Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room, well-equipped, good location.

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: The room and the location were good.
Cons: The public areas were worn, dirty and untidy. Service in the restaurant was poor.
Public areas could do with sharpening up and a general facelift. Restaurant service slow and sloppy. Room very comfortable and well equipped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from Pembrokeshire

Central location

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff and atmosphere. Used by locals as a meeting place from breakfast through the day.
Cons: Nothing; it is all 'just right'
Location: Berkhamsted; the centre of the Chilterns but London is 35 minutes away. Hill, canal and woodland walks and views. Cultural and cinematic activities.
In the centre of Berkhamsted, convenient to all activities/facilities, including railway station (access to London) and canal.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Berko Business

Posted May 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
I couldn't fault the room, service, restaurant and food. However, my bedroom window overlooked the side entrance. There were people smoking outside and being noisy until around 11.45pm. in addition to this, the bar staff emptied the bottle bin from the bar into the outside bin at midnight and this would have woken me up if I could get to sleep. Shame as everything else would be perfect
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful food

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Despite the attractive surrounding and impressive menu, the food was consistently, carelessly prepared. Burnt roast veg, dry mashed potatoes, dried out parmesan shavings. All three were inedible. As if this wasn't bas enough, the staff offered no corrective action, when told about the problems. They simply and patronisingly apologised. The 'boutique' bedroom was pokey broom cupboard, squeezed into the eves of an extension. Albeit with a nice bathroom. One positive was the lady that checked me in. She was incredibly helpful. This is a pub. A nice pub. It's not a hotel and its not a restaurant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location was good; room was small. Bed was right under small window which was only single glazed so I could hear the noise outside and feel the cold. Overall it was quite expensive for what you get.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by joedanish from Norwich

Great staff and atmosphere

Posted Aug 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a great two days thanks largely to the wonderful staff who went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the atmosphere in the restaurant and bar convivial to an extremely enjoyable evening. The accommodation was perhaps slightly overpriced bearing in mind that the rooms are quite small and there is no guest parking but this should not detract from the overall positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Jan 13, 2013
Much better than I was expecting. Charming staff. Xxxxxxx
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

one of the nicest

Posted Apr 5, 2012
Pros: the quality of the room
Cons: being on a high street and above a pup
Location: being on a high street and above a pup
one of the nicest (and surprisingly one of the cheapest) that I have stayed in, I will definitely be booking again. the room and the bed etc were lovely as was the breakfast in the morning, nice to see real sausages used rather than ones which have about 1% meat content which you get in some chain hotels! with the level and quality accommodation that was provided i can see why this small chain is expanding! only small issues: you are on a high street and above a pub which can be noisy although I didn't find it that disturbing. no parking apart from nearby pay and display the plug on the bath was broken and wouldn't come out, but these things happen and i am sure it is fixed now
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Luton

traditional!

Posted Feb 22, 2012 on Hotels.com
Overall id say money well spent in the hotel and the restaurant! Service was good and polite, didnt have to wait long before your table gets cleared! i would recommend you try the black pudding starter in the restaurant, wow, it was the best ever black pud id eaten, it left you wanting more! i had ribs for din with chips and that to was amazing! compliments to the chef! The only thing that let the place down was the plastic sheet under your sheets! i woke up in the middle of the night, sweating buckets! yuk! To finish off i would definately recommend staying and eating at The Kings Arms Berkhamstead.