Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from York

Couldn't fault it

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Everything including location near river
Cons: Nothing
Location: Irrelevant for us as just used it to go from railway station to visit daughter
Stayed here whilst visiting daughter living nearby, as she could not accommodate her. Will definitely do so again as the beds were so comfortable, breakfast excellent and whole ambience of the place impressive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel good location. Staff very friendly

Posted May 30, 2015
It was my first time to Reading, found the hotel very nice- staff very helpful and the room was pleasant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Lincolnshire

Good hotel close the the river

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: The hotel was immaculate and in a great situation alongside the River Thames and within walking distance of the centre of Reading.
Cons: Our room was perfect. I hope something can be done to eliminate the view from the windows of the rooms facing west
Location: Great location alongside the River Thames
Spent 3 nights on a bed and breakfast basis. The accommodation and food were excellent. The staff I found very courteous. My only gripe, which I mentioned when checking out, was the view from our room number 241. It was directly over the service entrance to the hotel, alongside which were the air conditoning fans and a seating area for staff who smoked, with public toilets across the road. Suggest obscure glass in the windows of the rooms along the western side of the hotel! We were celebrating our 46th wedding anniversary and visiting relative in the area. We had a very memorable weekend and didn't let the view from our room put a damper on the occasion.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Look forward to our next visit

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Very comfortable beds. Best at any hotel for a long time! Good breakfast with friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

An excellent stay

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here as we were attending an event in the hotel. The catering for the event was excellent. The breakfast the next morning was superb. They have the portions out under the ho lamps just about right. There's enough there for the hungriest person, but not so much that it sits there for ages. Fresh top-ups arrive very quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 16, 2015
had a lovely stay at crowne plaza enjoyed walks along the Thames. .. easy route to town. railway station. places to eat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barry from Barnet

Away day

Posted Mar 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great staff. Nice hotel and location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Prima hotel aan de Thames.

Posted Mar 9, 2015
Pros: Restaurant was goed genoeg om niet buiten de deur te hoeven eten. Erg prettig!
Cons: Te verbeteren: zie kritiek op SPA
Eten Ontbijt is prima te doen. Variaties genoeg. (brood, evt roosteren, jam, kaas, vlees, engelse meuk spek worst, croissants, eieren, verse sap, verse smoothie, alle soorten cornflakes) Lunch kaart is ook savonds te gebruiken. Geroosterde kip is aan te raden! Flexibele chef, ik wilde een compleet eigen menu samenstellen en dat was zonder enige problemen en niet eens met extra kosten. Overnachting Kamers zijn prima, bedden slapen oke, wel 2 kussens nodig. Ik had een kamer aan de wegkant en had geen last van het verkeer. Douche is in de badkuip, staat wat onhandig. Je ziet dat het wel al wat oudere kamers zijn, maar ze zijn goed onderhouden. Fitness+sauna+zwembad LET OP: Dit is van een ander bedrijf en heeft zich ingehuisd in het hotel. Je kan er prima op je slippers naar toe binnendoor. Prima zwembad om een paar baantjes te trekken. Sauna was ook in orde. Fitness allemaal technogym apparatuur. Echter; slechte controle van de eigenaar. Mensen hielden zich niet aan de regels. Sauna's ging men niet op een handdoek zitten. Bezweten springt men in het zwembad, ipv netjes douchen. Fitness apparatuur lag niets om schoon te maken, ook werd dit niet gedaan door de gratis geleverde handdoeken. Bench press apparaat was de 'spotter' defect. Overige apparatuur zag er wel goed uit. * gratis handdoeken super! * gratis douche gel * gratis shampoo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kit Lai from Hong Kong

Generally satisfactory stay, but not impressive

Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
Well maintIned room. Scenic views next to River Thames. Staff need more training.