Ratings based on 148 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Just don't

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Boiling hot room (despite not being a hot day). No extractor in bathroom. No air con. Window didn't open. Old dirty carpet. Slept in car, awaiting refund.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herefordshire

Friendly hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The staff and the price of the room.
Cons: The hotel did smell stuffy. I did wonder to begin with that it smelt if cigarette smoke but I don't it was that however, the air conditioning could be
Location: Location was next to lots of large shops and easy to get into town.
The hotel staff were immediately friendly and helpful and continued to provide an excellent service. The room was clean although not a good view from the window, and clean with a comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good with a great variety of food products to choose from and again the staff were attentive and polite.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Thomas from scotland

nice hotel

Posted Jul 1, 2014
nice hotel our room was in need of a bit of maintenance the toilet had a musty odour about it and the room could do with a bit of redecorating as it was a bit worse for wear, also there is no lift for the upper rooms.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Newcastle

Not what I expected

Posted May 6, 2014
Pros: well decorated. convenient location.
Cons: room quality and room cleanliness.
Location: easy access to surrounding town. plenty of nice bars/restaurants near by. we travelled to Thruxton race circuit.
upon arriving the hotel looked beautiful and i was looking forward to our stay. once inside the entrance was grand and well decorated. However, when we were eventually booked into the correct room we found the room to be very dark as it had no over head lighting. The bathroom had three spot lights all over the sink, non over the bath and only two worked. the mirrors were dirty and still had writing on them from a previous guest. further more the bed was extremely hard and the whole room and area down the corridor had a very fishy smell. not very enjoyably at all. there was a wedding on at the time we stayed so the usual drunken antics were expected however people running up and down the corridor at 0200hrs for 40 mins was a bit much. on the sat night we asked the staff for a wake up call at 0800hrs. our phone rang at 0500hrs to wake us. after all this we decided to complain to the manager on at the time, he offered his apologies and offered us a free night. along as we took it before a certain date and that it was took in that hotel. needless to say we will NOT be returning to that hotel as its nearly 6 hrs drive from our home.
3 out of 5
by Jonny from Barrow-in-Furness

Staff lovely but tired rooms

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: The staff were extremely friendly and attentive and nothing was too much trouble to help. Hotel is a good location for Newbury.
Cons: The bedrooms! I expected more from a Hilton hotel and was dissappointed with the dated decor and general look of the rooms.
Location: Location is approx. 1.5 miles from Newbury centre and within easy walking distance of town centre amenities and racecourse.
The hotel on first arrival looked excellent and the downstairs rooms (bar, restaurant etc) were very clean and spacious. However, the bedrooms need updating and look very worn and tired with holes in the walls and out of date furniture. It was claean though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Holland

Much more tranquille than you'd suspect

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Lovely room. Great that our room had an iron and iron table (sorry for probably poor English, I'm Dutch). Kind personel who printed out my speech.
Cons: Bed was hard, but slept well. What missed was a means to hang my ties in the cupboard.
Location: Very near to shops. And close by enough to have a wonderful wedding at Hoghclere Castle.
Two nights stay. We were there for a marriage in Highclere Castle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not in the centre of Newbury. Taxi required

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Hotel is a bit tired and could do with a refurbishment. Breakfast was very nice but other dining options were a bit expensive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Close to Newbury itself but staff weren't friendly
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Stella from London

Perfect for an overnighter

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: The staff, plenty of room in the twin room I had and easy to use facilities.
Cons: Free wifi throughout. the hotel. (If it's available, it's not obvious. But I don't think it is.)
Location: There's a large supermarket and industrial estate in walking distance. You'd have to drive to a cinema or other restaurant though.
This is a good hotel in a central location that is easy to find your way to and from. Overall it's got a corporate vibe and is obviously much more of a conference-type venue than holiday choice, but for my purposes for a reasonable night to stay in transit between two locations, it was just right. Also the staff are really nice and friendly and helpful, which always helps. I enjoyed the breakfast (fairly typical hotel fayre but good and plentiful).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sammy from London

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had an excellent stay felt very welcome would defo come again had the perfect new year x