Ratings based on 327 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 24, 2015
Comfortable stay. Great location. Terrible wifi. Staff experience was not consistent but generally a great place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Devon

Great stay for central Reading

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Pros: Loved the bar area and breakfast was absolutely lovely. Beautifully laid out and great choice. Car parking was handy. great bathroom toiletries - cute
Cons: The knowledge of the bar staff to make the drinks advertised on the drinks menu. The irish coffee was not great and took ages for an earl grey tea!
Location: Easy to find and ideal for shopping or getting to Reading railway station.
We were attending our daughters graduation ceremony at U of R and we stayed the night before as we needed to be at the ceremony by 8.30am! The hotel reception staff were very welcoming and most efficient and check in was straightforward.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwick

Good hotel, friendly staff, pleasant room

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Staff, room and breakfast
Location: We enjoyed walks along the Thames paths - even in Reading itself, walks along Thames and Kennet with good pubs.
A good base for a long weekend in the area. Excellent breakfasts and close to Reading centre and amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Daniel from Annapolis, Maryland

Best stay in Reading

Posted Apr 29, 2015 on Hotels
I've been to Reading numerous times for work. The Penta by far is the best place to stay for price, atmosphere, location, and service! Friendly staff, prompt greeting, and excellent room. The lobby and lounge are inviting and re staff are attentive. The bar is open 24 hours and they have talented bar tenders. The breakfast buffet is amazing and a must.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from crawley

Nice hotel in town centre

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The location was very central, and the hotel looked well maintained and very clean.
Cons: I couldn't say that anything needed improving from my experience.
Location: Good shopping, lots of restaurants to choose from.
On check in the reception staff were welcoming and helpful, the room was spacious and very clean, the decor was modern. The beds were very comfortable and the room had everything required. The bathroom was modern and the rain shower was great. Overall it was a very pleasurable stay and I would definitely stay there again and recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lennart from Bromma

Pentahotell

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
Centralt hotell med bra service. Rummet låg mot motorvägen och var dåligt isolerat (hög ljudvolym från bilarna). Luftkonditioneringen fungerade inte.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Great if you like to sleep in a Parfumerie

Posted Apr 22, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was great.... Except for the overwhelming smell of perfume as soon as you walk in the door and in every hall and common area on the property, this would have been a great hotel. I have a partner in town and I'm still looking for a regular hotel to stay at. This is not going to be that hotel. Almost there but the drumbeat of the scent just keeps banging on your senses.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Jason

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 5, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice lobby, room fine for a night.

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
The lobby and staff are wonderful. The room is a fine size, the bathroom was very nice - but the condition of the bedroom, particularly the walls, was pretty bad (and we have stayed at this hotel several times and had the same issues in the other rooms) as they were discoloured, peeling, etc. Also, whilst the bar is lovely, we ate in the restaurant once but the food was so atrocious we don't eat there anymore.