Ratings based on 370 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My 2nd stay in less 30 days will continue to use

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Pros: Convenient location, excellent customer service
Cons: Nothing great value
Location: Every little quaint shop and boutique was amazing
Awesome clean rooms This is my bay place to stay.....
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Olympia, WA

The Hotel From Hell

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: Leaving
Cons: Everything
Location: I was visiting my daughter who lives close by
This hotel is old. The hotel staff is either nonexistent or not around. Of the three lights in the sleeping area (Ceiling and two table) only one of the table lamps was operational. The thermostat for the heater was broken, so the room temperature was either 50 or 80. Although there was coffee in the room the coffee pot was not accessible and when finally free enough to operate, was also broken. The TV had no remote, so it was not operational. There was no stopper in the sink. The room next door had 6 to 8 college age people in it who partied in and out of the room until I finally got up and left at 3:00am as there was no staff at the motel to maintain control. As I was leaving guests from two other rooms were doing likewise. Finally, there was a $20.00 charge on my credit card without explanation which I will challenge as cost and taxes were paid upfront.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sacramento

Old fashioned motel

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Small, but clean and well-arranged room.
Cons: The older through-the-wall gas furnace made us nervous because of known risks air contamination. The walls need sound-proofing.
Location: It is is in the Ocean View neighborhood of modest homes It sits on busy San Pablo Ave with nice cafes, restaurants, bars and a great bakery.
For a 2-star motel, the Golden Bear has been a standby when we need an overnight in Berkeley with our dog. This time it was conveniently close to our evening event. We did have one problem which occurred at 6 am when a long, next door phone conversation came through the walls as if it were in the same room -- waking us up after a late night. A busload of visiting students stayed that weekend also, and while they had a good time, they were not disruptive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Beach, CA

For Pet Owners

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: My dog was welcome and the decor was different than your usual hotel. And, of course, there's a bakery right across the street!
Cons: There needs to be some way to turn off the wall heater than is overheating the room.
Location: Delicious bread items at the Acme Bread Company, horse racing at Golden Gate Fields, walking in the funky neighborhood
I would recommend this motel for people who like to travel with their dogs. The Golden Bear charges $15 per pet -- a lot less than most places. There's a fenced dog run, but I would suggest skipping that and strolling around the interesting surrounding residential neighborhood. And what's that delicious smell outside? It's the Acme Bread Company, baking up all kinds of wonderful bread. There's usually a line out the door, but it's worth the wait (the line usually moves quickly), and it's right across the street from the inn. The decor in this inn is definitely retro -- right down to the pink and lavender-tiled shower. I was skeptical at first of the thin mattress, but I found it comfortable. I enjoyed the room -- it was like stepping back to my childhood. But the room was hot (it was cold outside!) and the TV tiny. There was a fan in the room, which worked well to cool it off, and to cancel out some of the noise from the neighbors' TV. The TV may have been on really loud so the elderly couple could hear it. If you're a person who needs everything to be perfect, this place probably isn't for you. But if you're looking for something different and can deal with an overheated room, and you have your dogs, you might want to give it a try.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 27, 2015
Pros: decent central location. no foolishness happening around the area
Cons: The bedding needs to be improved and new tile in the bathroom. Nothing wrong with a tile upgrade and it doesn't have to be expensive.
didn't feel comfortable in the bed. It felt like something was biting me but I wasn't sure. But the room was nice other than that. The bed was kind of low also.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Location

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Convenience to many sites around Berkeley.
Cons: It is quite old, but still fine.
Friendly, clean and location is perfect. Good value for travelers. Staff very friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rancho Cucamonga

Totally impressed

Posted Jan 26, 2015
The room was comfortable and clean. It was quaint centrally located. Staff was amazing. We had easy access to San Francisco. There are quaint shops in walking distance. Quiet and whenever I come to visit family again. This will be my place to be. Thank you
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Convenient location, nice clean rooms and good parking I would stay there again
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jefffrom Los angeles

One of the worst I've ever stayed in

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
First night, there was no heat and no one in the office. I was freezing all night. Second night, there were people in the room next to me yelling and laughing until 2 am. I was exhausted on the way home. Would never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 21, 2014 on Hotels.com