Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southend On Sea

Lovely hotel with lovely helpful staff

Posted Aug 26, 2014
We enjoyed this hotel, the staff are very friendly and because of that we booked another night. The food was very nice and well presented. Special thanks to Martin (restaurant) and Rachael (reception).
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kay from London

Leisure break

Posted Jul 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent faultless can't wait to stay again ...
5 out of 5
Recommended
by jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
Service was subpar from reception (upon arrival)to the bar ( difficult to get order made, difficult to get check ) wiFi was out for several hours! Also, I had to correct the final bar bill in favor of the hotel. Should be substantially better
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by albion51 from Perth

Overpriced

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
We chose The Berystede simply because of it's location. It was okay but the size of the bathroom was minute. The hotel wasn't busy the night of our stay so we couldn't work out why we had to do a route march to the room and why they would put you in a room with such a small bathroom. It was a so-called Classic which was £160 with breakfast. Not worth it.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by KHC from Cardiff

Beautiful character but room noisy & poor food

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful hotel in lovely setting but room I had was next to main road and the window wouldn't shut which made it very noisy. The room was very small too. I ordered room service both nights - the meals were cold both nights even though when I ordered on the second night I mentioned this. Given how expensive the food is I think this is awful especially when pointed out the first time. When I checked out I metioned these things and they took the room service fee that they add to the food bill off - anther 10 pounds - but I wouold rather they got it right in the first place. Warning there are lots of other charges including £3 for using a credit card which you wouldnt expect. If it werent for the food and the noise I would stay again but this put me off.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Gareth from UK

Decent enough

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
In general this was a very pleasant hotel. The spa and spa facilities were generally excellent - lovely size swimming pool with outdoor hot pool; sauna, steam room etc. the room we had was situated in one of the new extensions and was slightly small but the bathroom was the real disappointment - cramped and tiny with old fittings and a shower that to all intents and purposes did not work. The other let down was the noise. The doors were very thin so let all the corridor noise in. Without exaggeration we did not sleep until 4am as groups of guests headed to their rooms after various parties and functions. It was unfortunately not the relaxing spa break we were after. The breakfasts on the other hand were generally delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for a night

Posted May 11, 2014
Pleasant stay not cheap though, didn't use spa or eat
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great leisure/spa facilities

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wet leisure areas very good - especially the spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Martin from West Sussex

Lovely relaxing break, spa was brilliant

Posted May 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel and the staff were brilliant. Staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant eg changing pillows. The spa was fantastic, you were provided with towels as you entered the spa where there was a large enough pool, hot pool which also led to outside where there were jets and spraying water which was great. Also inside, there were a number of saunas, an ice igloo and different showers. We went to the spa a lot and it was never too busy. There were certain times for families which made it better, it was just a shame that the spa closed earlier at the weekends. The hotel had a smarter restaurant and also a bar with a good menu which you could order anywhere around the reception area. The food from the bar was amazing quality and we were very satisfied, great tasting and large portions. Our room was in good condition and just as expected, the grounds were wonderful and they had a number of games out such as badminton and swingball which was good fun. Overall a brilliant break and would highly recommend.