Ratings based on 198 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Unpleasant, inattentive reception stuff

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Good location
Cons: * Receptionists who do not take guests for granted. * An interior "face lift"
I had been to Berlin many times before and stayed in different hotels; I have never before experienced such an inattentive, unfriendly and unresponsive reception stuff. Besides mereIy not being nice and welcoming as usually receptionists are in all other hotels, I had this specific experience: I reported about an important and expensive personal item missing from my room; no one attended to it, no one approached me to report, explain, apologize or just acknowledge. I had booked the hotel for a long stay - a long time in advance mostly for its location, which was great. However, if you come for a 2-3 day stay and only care for this specific location than you probably wouldn't mind the old and worn out carpeting , the tiny TV screen (19cm) and the corridors that look and feel like a fading out institution. You will enjoy, though, the cleanliness, the comfortable bed and linen and the pleasant bathroom. But then again...isn't that what it's supposed to be?
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2014 by FeedbackManager, Hotel Management
Dear Nina, Thank you for choosing the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. We are especially grateful for the time you have taken to send us a feedback. We take the thoughts and wishes of our guests very seriously. We sincerely apologize that you had so much trouble during your stay. Of course we already send your feedback to our management. Be sure that we are working on a change of our carpets and our older TV’s. Also we would like to apologize that we could not help you with your lost item. We have spoken to our staff members to ensure, that this will not happen again in the future. We would like to thank you again for staying with us and hope you will give us the opportunity to show you our high standards and quality at the ARCOTEL Velvet in near future. Best regards Your Velvet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton, AB, Canada

Excellent hotel experience!

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Location is within walking distance to most sites and great shopping.
Cons: Room are a little plain but really didn't spend any time in it...
Location: Funky shopping district, 5 minute walk to great restaurants and the river Spree. Easy to navigate from the hotel to all historical sites!
Quick & convenient to get to from the airport (TGL). Very easy to find. Staff at the front desk were so helpful with our daily plans. Room was simple but comfortable. Super location!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 22, 2014 by FeedbackManager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you for your extensive and positive feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us; especially our central location and helpful staff. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again in our beautiful city. Best regards, the ARCOTEL Velvet Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location by centre

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Location was brilliant near a number of restaurants, shopping and quick walk into center. Rooms are lovely. Was there for marathon and one downside is restaurant that provides breakfast did not open early enough to accommodate runners.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Southampton

Nice hotel central location

Posted Sep 16, 2014
We really liked this hotel, the room was nice, the staff were excellent and the location was very convenient. If you want a peaceful location then don't go here because it's on a busy main street. However this suited us fine, there are many nice restaurants in the same street and the underground and tram stops are within 100 metres, giving easy access to all parts of Berlin. The staff were friendly and helpful and spoke English. The room was large, clean and comfortable,with a mini bar, safe, and tv, although we would have liked tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was only separated from the bedroom by a curtain on 2 sides (walls on the other 2),but the toilet had proper walls and door, so that was fine. There is no hotel restaurant but there is a bar which was pleasant and quiet. We would definitely go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 6, 2014 by FeedbackManager, Hotel Management
Dear Kim, thank you so much for your outstanding feedback regarding your stay with us! The entire team was very happy to read your kind words. We are pleased that we could impress you with the design of our hotel, our services and, of course, with our great location. Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We want to wish you all the best and hope that we will get to welcome you again in the future. Kind greetings from Berlin, the ARCOTEL Velvet Team.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane

Nice hotel, Easy wasting distance to everything

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Different layout to other hotels I have stayed in
Cons: Kettle to stay in the room and not have to ask for one.
Location: Great restaurants and cocktails hours all down the surrounding streets and tram stop and metro right outside
Hotel staff very pleasant and accommodating to all our needs. Room was very nice and clean and the big windows definitely stand out. Closer to the city centre than I thought which made it easy to walk everywhere. Would recommend this hotel and possibly stay again when and if I get back to Berlin
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by FeedbackManager, Hotel Management
Dear Rachel, thank you for staying at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin and your nice review. It was a pleasure to receive you as our guest and we are glad that you enjoyed our central location as well as our clean rooms with panorama view. Thank you for your kind words and for recommending us. Best regards, Your ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom liverpool,uk

Very comfortable.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: It's location.
Well positioned hotel, staff were very helpful and friendly. The little bar was very cosy after a day of sightseeing. Close to U Bahn and S Bahn. Tram runs nearby as well. Room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed the views to the street through the floor to ceiling windows. Plenty of places to eat close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2014 by FeedbackManager, Hotel Management
Dear Dawn, thank you for your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. We are very glad that you found the time to write us a comment. Thank you for your nice words about our staff and our comfortable rooms with panorama view. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again, soon. Your ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Israel

