Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Recommended B&B

Posted Jun 1, 2013
We stayed here on Thursday, 6th. September 2012. We were given an excellent welcome, which included very good recommendations of local sights to see and places to eat. The room was on the ground floor at the back. It was large, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was very good. Wi-Fi worked well in the bedroom. I would say you need a car for an evening meal. Didn't get a chance to enjoy the large garden. Reasonably priced. This was one of the best places we stayed at during our holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Linda

Posted Oct 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful room, very large and beautifully decorated. The breakfast was excellent and the staff were very friendly and helpful, pointing us in the direction of a lovely pub/restaurant called The Publyk House with great views and good food. It would have been nice to have had tea and coffee facilities in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by DavidH

Posted Aug 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
My wife and I stayed for one night on the way to the New England Seacoast area. I found the room to be very comfortable, the location very beautiful, the food and service to be excellent and Daniel, the host, to be quite friendly and helpful. It is located near two highways so the traffic sounds are very much present but I did not find them to be intrusive. I am a light sleeper but the traffic did not keep me awake. The included breakfast featured a nicely presented belgian waffle with bacon, fresh fruit, homemade granola and very attentive service. I would definitely recommend the Alexandra and would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 24, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kathy

Cozy

Posted Jul 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very nicely appointed room, comfy and cozy. Nothing fancy, but classy. Clean room, especially the tub. Nice grounds to have coffee or a glass of wine in a gazebo or in the bird/butterfly garden. Would definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by JB

Getaway

Posted Jul 15, 2012 on Hotels.com
Dan and Melissa very cordial and accommodating. Lovely grounds with lots of birds. Delicious, hearty homemade breakfast included. Only drawback was the noise by the nearby highway. Could use A/C as "whitenoise" to help. Close to activities at Williamstown, MA big plus.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kathy

Pleasant B&B

Posted Jul 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
We had a pleasant time in Bennington. It was our first visit to Vermont, and the Alexandra was a great place, very comfortable for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A pleasant, relaxing experience

Posted Jul 10, 2012 on Hotels.com
My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our first trip to Vermont. We decided to just take in the southern part at first (in Bennington), and we loved our stay at this B&B. Daniel and his wife (the operators of the inn) make you feel very comfortable. They provided a delicious (perhaps slightly Colombian-inspired) breakfast, which was always delectable and changed daily. Our room was cozy and featured a great view of the green mountains of Vermont. Rooms are cleaned/ checked daily, but you are never bothered by housekeeping. (They must come when everybody leaves to go site-seeing). The location was great, too. We were 10-20 minutes (tops) from 2 great hikes we took, and you're a stone's throw from the town. When you double-back after a long day of exploring, we even found a nice ice cream parlor/hut and a real gem of a restaurant (Publick House -- great views / order the prime rib! ) basically within walking distance. We would definitely return. One note of caution -- if I had to critique one thing I'd say that the bed, while luxurious, large and comfortable, is extremely soft, so for someone with back woes, this is something to keep in mind. Otherwise, you are bound to really enjoy the relaxed atmosphere here. Oh yeah -- make sure to grab a scone and play some chess (all provided gratis in the main room).