Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice staff

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Nice small hotel with nice staff and a good breakfast
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from The Wirral

Quiet hotel about 2 miles from Reading Station

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Quiet. Good breakfast. Reasonable price.
Cons: The rooms (not the bathroom which was good) need a spruce up, particularly the bed linen.
Location: The hotel is two miles walk from reading station. We got there late so not sure about local things to do.
We needed a place for one night near Reading Station. We picked The Beech because of the positive reviews. The hotel is quiet and the staff were friendly. The shower was great and the rooms were fine. If I was being picky the bed linen could do with an update. Perhaps duvets rather than blanket and sheets.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice for an overnight stay

Posted May 29, 2014
Pleasant greeting on arrival. No bar or restaurant. Room cold at night but comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Breakfasts

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Very clean and lovely building and garden.
Cons: Needs to improve quality of breakfast food. Yuck to plastic sliced bread and poor quality sausages. Source food locally - more quality ingredients.
Ok but see comments regarding breakfasts. The room was clean and as described.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by jean from smithy bridge

Beech House Hotel

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
A charming hotel situated on a main road just outside Reading with easy access to a good bus service if needed and plenty of parking on site. The rooms were 'old worldy' fitting the character of the hotel. There's a very comfortable sitting room for guests who also have access to a delightful garden where table and chairs are provided for guests. The attention to detail gives the feeling of staying in someone's much loved home. The staff could not have been more helpful and the breakfasts were excellent. Would recommend this hotel to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Ben from Manchester

Fantastic service and a good breakfast

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
I use the Beech due to its proximity to some of my clients. I've stayed 3 times now and always had a great bed. The location means that you are out of town, but its a pleasant 30 minute or so to walk back in. Staff service I can't fault, but do remember to ask before hand if you need an iron as they are only available on request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by edward from Essex

Nice Hotel

Posted May 5, 2014
Nice period features here, room 2 was small but functional, bed was too hard for our liking but doesn't take anything away from the experience. Breakfast was good and plenty to eat. Would stay again