Ratings based on 297 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco

Meh... not so great

Posted Dec 13, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: A lot
My room was so hot that I needed the windows open 24/7 AND a fan. No refrigerator in the room which is not good. The elevator was ridiculously slow and the service in the bar crap.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2014 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your review. I was sorry to read that you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. I will share your comments with the management team for resolutions on the areas you feel we could have been better in. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again and am sure your experience will be far more positive. Best wishes, James Gardiner - Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Clean and convienent location

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Cons: Better sound insulation from outside noise
A warm welcome at check in. Room noise an issue due to rowdy people outside not the fault of the hotel. Parking at Qpark a short walk away and discounted to £5 with voucher from hotel very welcome. I was expecting free internet as shown when booking but beware it's free for only 1hour after that about £9 for 24 hours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marttifrom Jyväskylä

Ensi kertaa Readingissa

Posted Oct 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Toinen hissi ei toiminut, välillä ruuhkaa. Hyvällä paikalla kävelykadun päässä. Rauhallinen hotelli
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lisbon

Great hotel to relax in the middle of town

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: The rooms are very warm and comfortable, with good bathrooms and showers, free wireless, and the staff is very friendly and always available to help.
Cons: Only one elevator in use, takes to much time to get in an elevator and exit.
Location: It is near the Oracle Center, and the city center. Great location for a walk around the city.
Been here two times and i would still recommend this hotel. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, the king size bed a plus. Great place to relax, enjoy a good service, great food and a fantastic bar/lounge for the evening time. I will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Dodgefrom Cheshire

Good all round package

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed here before and will do so again. It's well located for shops, bars and restaurants. All the staff we had dealings with we're fine and friendly, rooms good, breakfast is superb. The bar is a great place to meet and spend a couple of hours. The only real downside was that the communal areas in the hotel are all far too hot and stuffy. Bedrooms were fine because could be easily temperature controlled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Ok for short stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
moved here for work relocation on the recomendation of work. Had two weeks in the hotel. Overall the room was ok. no fridge or microwave so had no way option but to eat out and no way to keep food/drink in the room was annoying. i think for a long stay such as this I probably would go elsewhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by ADRIANfrom Derby

Hot!

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was like a sauna, air con not working, very uncomfortable nights sleep. Reception seemed not too interested when I reported this at check out.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Slitet hotell med usel internetuppkoppling

Posted Oct 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
Jag har vid flera tillfällen bott på pentahotel i Reading, men denna gång blir nog den sista. Hotellet är i behov av en renovering. Den wifi uppkoppling som erbjuds kostnadsfritt har en fläckvis täckning och fungerar endast i 30 minuter innan man behöver göra en ny inloggning, under dessa 30 minuter är prestandan så pass dålig att det knappt går att skicka e-post. Endast en hiss fungerade på hotellet. Servicen generellt var under all kritik, det kändes som personalen var rätt så ointresserad av att ta hand om sina kunder, kö till receptionen trots att antalet personal översteg antalet kunder, frukostbuffé som inte fylldes på osv.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Benfrom London

Generally a really nice hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel itself is really nice, the staff are very friendly and helpful, the finish of the decor and downstairs bar area is of a good standard. The room was very comfy, if slightly small, really comfy big bed. The only 2 negatives would be that I expected a wet room (from the photos) and got a walk-in shower, wasn't made clear in the room description at the time of booking. The other thing is that as my first time in reading and I wasn't impressed with the local area/ nightlife isn't great, seems those that those that like to get drunk and fight would love it, worth note but not anything to do with the hotel itself.