Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The Spa bath in room didn't work. The tub was filling up with tepid water. They couldn't change out room nor were they willing to give us a refund of some kind. They also charged us twice for the hold they put on your card as you check in. Not willing to cooperate any way to rectify this.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southwest Mich

Quiet and Clean

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: The room size was great, the hotel staff was very receptive and helpful, and the location is scenic.
Cons: Didn't care for the shower head, seemed like a cheap version of the rainshower type, but not very strong. No room to put shampoo and conditioner out.
Cedar Village is tucked away in the woods, but still very accessible. I heard from a local that this is the newer of the three resorts. We were very happy with the room. It was larger than most and had a terrific balcony. It was equipped with an iron, a blow dryer, and a little refrigerator. It was quiet for a weekend, but the first weekend of May should be a lull between ski season and the top of summer. Since it doesn't give me enough to room below to say what wasn't right, I'll do that here. The A/C ran so loud on the roof that it made it hard to fall asleep. Pick the first floor, if you can.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Macomb

Romantic Ski Getaway

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Never disappointed in Shanty Creek Cedar River!! Fantastic trip!! Be back next year!! Love all the great changes..great job Shanty Creek Resorts!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A place to cool your heels.!!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
This is a really cool place to stay and spend a couple of days out here. Though a little low lit and confusing if you have to drive around in the resort, but will be worth the stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Dorian Tait from Royal Oak, MI

Deserted but Expensive

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels
Shanty Creek charges some of the highest room rates I came across in my search for a room in Traverse City. Not enough coffee for two people provided with the coffee maker, no vending machines on the floor where our room was. Extremely pricey room rates considering the place was deserted in August on a weekend when you'd think they'd be packed with golfers. Nice room overall but I have to rate it down due to the unjustified high price I was charged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MIchigan

Nice Room

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: Nice rooms
The rooms are nice. We stayed with children so the two room suite was great. We visited in the summer and there wasn't much going on at this hotel after the sun went down. There are activities at the Summit hotel and it is a short ride over there. When traveling with the kids, we like to save money by stocking the fridge and pantry with food and beverages. This resort is far from any grocery stores. By the time we realized this, it too late to turn around. As long as you know this on the front end, it shouldn't be a problem as you can plan accordingly. It was a nice place and we will stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A little far from Traverse City

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels
The resort was great, however I booked on Hotels.com as a suggested for nearby hotels to Traverse City --- unfortunately, it's a bit far for a 1 night stay to enjoy Traverse City if staying at Cedar River. Facilities were great, location not close to local attractions I was interested in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Sue

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jim from Indiana

only place available

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
We would have liked to stay longer.