Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Clean, convenient with comfortable bed

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Convenient to town
Cons: Would benefit from air con. There was no one on site and no information given when booked on how to access the room key
We had difficulty finding the place, as the sat nav kept sending us down bus only routes. Fortunately we had access to google maps. I had requested twin beds, but on arrival found a double bed. After contacting the owner, a single fold up bed was delivered quickly. There is no parking available close by, which was a disadvantage. Some information on where to park, when booking would be useful. The room was clean, nicely decorated and the bed comfortable, with a good shower. There was no air con, but a fan was provided. It was, however too noisy to leave on at night and the room was very hot. The breakfast was very good in the cafe below the building.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst

Posted Jul 9, 2014
No clean towels. No room service for beds. When I complained the woman said I asked not to have clean linens. SHOULD NOT BE RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City-centre bolt-hole

Posted Jun 29, 2014
Location: 400m Reading mainline station & city centre
"Hotel" is a bit of a misnomer - there is no reception as such after 15:00, when the cafe downstairs closes. Instead, you'll be sent an e-mail giving you the code to access your room key from a box. The room was small, but clean and with all the facilities you want, and the two ladies in the cafe very professional in providing breakfast for those staying as well as those coming in just to buy sandwiches etc. for work. So cost-effective and quite acceptable for that "need to stay somewhere decent" trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Goudie from Cornwall

Frequent customer.

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Very handy for Reading Station, and the Heathrow Bus. Great breakfast, love the wall paintings. The staff are extremely obliging.
Cons: The rooms could be bigger, as mentioned above, but there's nothing you can do about that, and for a one night stay after a tiring journey, it's fine.
Location: Location excellent, and Reading is a great place to eat and shop.
My wife and I often use La Baguette overnight when travelling to Heathrow. The rooms are pretty small, but it's amazingly quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Inexpensive and convenient location

Posted Feb 24, 2014
Very good price, and central location in Reading make this a good choice. Includes full breakfast too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by mjlouis from Fareham

La Baguette

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for 5 nights in December, initially due to the price and location. I found this to be a very good B&B which couldn't be much more central in Reading. It's also excellently placed for anyone on a course at the nearby QA training facility - about 6 minutes walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by R from West Midlands

Very convenient for Reading Station

Posted Nov 24, 2013
A very quick overnight stay as I landed at Heathrow too late for the last train home and staying at Reading made more sense than overnight at Heathrow. Decor not great, but the room had everything that was needed and at only a couple of minutes from the RailAir bus terminal, it was perfectly located. Breakfast in the cafe was OK and as I was in a hurry they put my hot drink in a take-away cup that I could take to the train, which was good. It was ideal for the purpose, inexpensive, and I would be happy to stay there again on a similar trip.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kjell Dahle

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Trevor P from Hastings

Small but comfy

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
Day started badly with e-mail from La Baguette telling me they had double booked and my stay was cancelled, followed by another three minutes later telling me it was a mistake. Stayed in a single room, very small but comfy enough. As frequently reported about this hotel, the TV does not work. For the benefit of the owners, the mains cable has a break just where it enters the plug. Cut 2 inches off and fit a new plug and it will be fine! Plus features of this hotel are location, great breakfast and friendly staff in the cafe.