Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Reception staff needs a basic customer service training, the rooms would do with a carpet / furniture change and the swimming pool 'rules' should be flexible!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HEMEL HEMPSTEAD

A fab weekend retreat!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: Evrything
Cons: Nothing
Location: The fox and hounds pub nearby serves a very good lunch and dinner.
The room was superbly - very comfortable with amazing view over the golf course. The bathroom was first class with lovely fittings and perfectly clean. We spent a long time I the spa area - the pool, steam room and aroma room were really good - everywhere was lovely and clean. There is a really good service around the pool and we had an amazing cream tea which was really lovely - hot scones fresh clotted cream and a large selection of jams. The breakfast selection was very good with the opportunity to select special dishes for a small extra charge but the standard breakfast comprised of fruit, healthy smoothies, fish, seeds, cereals and the usual full English. The service was very good and the staff extremely welcoming, We will definitely return and probably for longer next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Has potential needs improvement

Posted Apr 29, 2015
On arrival at the hotel, it looked pleasant and welcoming. Checked in at hotel and asked if there was two people staying which i said yes. She then said oh, i will need to find a double room then. This took about 3-4mins and eventually got allocated a room which was the disabled room. The bed was extremely uncomfortable. Even to sit on it sank and did not get a good night sleep. Decided to have dinner in the restaurant which has a lovely feel and great wine menu, shame about the service. Ordered food and when asked if the chicken came with veg i was told some. The some veg turned out to be a grilled tomatoes flat mushroom. No sauce with the chicken and a heap of potato wedges. Overall disappointed, but could potentially be a lovely hotel with a high standard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but room service a little disappointing

Posted Feb 23, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is lovely, the rooms comfortable and the facilities available excellent. I was a little disappointed that I was unable to get through to room service on the phone despite trying for 15 mins. In the end I had to call reception and place my order there, which defeats the objective of having a separate number.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and Spa

Posted Feb 20, 2015
Booked this hotel as it was a good rate. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely recommend this hotel. Spa was clean, although busy as it was half term. My only issue was we booked a double and but we're given twin beds on wheels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from San Jose, CA

Disappointed

Posted Jan 29, 2015 on Hotels
I reserved/confirmed a "Classic Double" room which offers a double or king bed, but I was put into a Twin room with the smallest single bed I've ever slept in. As a business traveler arriving on a red-eye I was more focused on showering and starting my business and didn't mention check my room confirmation until later that night. When I mentioned this to the staff the next day expecting some type of apology I was simply told I reserved a room and got a room for a single person, even though their own website shows the difference. Also the hotel was completely booked anyway. This is the second time that I've had this issue of switched room types while using Hotels.com, and I'm wondering if this is something hotels do with prepaid reservations since they can't issue credits for differences. Separately, this is a very noise sensitive hotel. Being very tired a the end of a long day, I was awakened shortly after falling asleep by noisy guests in the hallway (not really the hotel's fault but highlights the lack of insulation). But then I was treated to hearing both sides of a phone conversation from the room next door due to the poor quality and non-insulated connecting door between the rooms. I wouldn't stay here again unless I really needed to and would then be very careful when checking in to ensure the room was adequate.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great facilities but do not eat there

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Room size. Children friendly. SPA
Cons: Restaurant
We have stayed for 2 nights and the room, hotel itself and SPA is great. But do not use the restaurant. The food is appaling. Every dish we ordered was terrible. The waiting staff is completely unorganised. A total shambles when it comes to the restaurant.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Not worth the money.

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
A short 2 night stay spoilt by extraordinarily expensive restaurant (£30 steak and £15 breakfast). Room was average and service in the restaurant rather poor.