Ratings based on 304 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for the price

Posted Jan 5, 2015
We were upgraded to an executive room with balcony over looking golf course which was lovely
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Reading

It was OK for an overnight stay

Posted Dec 2, 2014
We stayed at this hotel as were going to a party nearby so just needed a room for the night. The hotel is nice enough but is a bit tired. We got a really good deal on the room which is why we stayed here and I definitely wouldn't have been happy if we paid full price. The bathroom needed some attention! Breakfast was OK but most of the food was dried out by the time we got there. The location is lovely and although we didn't see/use them, there are lots of facilities to take advantage of.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Bham

Stayed for a wedding, wouldnt return...

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Me & my boyfriend stayed here for two nights for a family wedding. Although I rang up after making my booking, we were placed in the executive suite instead of the mansion house where the rest of the wedding party were staying. This was really inconvenient when meeting up with family ect. After seeing the mansion house rooms i was quite looking forward to checking out our room in the other part of the hotel, but our room wasn't a tenth as good as the ones we had seen. The room was very basic and the bathroom looked like it had come out of a bathroom from a 70s hospital, but not as clean!! The shower leaked, it was dirty & extremely dated. The breakfast in this part of the hotel wasnt nice at all, so the next morning we asked to have breakfast in the mansion house which was better. The hotel reception staff were rude over at the mansion house and we were told that its 'not their fault, what can i do now?' that we were placed into another part of the hotel. The room was red hot in the night making it almost impossible to sleep and we had no aircon & couldnt turn off the radiator. There seemed to be lots of fun things around the hotel to do, rope courses, segway ect but we didnt get chance to do any of them so cant say whether they were any good. Upon checkout they tried to charge £76 for breakfast (two days, two people) so we had to sort that out which was a pain, but they eventually sorted it. In all it was a nice wedding, but the actual hotel and rooms were not impressive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent

Room was fine but ..

Posted Nov 8, 2014
Pros: Rooms were reasonable size and facilities within it fine.
Cons: The bar - see above
Location: ----
Room was fine but the bar facilities and atmosphere in the Executive building were bland, it was cold, and the bar menu unimaginative. Very disappointing. Only discovered the next day that there was a bar in the "older building" which looked as if it had more atmosphere. Food was ordered and the vegetarian ceasar salad arrived - with ANCHOVIES! Bar staff did not seem to appreciate that this made it non-vegetarian! However it was replaced with a veggie version that was not bad.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom b

One night stay

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Like a BMW dealership! Cold and dirty reception area. No personality to this hotel, disappointing for a Devere. Room 210 was tired, rusted wardrobe handles, dirty loo seat. On the back stairs to the rooms there's huge coffee stains up the wall. Litter outside main reception doors. Breakfast was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Older style room

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've stayed at this hotel quite a few times but not recently. The rooms have always been of good quality but this time I seem to be give an older style room which I wasn't impressed by. Very dated, stains on bathroom floor, wall paper coming off. Real shame as I've always enjoyed staying there but would need to think twice before returning again.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Daniellefrom Sydney

Old run down hotel with terrible staff

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel and rooms have definitely seen better days. Everything had a layer of grime on it. Cracks and chips ran throughout the hotel. The buffet breakfast was minimal, expensive and average quality. We stayed as a wedding party and when we went to check in on the Saturday night the bride and groom were told their honeymoon suite (which they had reserved months in advance) had been given away! They then were given a key to another room, which when they got there, already had people in it! Definitely put a sour note to the end of what was a beautiful wedding. While this is obviously a one off disaster, the staff's behaviour on Saturday night and then on Sunday morning when they couple refused to pay for the honeymoon suite was appalling. Would suggest staying somewhere else even if you want to play gold here.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Willfrom Beccles

Not bad but could be better!

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very large grounds, difficult to find the part you need when it is dark. Sound proofing in the rooms was a bit poor More staff than customers in the bar, chatting with each other. Overall, not bad, but could be better.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by MAJIDfrom Lancashire

Nice Location

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good surroundings but room furniture outdated however good view from room and free wifi access. Seminar room route was flooded with water on carpets.Free hot drinks and free computer lounge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels.com