Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Disappointed

Posted Apr 11, 2015
Pros: They gave out free bottles of water.
Cons: Service
Location: The restaurants were fine and it was not far from Lake Michigan, a nature center, and a shopping center.
When we arrived, shortly after 4:00 p.m., there was a sign at the desk, saying that the desk clerk would be back in 10 minutes. I went back to my car and waited for him. After a few minutes, he came back. He asked if he could help me, in a very unfriendly manner. When we got to our room, we discovered the clock radio was not working and one of the lights was burned out. When I went back to the front desk and explained the situation, he replied that he was busy and would bring a light bulb to the room that evening. He said a maintenance man would come the next day and fix the clock radio. He never brought the light bulb. Later on I discovered that the clock radio was unplugged, but because that part of the room was dark due to a burned out bulb, it was hard to see that. In addition the heater made a lot of noise if you tried to get it in between hot and cold. If you turned it off, you could hear the trucks on I-94 roaring by at night. Also some of the t.v. stations went out. When we called the front desk we were told that it was because of the rain storm. Also in order to get hot water from the sink, you had to run the water for several minutes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to stores and resturants

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: How nice the staff was.
Cons: The rooms
Location: It was centralized location near a lot of stores and places to eat.
I was a pleasant experience. It was easy to get back and forth where I needed to go and get back from. It was nice
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago IL

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Did not feel safe at this location - the bedspread was stained and the telephone keypad was disgustingly filthy . There was a lot of people traffic going in and out of some of the rooms making me wonder what was going on. - the room was warm , shower water was hot and it was close to the highway.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jodyfrom W.B.

Disappointing compared to other Red Roof Inns

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels.com
Recommend you book on line for this hotel...much cheaper. Pet friendly which is great. Gentleman at front desk not overly friendly...it felt like I was imposing upon him. Room was clean but basic...no hairdryer...you could get one from the front desk. Very close to I94, so traffic can be heard constantly. The pipes from the room upstairs began leaking at some point, dripping non-stop...just like a water torture! It was reported to the front desk at 3:08 am. They did offer me another room, chose to stay put. By 7:00 the dripping was constant. When checking out, reported again the leaking pipe...there appeared to be no record (this leaking information came as a surprise to the person at the front desk). Despite staying at many Red Roof Inns, Benton Harbor is probably off my list.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kristanfrom Chicago

Great for an overnight visit!

Posted Dec 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was extremely friendly, the room was clean, and quiet. Thank you!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

good

Posted Nov 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No bed bugs and clean sheets.

Posted Nov 7, 2014
I wouldn't want to stay for more then 1-2 nights, but for the price, it's fine for 1-2 nights. Not super dirty but not really clean either. With that said, the sheets were clean, towels and was cloths were clean and we had no issues with the room. The tub and counter tops hadn't been cleaned but were ok for a short stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kevinfrom Suttons Bay

So nasty, stains on the sheets.

Posted Nov 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I never leave reviews on anything, this time I felt compelled to. It was pretty gross. I figured staying next to a Best Buy would be ok, didn't mind too much along the interstate. I didn't even mind the stains on the chairs, but on the bed sheets? That is just nasty. A big faded yellow stain about 2 feet in diameter and a smaller darker yellow stain a couple inches in diameter. I ended up sleeping in between the comforter and another blanket that went on top. I also put my t-shirt over the pillow, which I unfortunately left there the next morning. I learned my lesson on 2-star hotels.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thomasfrom Canton, MI

Avoid This Motel

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I reserved 2 rooms. The rooms need updating, had no refrigerator, no microwave, no breakfast, and not much room. If you did not watch your step, as the sign said, you would probably fall out of the bathtub. I travel a lot and these were the worse rooms I have had in a while. Red Roof is usually an affordable motel. but this motel was far from Red Roof standards and my experience.