Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milton Keynes

Good hotel

Posted Jul 6, 2014
The only downside was that we were in the room closest to the road, so there was quite a bit of traffic noise. However, we will be staying here again as this was a minor problem. Lovely comfy bed, good tea/coffee facilities, fab hot tub, excellent breakfast, so a good experience, thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by chris_h from Southampton

Unique hotel - quirky and fantastic!

Posted Jun 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
An exceptional hotel, great service, fantastic rooms and the restaurant was amazing! Would definitely recommend getting one of the hot tub rooms :-)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bex from Bishops Stortford

Great hotel, amazing food

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great time at the Crab, (once we found it - left the Sat Nav behind!) have been recommending it since we got back. Food was amazing, and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We stayed there while visiting Highclere/Downton location, and the whole experience was very memorable. Will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Marcelle from Wiltshire

Lovely retreat

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Food, room, staff
Fantastic staff, gorgeous room with a jacuzzi bath (we stayed in the Banyan Tree room) and wonderful seafood in the restaurant. Hotel is very close to a B road so the traffic woke us up early, but that isn't the fault of the hotel. Beautiful décor and excellent amenities, with accommodating, friendly staff in the bar, restaurant and at the reception desk. The perfect retreat for a romantic night away.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room was ok, close to the main road so could hear cars loudly in the morning! No hot water for shower in the evening! Loud walking around noise came from above room and hall way! Ok for a single night but wouldn't of wanted to stay longer! Trying abit hard to be something it's not! Bed was comfy but as there was a gap between the mattress and no head board which ment sitting up in bed wasn't very good! Average but paid for more!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Oct 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
More often there is noise early in the mornings from other rooms. Mechanical noises likely spa or hot tub heater related. Really annoying at 6am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Posted Sep 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We received a welcoming and efficient service on arrival at Reception. Our room was well furnished and comfortable but on the small side . Dinner and breakfast were first class and the service both friendly and efficient . We enjoyed the whole ambience of the hotel and restaurant and would be happy to return and recommend it to our friends .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steve from Oxford

Fantastic stay

Posted Jul 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
Wonderful one night break. Delicious dinner, staff super friendly and very helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
good breakfast