Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mummy P from Yorkshire

Central location

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location and facilities.
Cons: There was a strange smell from the water and the sink drain in the bathroom. The air conditioning was not very effective and noisy.
Location: Good location in the centre of the city. We visited Windsor which is about half an hour away by car and Henley on Thames which is a bit nearer.
Stayed for two nights whilst visiting relatives nearby. The hotel was very central to Reading and was used as a base for sightseeing around the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mxxx from Ireland

Fab hotel in the centre of Reading

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Booked this hotel for a weekend break and was delighted with it. Right in the centre of Reading close to all shops, bars, restaurants etc. I didn't book breakfast as I thought I might like a lie-in next morning, but there are lots of cafes within walking distance where you can get a breakfast.The room was spotless with both a bath and a shower in the en-suite. Staff could not have been more helpful. Delighted to have found this hotel & will definitely use it for all future stays in Reading :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jones's from Porthcawl

City centre hotel well located for shops

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Oracle shopping centre close to railway station
Good clean comfortable city centre hotel. Rather noisy due to group of people out to party until late in the night who obviously ha no consideration for other guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shakes65 from Reading

Good hotel in the centre of Reading

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Breakfast (via room service) was lovely.
Cons: As per my 3 points above
Location: Excellent location if you are looking for pubs/clubs/trains/buses in Reading
Ideal hotel in the centre of Reading but little things in the room let it down slightly. 1. Only 2 pillows in the room between 2 of us 2. Shower not great 3. Quite noisy air conditioning
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Staff excellent. Executive room good.

Posted Feb 10, 2014
Pros: Staff, location, room
Cons: Fitness facility
Location: Located in close proximity to rail station. Lots of shops, restaurants and pubs in close proximity.
I've stayed twice at this hotel and both times upgraded to the executive rooms (so I don't know their standard rooms). The exec room is well appointed, modern and conducive to getting work done or relaxing. Location of the hotel is ideal with its proximity to the rail station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from Middlesex

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Very good value for money, clean and well run
Cons: It would be nice to have spa treatments available
Location: Right in the city centre, close to many shops, restaurants, cinema and theatre
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by COLIN W from CARLISLE

GREAT LOCATION

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
SPOT ON HOTLE WOULD VISIT AGAIN BREAKFAST EXPENSIVE ONLY DOWN SIDE 18 POUNDS FOR BREAKFAST WOW GREAT BARS AND EATING HOUSES NEAR BY
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Novotel Reading is right in the centre of town which makes it very easy to get around. It is within a 5 minute walk of the train station and even with large heavy bags the walk was easy. The hotel is clean and tidy, but the room was quite small. It was fine for a night but any longer than that and you may find you need a bit more space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PC from Bedford

Great Hotel

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is centrally located for anyone staying in Reading and is well appointed with good leisure facilities. Little touches like an x-box and internet point in the lobby are good, along with the fact that an iron and board are available in every room (I have no idea why hotels dont all do this). Breakfast is plentiful in choice and of very good quality.The hotel is right beside the train station and there are very regular services to Paddington, so staying here in order to commute to London is a real alternative to overpaying for a London Hotel.The only downside is off-site parking, but it is close and you do get a discount from the hotel. The manager is extremely approachable and a small issue that we had when checking in was soon resolved by him and his team. A Highly recommended hotel