. Really? I travel a lot and this was the smallest suite I've ever seen. It was just a very small room with a small bathroom on the backside of the property with no view. Bed linen was inexpensive looking (clean but just ok). Once I saw the room (location and size), I asked for an upgrade and this was probably my first mistake. The upgrade (with a per day charge) took about 45mins and even for that I had to call to front desk to ask if room was ready. Mind you the resort looked to be 20% occupied (pretty much a ghost town). They moved me to a room on the 2nd floor first building with living area, a full kitchen and separate bedroom. The room was lovely but looked very sparse (no wall decorations, no resort info booklet, no pots or pans for cooking). My biggest problem was that the air conditioner in the living area never worked. I called 3 times to complain about air and they came out twice but was never fixed. I had to close the door to bedroom so it wouldn't be hot in the bedroom. I didn't get in ocean. Water looked like ocean water near a marina or pier, not very clear.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tre from Pearland, TX

Great time!

Posted Mar 7, 2014
I found the staff to be very hospitable, courteous and responsive. Meals and drimks were great. I will stay here next time I visit.
3 out of 5
by Tall Girl from New York, NY

somewhat disappointing

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Hotel organizes numerous tours to all the main attractions.We went on Monkey River tour,it was very nice.
Cons: Put a normal dresser and couple of hooks in the room for two adults.
Location: Snorkeling,diving,kayaking,hanging by the pool,visiting the sights.I liked dinners at Seaside at Robert's Grove and Secret Garden in Placencia.
Overall the hotel is beautiful, clean and the staff is nice and helpful. My main disappointment came with a realization that the gorgeous beach in the pictures was not suitable for swimming - it's too dirty because of a nearby river according to the staff.It's fine to go kayaking, but first couple hundred feet is murky and stinky. Our room was spacious and clean, well air-conditioned, but lacked storage for clothes and all the vacation paraphernalia. I was surprised to find a barely 3' wide closet half full with a dresser slightly bigger than your average nightstand. It didn't fit even my clothes (and I didn't bring much for 7 day trip) let alone my husbands (he lived out of his duffel bag). I'm all for the minimalist tropical look but IMO the way to achieve this is to put away your stuff out of sight ,not to have it strewn around the room because there's nowhere to put it. One hook in the bathroom for two bathrobes and six towels? Inexplicable and very irritating.Even my hubby,who is super low maintenance,commented on it before I even had a chance. Placencia village is quite far away, about 20 min drive in the car - something to keep in mind when making a decision about renting a car. Pretty much everything is far away, so you can take advantage of all offered tours but be prepared to spend at least twice as much money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff make this a great place to stay.

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was very friendly and eager to please.
Cons: The menu did not reflect the local cuisine and many of the dishes were bland and uninspired.
The pool was lovely, but the beach not so much because of recent unseasonal storms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by raea from saskatoon

Wonderful!

Posted Mar 2, 2014
The hotel is gorgeous and perfectly clean! The staff was friendly and attentive! The food was great...loved the pier restaurant!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel website/management is not truthful.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
The management is deliberately misleading customers. 1. no golf course (not even started) 2. many of the rooms are still being built 3. the hotel is 12 miles away from town (not walking distance/google maps wrong) 4. Xuanantuch tour $75 more expensive per person from going rate in town for the EXACT same tour. I wouldn't stay there again. It was obvious that they wanted every dime and do not care about their customers returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rick from Midwest

Great Style Points

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Beautiful grounds and facilities. The pool was as spectacular as advertised. The restaurant/bar at the end of their pier is outstanding (especially when Mariano is working). Distance to anywhere is a bit inconvenient and travel is quite slow due to speed bumps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Fabulous hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Staff was incredibly nice, everything went smoothly with no issues and best of all, the hotel was quite!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by mr meteorite from m

A good stay

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Brought a family of four and had a nice time. There were some issues but nothing that wouldn't make one want to leave and check in someplace else. The food was moderate to high in cost. Dinner for 4 on the pier cost over 150 US with 2 drinks and taxes. It was good but not worth the price. Food by the pool averaged 15 US per plate, drinks were about 6. The beach was good, and there were kayaks available which were alot of fun in the calm breakwaters of the hotel. The staff were fantastic which made this place above average. They make you feel comfortable and were very friendly. Charging for wifi is crazy. Also the area felt empty. If you are coming to mingle, it isn't for you. We happen to like the quiet and privacy. The hotel is about 20 minutes from Placencia.