Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holland

Much more tranquille than you'd suspect

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Lovely room. Great that our room had an iron and iron table (sorry for probably poor English, I'm Dutch). Kind personel who printed out my speech.
Cons: Bed was hard, but slept well. What missed was a means to hang my ties in the cupboard.
Location: Very near to shops. And close by enough to have a wonderful wedding at Hoghclere Castle.
Two nights stay. We were there for a marriage in Highclere Castle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not in the centre of Newbury. Taxi required

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Hotel is a bit tired and could do with a refurbishment. Breakfast was very nice but other dining options were a bit expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Close to Newbury itself but staff weren't friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stella from London

Perfect for an overnighter

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The staff, plenty of room in the twin room I had and easy to use facilities.
Cons: Free wifi throughout. the hotel. (If it's available, it's not obvious. But I don't think it is.)
Location: There's a large supermarket and industrial estate in walking distance. You'd have to drive to a cinema or other restaurant though.
This is a good hotel in a central location that is easy to find your way to and from. Overall it's got a corporate vibe and is obviously much more of a conference-type venue than holiday choice, but for my purposes for a reasonable night to stay in transit between two locations, it was just right. Also the staff are really nice and friendly and helpful, which always helps. I enjoyed the breakfast (fairly typical hotel fayre but good and plentiful).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sammy from London

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an excellent stay felt very welcome would defo come again had the perfect new year x
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ziggy from Toronto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 1985mikebrown from Swindon

Ask for an upgraded room

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Some rooms are very dated at this hotel, but if you ask for an upgraded room, you will be very happy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Central location for a meeting

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We received very good service at every stage of booking a meeting room and lunch afterwards in this centrally located hotel.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sparrow1234 from england

Hilton could do better!

Posted Nov 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed in a number of Hilton hotels and this was by far the worst. The public area was fine but my room was quite shabby. The bath panel was rotting at the bottom, the tissues had just been stuffed in the box, the grout was grubby in places. In the bedroom the wallpaper was coming off the walls near the radiator, there were some stains and black scuff marks on the walls, scratches on the furniture. The hairdryer didn't work and one of the three downlighters in the bathroom needed replacing (I didn't mention this at the time in fairness as had already complained about the state of the room - I was told they would have upgraded me but the hotel was full). It really does need refurbishing. Certainly didn't feel like good value for money at £135!