Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst stay ever

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Hot stuffy room no airflow. Asked for a fan and was told one would be brought to my room. Didn't come so asked someone else and they told me that they don't have fans and that I will have to deal with it. Also tiny shower, a slim person can barely fit in it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very convenient, but not as historic as claimed.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
The building is supposed to date back to 1423. I'm sure reception does, but the back part of the hotel where the rooms are can be depressingly "modern". My room was right at the back and appeared to be taken straight out of a Travelodge. It was fairly comfortable and functional, but rather let down the whole image of the hotel. The owners should do more to make the place look and feel historic. However, it was right in the town centre, so very convenient for shopping and rail access and the car park was very nearby with well controlled pricing. The staff were the real highlight of the stay: very helpful and polite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel located close to all the amenities friendly staff and reasonably priced
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Just OK

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
You have to make allowances for older buildings, but be warned this is a maze of corridors leading to equally tired looking rooms. Breakfast OK - nothing to write home about. Location excellent, except for unavoidable noise in night from vehicles, people etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall good standard for an excellent room only rate, minimal hot water from shower but bath red hot, clean and quiet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irvine from Stirling

Wi-fi

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: central to shops/cafes/bars/rail staton etc. Staff v helpful
Cons: free wi-fi!!!
Overall the hotel was fine, comfortable and clean. Staff very helpful. However, a frequent issue when booking hotels online is they advertise free wi-fi in your room, then when you get there it turns out you have to pay for it. This was the case with this hotel too. Very annoying, as I am usually on a business trip (as I was this time) when staying in hotels, and require internet access to work. In this day and age I think it is absolutley shocking customers should be charged for wi-fi at all when staying in hotels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 26, 2013
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Clive and Julie from Shropshire

Character Hotel in Central Location

Posted Nov 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
We used the Mercure George during a recent visit to see family in Reading. This hotel is ideally located for shopping and public transport. The staff were friendly, the room well stocked with complimentary toiletries and tea/coffee. The bed was comfortable and quiet despite the hotel's central location in a busy town. The breakfast and afternoon brunch were superb. We would recommend this hotel to others and will use again in the future
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by becky from southampton

shopping weekend

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: being close to shops and restaurants,really like the style of the building, very quaint
Cons: being able to turn heating off in room
Location: location brilliant, lots of shops, cafes, restaurants and pubs, walking distance to hexagon
hotel was very clean and welcoming, brilliant for shopping as so close to oracle centre, staff are all really lovely and polite, i would definately stay again and reccomend to other people
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Nigel from Nottingham

Decent hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was very comfortable, and clean. Only issue was one of the tea cups was not quite clean. Can confirm squeaky floorboards, and plenty of stairs, but this has to expected in an old building. Hotel receptionist should not leave reservation paperwork on the reception counter, as this is confidential. Also, receptionist should not answer the telephone when a guest is waiting - those present should take preference.