Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Close to station, high street, bars, friendly staff at good price
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

In the genre of town

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: Close to town
Cons: Tea and coffee in rooms
Location: Great location for town centre.
Great value for money . Hotel is in the centre of town.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Central but noisy and cramped

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The food was nice, the staff were good too. The room was crap, very warm not sound proof and needed a fan or A/C.
Cons: Better rooms
Location: It was central and it was well located, walking distance to most things in Reading including loud music.
I was put in one of the worst rooms in the hotel, it was close to a bar that never seemed to shut. I couldn't have the window open due to the noise and when I called down to reception at 12 midnight to ask for a fan I was told that he was too busy, this really annoyed me, we all have our problems buddy but one of mine is Im paying to stay here. 1 hour later I called back and did get my fan about 10 mins later. On my 2nd night I was still awake at 2.33am due to the noise. Both nights I woke soaked with sweat, the room was that warm. Needless to say I wont stay here again, not even if there were super cheap rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Heart of town

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: It was quaint
Cons: needs a lift
Quick and good.Nice building and the bar was good. Location excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

old property with excellent location

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: given the age of the hotel it is hard to see what you might improve
Location: very central
very acceptable. This hotel has lots of corridors and creaky floorboards, but location is excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Business traveler from UK

Great location, bad internet connection

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Terrible internet connection, no AC in the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dan88

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by mumintown from Leicester

Very handy for shops!

Posted Apr 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
I only stayed one night, room only as I was visiting family for a short weekend. I decided to stay in the centre so I could do some shopping. For this purpose it was just the job! The single bed, though soft for my liking, was surprisingly comfortable. My room was a good size for 1 and quiet which was brilliant! (read the reports of the noise) Bathroom was really nice too. Parts of the hotel looked a bit 'tired' but overall a good night and would stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst stay ever

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Hot stuffy room no airflow. Asked for a fan and was told one would be brought to my room. Didn't come so asked someone else and they told me that they don't have fans and that I will have to deal with it. Also tiny shower, a slim person can barely fit in it!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 3, 2014 on Hotels.com