Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was in a great location

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Pros: Location, Breakfast
Location: Go hiking up the hill and stroll around the bay and fishmarket.
The hotel was right opposite the fishmarket and bay with its famous colorful houses. Great staff and the breakfast was wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice comfortable hotel great views of the harbour

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: couldnt find any fauklts. It was in a great location
Cons: nothing
Location: right at the heart of the city close to the harbour fishmarket and great views of the harbour the mountains and bryggen
wonderful stay staff pleasant and helpful. food great nice bar too.Fantastic location overlooking the harbour and easily reached on foot from the railway terminal
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Pros: Perfect location. Great breakfast.
Bergen is a beautiful city! So many things to do and the hotel is perfectly situated.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Ideal central location

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: The bathroom was small - I would have preferred a shower screen rather than a shower curtain that kept wrapping itself around me.
Location: Close to the Fishmarket and the Bryggen. A very short walk to the Funicular and art galleries and also close to the railway and bus stations
The hotel was in a great central location - everything seemed to be close by and the views of the harbour and up the hill to the funicular were great in all weathers. The room was small and basic but very comfortable. The noise from outside was quite loud in the evening - music presumably from the nightclub late at night and then the early morning roadsweepers. Free tea and coffee in the dining room was much appreciated as we had frequent breaks between wandering about Bergen. Would definitely recommend to friends, along with earplugs!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Howard from Chicago, IL

Terrible Experience

Posted Jul 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our experience at the Scandic Strand was awful. We were assigned Room 306, which had no air conditioning and sealed windows. This was in the middle of July, with temps in the 80's. I thought we would suffocate in our sleep. The desk staff would do nothing to help us. Additionally, the room was dingy, the glass shower door was broken (someone had tried to fix it with duct tape, to no avail), and the place was filthy. It was absolutely the worst experience of our trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Linda from Florida

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Could not be better located: right in the middle of town, across the street from the Fish Market and the Visitor Center, around the corner from the Airport Bus (Flybussen), easy walk to all attractions including Hurtigruten port. Clean hotel, decent sized room, very nice staff, great breakfast included! Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from King's Lynn

Ideal for access to all major facilities

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: The room was clean and comfortable. The breakfast extensive. They had a good range of food and drink, plus essentials for the traveller on sale.
Cons: They should complain about the noise from the night-club because it will effect custom.
Location: The fish market is directly in front of the hotel. Go to Bryggen, a nice old area just across the bay. Book a fjord sight seeing tour.
This hotel was ideal as the airport coach drops you off about 50 metres away. It is also directly behind the tourist information office and close to all major amenities. The hotel itself was clean and friendly. The breakfast menu extensive. The only drawback was that at night, the noise from the nightclub opposite kept us awake into the early hours of the morning. Traffic noise was also a problem. There was also a terrible stench outside of the hotel in the mornings which permeated through to the front lounge area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Doug from Philadelphia

Great Hotel, Convenient Location

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great walking location to everything. Great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful home for a Bergen visit

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Views, location, staff
Cons: Refrigerator that works and has enough space for leftovers and a few things would be nice.
Bergen is beautiful and the Scandic Strand is in the midst of it. Greatest location. The fish market smells a bit at night, but that is because it is just across the street! The room was very small. The refrigerator did not work well. The views, location, and staff more than make up for any flaws. A great price was found, too!