Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Heart of town

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: It was quaint
Cons: needs a lift
Quick and good.Nice building and the bar was good. Location excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

old property with excellent location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: given the age of the hotel it is hard to see what you might improve
Location: very central
very acceptable. This hotel has lots of corridors and creaky floorboards, but location is excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan88

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by mumintown from Leicester

Very handy for shops!

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I only stayed one night, room only as I was visiting family for a short weekend. I decided to stay in the centre so I could do some shopping. For this purpose it was just the job! The single bed, though soft for my liking, was surprisingly comfortable. My room was a good size for 1 and quiet which was brilliant! (read the reports of the noise) Bathroom was really nice too. Parts of the hotel looked a bit 'tired' but overall a good night and would stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst stay ever

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Hot stuffy room no airflow. Asked for a fan and was told one would be brought to my room. Didn't come so asked someone else and they told me that they don't have fans and that I will have to deal with it. Also tiny shower, a slim person can barely fit in it!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient, but not as historic as claimed.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
The building is supposed to date back to 1423. I'm sure reception does, but the back part of the hotel where the rooms are can be depressingly "modern". My room was right at the back and appeared to be taken straight out of a Travelodge. It was fairly comfortable and functional, but rather let down the whole image of the hotel. The owners should do more to make the place look and feel historic. However, it was right in the town centre, so very convenient for shopping and rail access and the car park was very nearby with well controlled pricing. The staff were the real highlight of the stay: very helpful and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel located close to all the amenities friendly staff and reasonably priced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
You have to make allowances for older buildings, but be warned this is a maze of corridors leading to equally tired looking rooms. Breakfast OK - nothing to write home about. Location excellent, except for unavoidable noise in night from vehicles, people etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall good standard for an excellent room only rate, minimal hot water from shower but bath red hot, clean and quiet