Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa,ON

Summer getaway

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The breakfast and the large room.
Cons: We had trouble keeping the a/c on and we never figured out how the satellite television worked.
Location: Great location to visit wineries.
My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Waring House. Our room was lovely and spacious and the breakfasts were excellent - great waffles and pancakes with fruit. This hotel is very nice and very quiet. We visited several wineries in the area. We certainly got excellent value with this stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kingston, Ontario

Beautiful winter getaway.

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Spacious room, very clean with beautiful antique-like Gibbard furniture. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Location: It is close to the beach in summer, over thirty wineries and the cidery year round, and great restaurants to choose from.
Spent Valentine's Day evening in a premium queen room sitting by the fireplace watching snowmobilers driving on the trail outside of our patio doors.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ben from TO

Nice Getaway from TO

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
Great staff, lovely area, good value. Nice getaway from TO.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Rooms are well appointed and very clean. Hot tub was a great feature for the end of the day. The inclusive breakfast was also a bonus!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Hidden gem!

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Well appointed,spacious rooms. Lively bar, friendly staff, wonderful food.
Cons: Shame the resident artist was not 'in residence' when we stayed.
Location: Excellent onsite bar & restaurant so no need to drive out to eat. Interesting little towns close by. Lovely beaches. Need a car to make most of area.
Just wanted a place to stay for one night on our way back to Toronto and friends had recommended we visit Prince Edward County. Found this by chance on Expedia and we're thrilled when we arrived. Wonderfully appointed room. - really swish bathroom - with great views of countryside. Had to walk to restaurant for dinner and breakfast as given room in separate lodge ( so pleased the rain stopped!) but it was worth it. Lively entertainment in own pub and knowledgeable and friendly bar staff, very professional waiters, wonderful food, beautifully presented and reasonable too! Shame we had only booked one night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Burlington, Ontario

Charming inn with a lot of potential

Posted Sep 4, 2014
Pros: Cheerful, friendly staff in all areas; comfortable beds & nice linens (bath & bed); good food in pub and restaurant; spacious room; 2 luggage racks
Cons: Slippery floor in tub surround; shower curtains that reach the floor; easy to use TV controls
Location: Heritage activities (museums); beach; biking and hiking; vineyard tours; antiquing & shopping; relaxing with a book
We stayed at Waring House only one night and found it very nice. We had dinner in the Barley Room Pub, which was good, standard pub fare with sizable portions. Amelia's restaurant offered a really good, full breakfast selection which was included in the price. The setting is absolutely beautiful and takes advantage of the rolling rural countryside that P.E. County is known for. The buildings are decorated with vintage, rural artifacts which adds to the ambiance. The bedding is high-end hotel quality and the bed was extremely comfortable. We were in one of the 'out buildings' (Heritage Building) in a room that was outfitted for wheelchair access, although we did not require it. So the room and bathroom were quite spacious. When we entered the room it smelled musty, but once the air conditioning was activated this dissipated. The shower was large, but the floor was slippery (not a problem if you are in a wheelchair but a concern if you are standing), and the shower curtain did not reach the floor so the floor outside the shower ended up quite wet with a soaking wet bathmat. The large TV is nice to have, but the directions were complicated. We got it working but when the channel was changed we lost all reception and could not get it back so we gave up. With a bit more attention to detail this inn would definitely be first class. Maybe they are spread too thin by trying to diversify (cooking school, 2 restaurants, gift shop) and need to revisit the inn upkeep a bit more.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 10, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
by George from Mississauga

very central

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Felt more like a hotel not a B&B. breakfast was good, friendly staff. I would consider to come back. My only issue was king bed was not overly comfortable had a sag in the middle could not lay flat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pascal from Montréal

Excellent pour un week-end en couple

Posted Jul 30, 2014 on Hotels
Très bon endroit où rester pour un week-end en couple dans le coin du parc des Sandbanks. Le parc est à environ 20 minutes de voitures tout comme plusieurs vignobles. Le centre-ville de Picton n'est pas loin non plus.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jul 21, 2014
The Waring House is a very nice hotel and is in a great location perfect for visiting the wineries in the area, and close to town and restaurants. The hotel room was very large and comfortable and had a nice balcony. The hotel restaurant offered a delicious complimentary breakfast, with several options. We especially enjoyed that it was an actual breakfast - eggs, pancakes, etc. (not a continental breakfast)! I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to friends.