Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from S

Fancy hotel, not so great staff

Posted Aug 16, 2014
My partner and I recently stayed at the Hilton Newbury, and being younger clients than they are usually probably used to (both 20) and instantly felt judged entering the check in area by the duty manager. To such an extent we actually left and put on nicer clothes (we weren't by any means scruffy, but were in more comfortable clothes for a 4 hour drive). After waiting for an hour for our suite to be ready, we got to chat to the bar staff, all of who were lovely. room 140 was amazing, as it covers 2 floors and tastefully decorated. However 2 light bulbs did not work, and neither did the 2 mini fridges (i wasn't prepared to move the cupboards to check the plugs). Room cleaning was very slow, we left by 9 am every day, and on 2 occasions returned at 6pm for various reasons, and on both times our room hadn't been touched. They didnt actually get to our room until 7pm, which i felt was not very good, especially as we were in a suite room. After for going to front desk for a few other things, such as tea bags (as we had no room cleaning that day) we quickly felt once again that we were not welcome by the managers. essentially its a very nice hotel, other than the 2 managers we met and the room cleaning. Bar staff were great, especially the gentleman with the European accent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Comfortable hotel

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Lovely quiet, clean & comfortable room and great food.
Cons: Soap in the bathroom would be the only thing.
Location: We stayed here for British Superbikes at Thruxton Circuit, which was only 35mins drive away, so would definitely consider staying here again.
A lovely hotel, well signed & easy to find. Friendly & helpful staff. Delicious food & good room service. Comfortable & clean room - only small issue was no soap in the bathroom, so we had to use the small bottles of shower gel to wash our hands.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Zurich

Newbury City Hotel.

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: The reception, front desk staff were extremely friendly and very helpful.
Cons: I thought the hotel was looking a bit tired, the carpets in the corridors need replacing, and a general deep clean, freshen up would be good.
Overall a good experience, so very noisy neighbours, banging doors etc, but that is just bad luck. Staff at the hotel excellent, but thought the hotel was a bit 'tired'.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Just don't

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Boiling hot room (despite not being a hot day). No extractor in bathroom. No air con. Window didn't open. Old dirty carpet. Slept in car, awaiting refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Friendly hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The staff and the price of the room.
Cons: The hotel did smell stuffy. I did wonder to begin with that it smelt if cigarette smoke but I don't it was that however, the air conditioning could be
Location: Location was next to lots of large shops and easy to get into town.
The hotel staff were immediately friendly and helpful and continued to provide an excellent service. The room was clean although not a good view from the window, and clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good with a great variety of food products to choose from and again the staff were attentive and polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from scotland

nice hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
nice hotel our room was in need of a bit of maintenance the toilet had a musty odour about it and the room could do with a bit of redecorating as it was a bit worse for wear, also there is no lift for the upper rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good position

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Reception very helpful. Breakfast very good selection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by charles O from london

charles omoighe

Posted May 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
pleasant
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Peach from Rugby

Very Cofortable

Posted May 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff were welcoming and attentive. My room was very comfortable and clean. I ate from the a la carte menu and the food was very good although I had hoped to have a fish dish but due to a coach party and buffet dinner being provided that was not possible. A pity it was behind a shopping park as there was no where to really walk for a breathe of fresh air. Also surprised at the cost of the bottle of water in the room - quite extortionate!