Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by choprag from New Delhi , India

Comforatable Stay in Hotel Astor

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good comfortable hotel in Wuppertal , very close to Wuppertal Hbf Station Got room on the 4th Floor , facing the road, lot of disturbance of youngsters partying shouting in the late night on the main road , Was initially given a smaller single bed room , but on showing my hotels.com voucher and insisting for twin bed room got the same ,what I had booked for , Breakfast was ok , charged extra Euro 6.25 per day
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel close to the schwebebhan

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff - transit pass - clean and comfortable room - good location
My husband had wanted to see the schwebebahn for 70 years and the Astor hotel could not be closer to the station, We spent a large part of our visit riding the schwebebahn and exploring the Wuppertal valley, including the Sculpture Park and lunch at the Brauhaus. It's a great area for walking - friendly people and lovely views.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel Astor

Posted Oct 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
I really enjoyed my stay at the Hotel Astor - the room was quiet, comfortable, clean and in a perfect location. The staff was friendly and accommodating. They provided me with a free local bus pass. In must think hard to find a criticism - but the elevator is a little slow and small enough so that a ride with anyone else in it was more intimate than I liked. - also getting in and out of the shower was a bit of a challenge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good central well - prices 3 star hotel

Posted Aug 11, 2013
The hotel deserves a higher rating overall, but the one seriously regrettable aspect that needs addressing is the lack of air conditioning --- a slightly ajar window doesn't solve this problem. The breakfast, although additional, is excellent. The staff are willing to go that extra mile. The hotel's location is very central to the town, its excellent shoppers paradise, but the joke when you are driving to it is that the SATNAV doesn't tell you it is in the middle of a very extensive pedestrians ONLY zone. Parking is however not a problem as the Hotel has a decent relationship with Sparkasse pay parking lot nearby. There is also quite close by some limited NO PAY street parking. All together a good place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wonderful customer service

Posted Aug 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
I read the few reviews and thought that they had to be written by staff because they were so uniformly complimentary. How wrong I was! The staff are extremely professional and helpful (found us a fan during the recent heatwave); the buffet breakfast is inexpensive, varied and consistently delicious; the hotel is spotlessly clean; and, allowing for the 'interesting' people who always seem to appear near train stations, the location is unbeatable - 5 minutes sheltered walk to the train station and 2 minutes from a huge air-conditioned shopping centre with cafes, ice cream restaurant, clothes and shoe shops and a massive food store at the far end escalators on the bottom level. If the room rate seems too good to be true, it isn't! It might be worth asking for a room not on the front of the hotel as the people going by can be a bit 'merry' but the windows are well-fitted and very little sound comes through.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A. from Dallas,Texas

Great safe place in middle of busy downtown.

Posted Jul 25, 2013
Pros: The breakfast buffet is one of the best I have experienced on my recent and past European trips. Nice comfortable bed and a convenient mini fridge.
Cons: I wish, the street noise could be reduced but that may not be possible in such a busy, but convenient location.
Location: My day trip to Schloss Burg was wonderful. Bus # 863 leaves from the Vohwinkel Schwebebahn Station and goes right to the bottom of the chairlift.
After many years of living overseas I hardly recognize my hometown any more. Staff was very helpfull with information and the pass for free regional transportation [bus, train, Schwebebahn, etc.] was especially helpfull.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Phil from New York, NY

All-around excellent for the price

Posted Oct 9, 2012
Excellent buffet breakfast with a wide selection frm eggs, bacon, sausage, fruit, meats, cheeses, yogurts,etc., etc. Excellent location by the main train/ Schwebebahn station in downtown Elberfeld, but still very quiet. Very good for the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by kao742

Any closer and we'd be sleepi in the train station

Posted Oct 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
From the train platform to the hotel is less than a 10 minute walk. Our room (5th floor) overlooked the train station but we couldn't hear a thing even with the window open! It's an old hotel but well maintained and very quiet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They included a free local transportation pass for the duration of our stay - 4 nights. We didn't use the breakfast service but others told us it was very good and worth the price. All-in-all, if we were to visit Wuppertal again we'd stay at Hotel Astor .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SB

A very nice hotel

Posted Jul 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
My stay at the Hotel Astor was pleasant. The hotel faces the skyrail station, so there can be crowds in the area into the evening, and it is located next to many shops and a large mall. My room was on an upper floor on the opposite side, so i had a nice view of the city and did not hear so much outside noise. The staff was very friendly and helpful, especially as I do not speak German. Breakfast was not included in the price, so I did not eat there. Overall, the location was good and I was able to rest comfortably here.