Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing Service and Food

Posted Apr 30, 2014
Pros: Location, building
Cons: Staff training, food, customer service attitude
The good - great location, just off the A4 close to Maidenhead, Windsor, Slough and Heathrow. The house is lovely, and the grounds are very nice and peaceful. Has a strong British feel The not so good - no elevator so have to lug the bags up to the rooms. I think they should automatically carry bags, I did get an offer of help but it was very off handed. Room was nice, heater in room took a bit of getting used to. The really not good at all - service in general. Called for room service and took over 3 mins for the staff to answer, then had to repeat the order three times. Was told it would be 20 mins, called at 20 mins said would be a few more mins. In fact arrived after 35 mins and cold. Asked at breakfast if I wanted coffee or tea, asked for tea and got coffee (how hard can that be)? One cleaner pushed past me in the hallway somewhat rudely. Horrid breakfast - selection was either bland buffet or heart attack fried. I fancied something in between so ordered eggs benedict which advertised as containing bacon. In fact it had a slice of ice cold boiled ham, and not particularly nice ham at that. Half an English muffin, poached egg, lack luster ham = GPB 18.50. Hm. Room service food was very mediocre as well. Would not go back. The location and grounds are great but the staff are disinterested at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by LauraH from Evesham

Absolutely worth a visit, great value!

Posted Sep 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have stayed here a few times now and its a super find. Tucked away just off the main road the grounds are lovely, rooms really generous in size with lovely beds and linens. Havent eaten in the main restaurant as yet but the bar food is excellent. Staff do everything to help and make your stay a pleasant one. Couple of minor annoyances, bath tubs are tiny, not big enough to lie down in properly despite the rooms being more than big enough for a lovely tub. Also, often weddings here and I wasnt advise in advance so you can feel a bit out of place. Otherwise, a lovely place, great value for money and super staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bob from Sheffield

Welcoming hotel in quiet location

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Service is from staff is personal and attentive. Dining room looks out over the lawn. Great place for business overnight stop - well priced
Cons: Introduction of satellite TV channels for sport (Sky Sports or whatever BT have to offer) Maybe a bit more variety to room service menu
Location: Not too far off for Windsor races. Burnham village is a couple of minutes away and has a great Indian restaurant and pretty good Chinese
There is always a friendly welcome from staff at Taplow House. Set in attractive lawned grounds, the hotel is placed conveniently for Maidehead and Slough, and only a few minutes off the M4.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Amazing

Posted Sep 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
I attended a wedding reception at the hotel, beautiful venue, staff were lovely and hotel was overall just wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

issues

Posted Jul 18, 2013
the only issue was reception was extremly slow for check in
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
comfortable, quiet,and all staff so helpful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by felicityjg from Surrey

a brief but pleasant stay

Posted May 27, 2013
Pros: The staff
Cons: the stairs
Location: delightful
We only stayed at this hotel for one night as we were attending a wedding elsewhere. Consequently I am unable to comment very thoroughly. The room however was very pleasant - although there were many stairs to climb to get to it! The shower was hot and powerful and the bed was comfortable. ~the staff were helpful and very pleasant. The breakfast was perfectly acceptable - but no more - and the toaster broke down before we were able to make our toast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ok, if there is no wedding on

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: V comfortable rooms.
Cons: Not great if there is a wedding on. Poor breakfast service.
Location: V pleasant setting.
The first night we were there there was a wedding. Our room was far enough away. However, our friends had a terrible night on account of the music and the smokers congregating underneath their window. The second night was much better. The rooms were v comfortable and clean. We ate in the restaurant on our first night. The food was excellent. Breakfast was rather disorganised and they seemed to be a bit short staffed.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve from Halesowen

Urgh - memory foam

Posted Apr 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
This may be very specific to me, but I absolutely hate memory foam mattresses - our room had one, and as such I had a terrible night's sleep (or lack of it). This was the only complaint about our stay, so if you like/don't mind memory foam mattresses then I can highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laura from Marlow, Buckinghamshire SL7, UK

Great for business travellers who like a bit more

Posted Apr 17, 2013
Pros: Staff, dining room and the beds
Cons: A little worn around the edges but still excellent
Location: Nice 15 minute drive to Marlow but felt like I was in the middle of the countryside.
A little run down but staff were really helpful and friendly and the room lovely and comfortable. Didnt eat here in the evening but breakfast was good, unrushed and overlooking the gardens which was lovely. Comfy bed, good size room. All in all very good and would go back any time.