Good hotel in a pretty good location

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff
Cons: TV size :)
Location: Great location. Multiple restaurants & coffee shops. Public transportation very accessible. Also walking distance to some Berlin's points of interests
Stayed there for 7 nights. 2 rooms on 2nd floor on the back side. Although the full size windows in the front are tempting, I do think that the back side is much better for a good night sleep as the street is pretty busy at night. Hotel location is pretty good. Several nice restaurants and coffee shops around. The graffiti-covered building next door could look scary, but it's actually a preserved building, which housed a lot of Berlin alternative artists after the fall of the wall. Multiple public transportation options are very close by - U-bahn is just around the corner, S-bahn is a few hundred meters away (but can be reached via the U-bahn too), and a few good tram lines are just next to the hotel. Once you understand the great public transportation system in Berlin, it's easy to get to and from the hotel. Hotel staff was very helpful and happily answered any question we had. Rooms are not too big, but comfortable enough if you are planning to mainly be out. The bath and shower in our rooms only had a curtain separating from the room, but it didn't bother us too much. The toilets are in a separate room with a door so that's good enough. The rooms were clean and the beds were good enough. The strangest thing is probably the size of the TV - it's been a long while since I saw such a small size television. Overall, great hotel, in a great location, and with good accommodation conditions.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2014 by FeedbackManager, Hotel Management
Dear Amit, thank you kindly for your great Feedback´! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; especially the location, the clean rooms, our friendly staff and other amenities our hotel has to offer. The design for the open bathrooms is on purpose, to create a more open and lighter space. We do, however, also offer rooms with closed bathrooms if you prefer. Concerning the size of your televisions, they are indeed a little older but still serve their purpose and work well. We did, however, forward your comment to our Management. Thank you again for your positive review! We hope that we can welcome you as a guest again soon. Best regards from Berlin, Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom UK

Great value with public transport on the doorstep.

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: The rooms are spacious and clean with good storage & climate control. The location is also great, only 5 minutes on tube or tram to the city centre.
Cons: The free Wi-Fi was a bit flaky. The signal strength was always good but their providers DNS server was dodgy, use Google's DNS (8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4).
Location: Just within the former East Berlin, lots of places to eat & drink nearby along with subway and tram links. Friedrichstraße is right round the corner.
I was staying in Berlin on my own for 7 days to explore the city. After fairly extensive research online I settled on this hotel and I wasn't disappointed. It was clean and modern with really good sized (air conditioned) rooms and a decent bathroom. I can only compare this with rooms in the Scandinavian countries I've visited, but on that basis they were definitely bigger. A small irritation was the set-up of the shower over the bath, some skill and a certain knack is required to not flood the bathroom floor when taking a shower (not a wet room like some hotels). The addition of a sliding glass shower screen would solve this issue. There's a tram stop right over the road on Oranienburger Straße, which covers E. Berlin (inc. Alexanderplatz). There's also a U-Bahn and tram stop 1 minute away (Oranienburger Tor) and a S-Bahn stop 5 mins away on Oranienburger Straße. So you have many options on how to get into the city centre (5 mins away) or further afield, the U6 line travels straight through the centre and connects to many other lines. Travel tip... From Tegal airport get the 128 bus to the Kurt-Schumacher-Platz U-Bahn station then get the U6 to the Oranienburger Tor station, a 1 min walk from the hotel. It should take about 30 mins in total and costs €2.60, the same ticket covers all of Berlin's public transport in one direction for 2 hours, just remember to validate it at the start of your journey or risk a €40 fine if caught (by random inspections) without a valid ticket.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by FeedbackManager, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you so much for your positive and extensively detailed feedback! We are delighted that you enjoyed almost everything about our hotel. Especially our central location which is just steps away from the public transportation system and within walking distance of most sights. From your review about the bathroom I am guessing that you stayed in a handicapped accessible room. In these rooms it is not possible to install a glass wall due to security reasons in case a handicapped person with a wheelchair uses the room and there is an emergency. Of course we can offer you a regular room with a normal shower or bathtub for your next stay. Please just make the request when you book or at check-in. Concerning the internet connection, we have forwarded the issue to our maintenance department so that our technician can have a look at it. Thank you again for your great feedback! We appreciate that you took the time to review us and we want to wish you all the best and hope that we can welcome you again in the future! Kind regards, Your ARCOTEL Velvet Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Nice Stay

Posted Aug 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
I'm pretty sure we had a handicapped room as it was huge and the entire bathroom was a shower. Nice stay. Close to the underground trains.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by FeedbackManager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, First of all we like to thank you for your taken time to give us a feedback at expedia. It is great that you have enjoy your stay at the ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin. So we hope we will welcome you soon at our Hotel again. Best regards Your Velvet Team ARCOTEL Velvet Berlin