Ratings based on 126 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Great stay

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Pros: Character of the building, professional staff, huge breakfast
Cons: Nothing
Location: City centre of reading. Loads of shops (if you like that sort of thing)
Lovely quirky place to stay, old building with wonky floors and lots of character. Superb breakfast, huge choice of different foods. Staff were extremely impressive and professional, would definately stay again if I'm in reading. As it was in central reading, city centre was on the doorstep. Very very happy with my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idah Falls, ID

Very Historical Building in Central Reading

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Nice updated bar, quaint plod building
Location: Located in downtown Reading. Close to mall, shopping and many restaurants and pubs. Also a five minute walk to train station.
Very odd building layout and courtyard due to its 500+ year age. Fantastic if one enjoys historical buildings. All amenities for a vacation traveller. Not sure it would work for a business traveller but does have free wifi.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Lovely olde English hotel in Reading

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Very much enjoyed our stay here. Close to amenities, shops and railway station.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good value for money

Posted May 22, 2015
Pros: Close to town centre. Helpful staff.
Although the floor is creaky and the room are not so large, considering the rates charged and the proximity to the town centre, the hotel is not bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 14, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ERIC from Coye la Foret

Pourrait être meiux

Posted Apr 11, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel suitué en plein centre ville. Charme de l'ancien avec aussi quelques défauts liés à l'ancien. Manque d'entretien..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Richard from St Peter Port

Good Location

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
Here for a 2 night break to meet up and catch a rugby match. Nice old ,coaching inn with all the creaks that come with such an old building. Comfortable stay, friendly staff, good night porter who welcomed us at midnight after a much delayed ferry crossing. Bathroom a bit tight!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good central location.

Posted Mar 24, 2015
The hotel was nice, very central and food was good. Only disappointing thing was that the room was very cold. I turned the radiator to it's highest to see if it would come on, but no joy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Frederick from California

Enjoyed my stay

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
I chose the hotel after reading mixed reviews and deciding that I liked the fact that I'd be staying in the oldest building in Reading. Sure, the floors squeak when people walk but once you realize you are staying in a historic building, if you can't take that, don't stay there. I found the George to be in very good shape, being a landmark, and yes, I could hear footsteps on the ceiling above my room. I stayed two nights. The room was comfortable, the staff friendly and helpful and the setting, for me, was special. Had no problem sleeping. I tried to imagine myself there centuries earlier. It's in a pleasant area of shopping and dining to explore on foot. I would definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Peter from Leeds

Good value

Posted Feb 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very good single room but interior in places could do with touch up in a few places. Good value, fantastic location and polite service. Would recommend.