Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Midlands UK

good central location but very noisy.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: We liked the central location with the immediate facilities and the breakfasts were very good. surprised not to be checked that we were guests
Cons: the suggestions above. Also small things like better laid breakfast tables.
had requested twin bedded room in quiet part. Arrived at noon. room not ready had to take our luggage up and down different stairs to the luggage room . No help offered. felt no real security as anyone given a key could have accessed our luggage. no check on what was put in or taken out. Bedroom still not ready till after 3. the small narrow room was completely unacceptable. dark with one window facing brick wall, rather shabby furniture, no supplied toiletries, only 4 coathangers in small wardrobe, two very small drawers etc. After much discussion and little choice we were moved to a much lighter room but twin beds could not be arranged and it was in the noisiest part of the hotel. As kettle and fridge are provided and coffee and tea, why can 't fresh milk and bottled water be provided? rather inconvenient to have to go to the ground floor every time. Our room was nt supplied with the usual information ie how to contact reception (no details on the telephone emergency procedure, local information and brochures etc. Took 3 times of asking to get a necessary lightbulb changed. Felt generally that the reception staff were nt really too bothered about helping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
small but cosy and close to central station. wonderful Norwegian breakfast
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel with amazing breakfast

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Breakfast was fantastic. What a great choice and all delicious.
Cons: It was known that the window in our room did not open. I think it would be a good idea to get this fixed.
Location: Location is very good for transportation links. Airport bus stop very close and train and bus station just across the park. Fish market 5-10mins walk.
We stayed two nights at this hotel - one before our trip to the fjords and one on our return. It was very warm in Bergen on our first day but unfortunately the window did not open in the room we were given. We had to ask for another room. Thankfully the staff obliged and gave us a lovely room with a view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 👌

Excellent !!!

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Rica hotel is so perfect; excellent location for exploring the city, excellent breakfast, excellent custermer service, the room is clean and beds are comfy. We had enjoy staying at the hotel👍👍👍👍👍👍👍👍
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wales

Too hot to handle

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Air conditioning installed
Location: Most things are within walking distance
Stayed at the Rica in July 2014, it was very hot and we had no air conditioning in our room, unfortunately the windows in our room only opened 3 or 4 inches making the room uncomfortably hot, especially at night. The hotel is excellently located within Bergen with everything within easy walking distance. There are a few pubs/clubs near to the hotel which can be quite noisy, even on weekdays, sometimes till 2 or even 3 in the morning so take earplugs!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, U.S.

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: See above.
Cons: Air Conditioning in the rooms, especially for hot, summer days.
We liked the location. close to the buses, train station, waterfront and parks. Great breakfast. Friendly staff. Room was quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Inverness UK

Great City Centre Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: Clean, comfortable. Breakfast is something else - huge choice of buffet : hot and cold and "local" fresh produce mainly based on fish.
Cons: Only downside was the heat in the room. Air conditioning seems a bit extreme for a North European country such as Norway, so perhaps supply room fan
Location: Central location, nr bus/rail stations & airport bus link. Good local sights and fjord trips. Able to tour by rail to Voss, Myrdal & Flam.
A clean comfortable central hotel. Room rates are steep by UK standards, however having researched other similar hotels (and discovered Norway is just an expensive place !) I am happy the value for money was good. No complaints about the hotel, however room was hot, but I arrived in the middle of a heat wave and didn't see a drop of rain for a week. It made sleeping uncomfortable at night even with the window open. Hotel can't control the weather. Single room is small but ample with good shower room/bathroom. I'd definitely return to the Rica if I go back to Bergen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Wonderful breakfast!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Clean, quiet, comfy, close to city centre, bus, train. Wonderful breakfast! Enjoyed our stay !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Nice hotel in the main part of Bergen.

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Breakfast!
Cons: The room size.
Location: Good central location, a few minutes walk from most places of interest in Bergen.
For the two of us on a ten-night stay, the hotel was generally very good. The breakfast was excellent, we basically got a whole smorgasbord of fish and meats, along with a selection of juices, smoothies, teas and coffee, cheeses, fruit, cereals, hot food (eggs, sausages, meatballs, baked beans, pancakes), which kept us going until well past lunchtime - a considerable bonus considering the cost of eating out. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only drawback was the size of the room; it was small, but once we'd optimised the use of the space we had (although we had travelled relatively lightly) and figured out that we could move the double bed to the centre of the room at night so that we could both actually get in and out of it, we managed OK. The hotel is conveniently situated a few minutes walk from the main part of Bergen. On a few occasions, we were disturbed at about 3am as one or two of the local bars closed up for the night and unleashed their inebriatedly noisy clienteles onto the local streets. But, overall, a very nice hotel in a very nice part of Bergen. Recommendable - we would go back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location and breakfast!

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Location, clean, quite, good wifi, great breakfast.
Cons: Temperature controls to allow cooler rooms.
Location: Historical sights, shopping, restaurants, ferries to fjords.
The hotel is centrally located to all tourist sights and ferries to fjords. Room was quiet with darkening shades to help us sleep with summer sun. Our TV wasn't working during World Cup game but a very nice staff member came up promptly and fixed it. The one complaint we had is the room was too warm and there was no way to cool down room or open window; thermostat only controlled heating room. Breakfast was excellent in quality and variety, making it very popular with guests. The hotel made accommodations to include gluten free bread.