Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in. Room, facilities and staff were first class. Fitness centre an swimming pool very relaxing. Located in a great place with access to rail travel within walking distance. Would not hesitate to book again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston, TX

Althoff Schloss Bensberg near Cologne, Germany

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful setting. Large comfortable room. Complimentary valet parking, mini bar and daily fruit.
Cons: It was difficult to ring the front desk and get an answer. Could have been the programming on the phone or just bad timing.
Location: The town around the hotel has great shops and restaurants. There is easy access to the motorways. Cologne is wonderful. The Cathedral is incredible!
We happened across this 5 star hotel while looking for a vacation base to tour the Rhine River valley. What a gem. Great location just outside Cologne. Friendly staff. Extremely comfortable, large room with modern amenities and AC that worked well. Shops and restaurants within walking distance. Wish we had more time to take advantage of the spa facilities and restaurant. Our loss.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom München, Bayern

Außen Hui - innen Pfui

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Der Wellness-Bereich mit schönem Swimming-Pool. Unterkühlte Temperatur. Aber hübsches Mosaikk in Royal-Blau. Mit schönen Saunen.
Cons: Siehe Oben.
Location: Ohne Auto:verloren.18Stationen bis KölnCity.Man weiß nicht ob es sich um U/S/TramBahn handelt.Wir wissen es bis heute nicht.Ein Hoch auf Döner Mehmet
Man reist an. Mit einer Erwartung von Prinzessin Diana und Prinz Charles. Aber was erwartet einen: Nach Anreise München nach Bergisch Gladbach: Welness Bereich GESCHLOSSEN!! Unfassbar. Man wurde außerorts chauffiert in einen SpaBereich. Nett. Aber wir wollten in Bademänteln von unserer Suite in den Welnessbereich wandeln. Leider nicht heute. Völlig ungenügend. Das Personal: mehr unverständlich als akzeptabel. Weil das Personal es versäumte: uns darauf hinzuweisen, dass man in das Mediterrana Bademäntel und Handtücher mitbringen muss: wurden uns für lächerliche Bademäntel und Handtücher 22 EURO ( !!!!!!!!!!!) an Leihgebühr abverlangt. Nein: das wurde nicht viá Gutschrift vom Hotel Bensberg/Althoff beglichen. Noch viel besser: müde belächelt wurden wir. Wie man auf die Idee käme, dass das Hotel übernähme. Der Kunde ist König- nicht in diesem Hotel. Ein Rindfleisch-Filet mit Pommes für 34 EURO. haha. Pommes in einem 5-Sterne-Hotel. Kunde ist König: sobald er auscheckt:ist er Dreck. Überhaupt nicht empfehlenswert. Unbedingt abzuraten. Völlige Enttäuschung. Ein 2-Sterne-Hotel , bzw. MOTEL One hofiert einen Menschen mehr, als man hier erwarten darf. Mehr Schein als Sein. Schloss hin oder her. Für eine Flughafen-Abholung für 75 Euro: ein Taxi kostet 32 Euro. 75 € im Hotel-Limousinen- BMW versus 32 €- Taxi-Mercedes-E-Klasse..........Nun. Wir empfehlen: NH-Hotel Köln Innenstadt-Neumarkt versus Schloss Bensberg mit vielen Mängeln.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Hotel, sehr angenehmer Aufenthalt

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Das Hotel ist wunderschön, sehr gut gelegen, sehr schöne Gartenanlagen und auch Innen lässt das Hotel keine Wünsche offen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom hamburg

Sehr schönes Hotel . Angenehmer Aufenthalt.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: Das ganze Hotel
Cons: die Stühle im Frühstückszimmer waren etwas abgenutzt
Location: Das Bergische Land und Köln erkunden
Wir waren 3 Tage dort, um das Bergische Land kennenzulernen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent short break

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: The Architecture,
Cons: Tea/coffee making facilities in the room would have been nice
Location: We had dinner at the Symposion a Greek restaurant and the food was really nice, Also recommended the Chinese restaurant Hong Kong.
The hotel is in a small town called Bensberg. about 30 min from Cologne by Tram. Only about 5 min walk to the Hotel but it's an uphill walk. Had a three night stay with my wife in dome suite which had a separate living room. There are cafes, bakeries, Restaurants, supermarket close to the hotel. We had dinner at the Symposion a Greek restaurant and the food was really nice, Also recommended the Chinese restaurant Hong Kong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cindy Carr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom cumbria

Fantastic!

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Pros: food lovely rooms friendly people
Excellent stay in a beautiful hotel. Fantastic luxurious rooms. Brilliant friendly staff. Professional attitude and could not do enough to accommodate myself and 14yr old son.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Inder Kumar Sharmafrom Singapore

Excellent experience

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
A beautiful hotel with good service. only location matters as situated bit far from city centre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia Pennsylvania

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Just a wonderful place and exceptional staff. Would absolutely return!