Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cotswolds Mikefrom Cotswolds

A real treat

Posted Mar 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Some previous reviews caused concern that I'd selected somewhere that had service problems; not so! Everything was well up to standard. It's an interesting, unusual, boutique establishment with great accommodation, wonderful food and friendly and helpful staff. Thoroughly enjoyable and we'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by TT

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rec gurufrom Chepstow

Ok but in need of improvement

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The stay was ok, but I found the main bar area pretty unwelcoming, it is an old coaching house with open fires - it might be an idea to light them during the winter months !!!! I did not enjoy eating my 3 course dinner with my coat on!! The food was excellent, everything prepared well, and this was worth the money the service was a little slow. The rooms were OK, but did smell musty/ damp and got cold very quickly - the bathrooms were of good quality and it was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Hughfrom Bellevue, WA

Dates from the 12th Century!

Posted Feb 1, 2014
Pros: 30 minutes from Heathrow and as well as about 200 miles away.
Location: It is a very small village, I didn't end up walking to the Thames as I had hoped. Maidenhead is within 8 minutes if you need a Marks & Spencer.
I flew in from the west coast of the US and needed a place to stay the night prior to setting out. Airport hotels are... airport hotels. The Olde Bell showed up as within 30 minutes from Heathrow, right on the Thames. The drive was simple, the hotel immaculate. All the touches of a fine old hotel. I will be bringing the family back next time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by John Lenyfrom USA

Nice, staff was helpful & friendly

Posted Nov 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice. Traffic terrible (not hotel fault), older property, quiet, nice grounds although it rained a lot so we couldn't enjoy. Walked to Thames & nice walking tour. Breakfast nice and filling. We were in an annex 1st floor room, quiet. We got good value for what we paid, which was very reasonable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sallyfrom hampshire

Lovely hotel in a beautiful village.

Posted Nov 3, 2013
Location: We had a lovely walk along the Thames to the Hurley locks.
We had a lovely stay in this friendly old village pub inn. The rooms were fairly small but comfy and nicely furnished. Nice bathroom and very comfy bed. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was great. Loved the history of the pub and village.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic place! We stayed in a new annexe which was very nice. Lovely touches with fresh coffee and very nice teas. Very quiet. Lots if hot water. Lovely people and good service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RPfrom USA

Nice place

Posted Oct 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Olde Bell is a very nice hotel. The buildings are centuries old and unfortunately some of the infrastructure seems like it is too. But the service is superb, the staff friendly, and the area gorgeous. The room we had was creaky and the water tasted foul, but was otherwise comfortable - if you want everything polished and modern stay at the Holiday Inn up the road.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by rickiefrom Essex

Great Hotel and room

Posted Oct 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room, was very comfortable and large. The high ceiling made the room feel even bigger. I cannot fault to room I had. The area was also very quiet and very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Bellfrom Cardiff

Good or Very Good value - at the right price!

Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
Recent reviews of this hotel have been mostly positive. To put this review in context we paid under £50 for a Sunday night booked at short notice. The standard of the room was good, overall areas in the bar, restaurant and garden were pleasant. Having read other reviews I asked for a warm room, room was a little cool but this was quickly sorted by turning up the radiator. Pegs for clothes instead of a wardrobe - fine for a one night stay. Bedroom and bathroom were very clean with the standard of toiletries, coffee, glassware, bedding etc supplied was good. We had our first drink in the pub just down the road because there was no one serving in the hotel; the bar staff are expected to multi task which might be OK most of the time but expecting the one member of bar staff to serve food when every table in the bar is occupied is not reasonable and left customers waiting for drinks. Drinks and food are cheaper in the pub nearby and service was good but pub was very cold so we returned to the nicer, warmer atmosphere of the hotel where by now the barman had finished serving food and service for the rest of the night was good. We found all staff polite and helpful, check in and out straightforward and standards good or very good value for the price we paid. It is worth knowing that most of the accommodation is across the road adjacent to the hotel car park - you might want to leave the bags in the car until you know where your room is.