Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mk

Paper thin walls

Posted Jun 22, 2015
1 There was a wedding on and we weren't told about it in advance. This meant we had to make do with bar food or buffet for the night. 2 The food was not nice. At all. We went for the buffet, which was 15 pound for one course. It was a mish mash of meals all presented to us with no natural combos going on. So we ate half of the over cooked meat and veg and went to the bar instead. I got crabcakes and salad. There were 6 mini crab cakes and at least a bag of rocket strewn about. My gf got the tikka massala which was ok. 3 Eventually got to sleep at 3 am after two complaint calls and the fire alarm went off. 4 Staff were very friendly and cant be faulted for their customer service.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Two hotels in one

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
Shame when booking they don't tell you there are two hotels. A shabby conference centre and a grand mansion house. Mansion house looked lovely shame we were in the other hotel. Small rooms needed a good Hoover in the corridor. Generally shabby
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lisa from Potters Bar

Yuck yuck yuck - not a mansion house and dirty

Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
Be very ware that the photos of the mansion house on website for Wokefield Park is NOT where we were booked into!! I heard other people complaining because they experienced the same. We were put in a disgusting hotel up the road - dirty, with no character, basically a conference centre with a restaurant and dirty box rooms. Plus BROWN BATH WATER!!! It certainly was NOT the relaxing mansion house hotel break we had planned. Yuck yuck yuck. We arrived mid afternoon and had decided to go all the way home again by 8pm!! Not so much as a call or apology from the front of house manager now 5 days later!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Derek from Beverley

Great stay

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Perfect and the only comment is that the gym is too small for the size of the hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Get what you pay for!

Posted Mar 3, 2015
Pros: Free drinks machines
Cons: Needs big revamp, especially corridors.
Location: Easy to find and plenty of parking.
Don't choose this hotel if you want a good nights sleep. Thin walls and poor sound insulation mean you can hear everything. Was constantly being woken up by people marching up and down the corridors. Ear plugs a must!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Chris from Southampton

Not happy!!!

Posted Feb 17, 2015 on Hotels
Have stayed here a few times, but after this stay I would never go back again Very dissapointed!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Kevin from Shewood Forest

Getting shabby

Posted Feb 15, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is getting a bit tired and could do with a good "spruce up" as its getting a bit shabby. On arrival, the shaver socket (used for charging my tooth brush) did not work and the neither did the kettle. Although both were fixed its the sort of detail that is all to common in big hotels. Room and bedding etc was clean, but overall a bit sparse. Signs of a "hard life" on many of the fittings. The small gym no longer has a rowing machine, and although there is a pool and sauna, there is no steam room. Free Wi-fi is usable. The quiet spot is a great relief from busy Reading.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

OK stay

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel looking a little tired and buffet style dinner
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Birmingham

Don't expect more when u pay for an executive room

Posted Jan 18, 2015 on Hotels
Was moved rooms three times due to a number of problem. Paid for the executive room and could not tell the different between standard double. Poor quality!