Ratings based on 326 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2015
The room and general areas of the hotel were quite dirty and the staff were so unorganised. I no it's wedding season and there was a wedding on the day we stayed, but all the other guests apart from the wedding party were almost a burdon and in the way. As I had just proposed earlier that day to my misses and wanted to take her for a nice night away I was hugely disappointed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Warrington

Nearly but not quite

Posted Jul 6, 2015
Pros: Free coffee.
Cons: Lots, see above. The experience was far from personal.
Location: Easy access to M4 and Reading.
Queues at reception every time I needed help. Locks not working for the swimming pool. 1/4 of the pool taking up for one persons swimming lesson. Hot bedroom with no air conditioning. Beds on castors so they moved about the room. Lots of corridor noise.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mk

Paper thin walls

Posted Jun 22, 2015
1 There was a wedding on and we weren't told about it in advance. This meant we had to make do with bar food or buffet for the night. 2 The food was not nice. At all. We went for the buffet, which was 15 pound for one course. It was a mish mash of meals all presented to us with no natural combos going on. So we ate half of the over cooked meat and veg and went to the bar instead. I got crabcakes and salad. There were 6 mini crab cakes and at least a bag of rocket strewn about. My gf got the tikka massala which was ok. 3 Eventually got to sleep at 3 am after two complaint calls and the fire alarm went off. 4 Staff were very friendly and cant be faulted for their customer service.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Poor quality, will not be booking again.

Posted May 1, 2015 on Hotels
Very busy hotel, poor quality room. TV not working, extractor fan buzzing all night even when switched off. Reception unable to fix either as no maintenance overnight and no rooms available to swap to. Sleepless night, will not be staying here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ray from Reading

Wokefield

Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
Very enjoyable as always although room could have been more comfortable as pillows lumpy Overall lovely stay though
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jo from Newcastle

Wokefield Park Mansion - not good

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
I wouldn't stay here again. I stayed on business in the mansion house having read negative reviews about the conference centre accommodation. The surroundings are lovely, very picturesque. My reservation wasn't in the system so it took a while to check in. When I got to my room it was minute, so tiny I could barely move around in it with my bags on the floor. I called reception to ask if there was another room option and was told they were fully booked immediately without checking the system for anything. Good job there was a spare room when I turned up without a reservation! The room was tatty, dirty and in need of some serious TLC. No toilet roll on the bathroom so I called for some, it took 2 phone calls to chase it and it arrived an hour later. I asked for a wine glass and a wine bucket to be brought up and that took 45 minutes and 2 phone calls to chase. The bar was closed for "refurbishment" so I ordered room service and chased that after an hour and when it arrived I was told that it would be cold because they'd had to walk it over so therefore there was no charge! Not ideal when I wanted hot food and was willing to pay but as the chef had then gone home I had no other option. It wasn't good. The bathroom floor was so dirty I didn't feel like I could walk on it with bare feet. All in all, not a good stay, I won't be staying again and I won't recommend anyone to stay there either.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Two hotels in one

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
Shame when booking they don't tell you there are two hotels. A shabby conference centre and a grand mansion house. Mansion house looked lovely shame we were in the other hotel. Small rooms needed a good Hoover in the corridor. Generally shabby
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from Potters Bar

Yuck yuck yuck - not a mansion house and dirty

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
Be very ware that the photos of the mansion house on website for Wokefield Park is NOT where we were booked into!! I heard other people complaining because they experienced the same. We were put in a disgusting hotel up the road - dirty, with no character, basically a conference centre with a restaurant and dirty box rooms. Plus BROWN BATH WATER!!! It certainly was NOT the relaxing mansion house hotel break we had planned. Yuck yuck yuck. We arrived mid afternoon and had decided to go all the way home again by 8pm!! Not so much as a call or apology from the front of house manager now 5 days later!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Derek from Beverley

Great stay

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect and the only comment is that the gym is too small for the size of the hotel