Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Everything is okay only The bed Mattress are not comfortable and secondly the free internet was tooo bad
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Its terrible hotel with terrible location staff doesnt exist in this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
by hans C from Toronto

right hotel, wrong location

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
as you can expect from a hotel called Art Fabrik, it's not run-of-the-mill. This hotel would be a hit in Berlin, but in Wuppertal... not many restaurants around, parking is difficult, and it has the general feel of wanting to stay in business but not having quite enough guests to do just that. So they cut corners.... rooms weren't filthy, but not clean, either. Bathrooms were spotless, beds are comfortable, quiet all night long... if you want to try something different that the usual cookie-cutter box, well.... this might just be it. It's worth considering, if you can live with the folklore
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ADIN from UK

COLD ATMOSPHERE

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
IT'S A BASIC HOTEL WITH OLD FURNITURE...
2 out of 5
Recommended
by DEBORAH from ALABAMA

We were hosed

Posted Oct 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was well off the beaten track. If you were hungry the hotel had a restaurant. Unfortunately the service was bad ( one good waitress) and they only had 4 menu items to choose from. We had our rooms booked for months because of a trade show and even though I checked the morning my coworkers were to check in, they were minus one room and THE OWNERS OF THE COMPANY HAD TO BUNK TOGETHER one night!!!! HOW EMBARRASING!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Igor from USA

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
There is no hot water; there is no reliable Internet access, there is broken room lock
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Igor

Good hotel for the money

Posted May 5, 2013
Pros: The �Art� is kitschy, but something different compare to the �chain� hotels.
Cons: Cleaning service didn't clean the room after first day regardless of the door sign. The bed is very stiff, probably need extra layer of bedding
Location: Good location.
The hotel is decorated very dark. Dissent food in the restaurant. Free parking and Wi-Fi. The �Art� is kitschy, but something different compare to the �chain� hotels. The art gallery is big but level of art could be better. Looks like a project of high school students of decoration for the facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Leboe

Posted Oct 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
I like the fact that the hotel was refurbished from a factory but the hotel has a lot more potential to offer. Lack of attention to details made my stay not as enjoyable... room 536 didn´t have hot water, the ointernet connection was not working and the TV was not working properly...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by North-Kai from London, UK

Super place

Posted Aug 14, 2012
Pros: Rooms
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Alas, a bit quiet immediately around, but fine with a car
A wonderful, if slightly distant hotel. It is well worth the slight distance for any destination in Essen, Dortmund etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lord Puffin

The best bit of the holiday was the hotel

Posted May 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Having read reviews, I had already come to the conclusion that this was a 'Marmite hotel' - and we loved it. The art rooms are massive and when you arrive you are given access to all available rooms, so you can choose where you want to be. This is of crucial importance in this hotels as the rooms vary so much, having been created by different artists. The room we chose was so large and calming with sea and sky scapes painted on walls and ceiling, we spent much more time in the hotel than we would normally do. If uniforms and bowing and scraping and tipping is your idea of the hotel experience, then this hotel is not for you, but I could not recommend it more highly to anyone with an artistic/stylish temperament. The food was really good, however, the restaurant closed at 10pm for some reason and didn't open on Sunday but if you know these things, you can work around them and the general eccentricity of the place out weighs any short comings in the service department.