Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Sophisticated hotel in the heart of West Berlin.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: People, room, design of the room, building, sauna, steam
Cons: The light in the bathroom
Location: The area is cool in walking distance to main shopping streets, Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church and Berlin Zoo. Public transport is perfect.
Axel is very good hotel located in the West Berlin. The personnel are very friendly. Nice, modern hotel and good conditions of everything. Sauna, steam and gym located on the top floor and Jacuzzi in open air with a view to a neighborhood. The area is cool in walking distance to main shopping streets, Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church and Berlin Zoo. Public transport is perfect as everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haiti

Nice Hotel in the Berlin City

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Easy access to the shopping center, theater and the zoo center where you can go by feet no taxi needed.
Location: Movie theater, park, clubs and some great restaurant not far away.
It was just for a short time but i enjoyed my stay there anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great location and service!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Service, location, cleanliness/design.
Cons: Curtains/towels smelled of a strong scented air freshener. Had to open the windows to reduce the smell. Water from shower leaked under glass door.
Location: The late night bars are all within walking (stumbling) distance as are the subways which are spectacular.
Stayed 5 great nights at the Axel after booking an improptu trip to Berlin. SERVICE - The service was great! Though tired from an 18 hr flight, the staff quickly checked me in and upgraded my room (?!). After a nap, the front desk gave me a quick "101" of the area and provided me with excellent maps and information. LOCATION - perfect placement within easy walking distance to three subway stations and with immediate access to a taxi. The malls (KaDeWe and new Bikini Berlin) can be seen from my hotel room and are a short walk away, as are many Berlin sites. ROOM - very clean and modern. Everything you need is provided. The spa showers are fantastic with more nozzles than you know what to do with. The floor to ceiling tinted glass walls make for a fun show, if you're into that. AMENITIES - the gym is fine with limited machines and showers. There's a roof top hot tub with a view, but I didn't use it. The room service was super fast, and the food (from Hamburger Mary's downstairs, of the same L.A. based restaurant) wasn't exactly like the food from West Hollywood, but fine. If/when I return to Berlin, I would have no hesitation in coming back to the Axel Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel in Schoneberg

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location, room, restaurant.
Cons: The employee who received me (bald, chest tattoo) at my arrival is one of the rudest service persons I have ever had to deal with.
Location: Lots of places to go out!
Very nice style, modern and black scheme all over! Definitely designed/thought of with the gay traveler in mind.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rio

Great place !!!!

Posted Oct 23, 2014
If you are in Berlin you should have an Axel experiencie. Very nice hotel, well located , staff friendly , very nice suites , spa and breakfast. The location is the best
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 27, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel within walking distance to sites/shops

Posted Oct 20, 2014
It was a great hotel, close to shopping, restaurants, sights and/or quick cab rides to others. The only thing that lacked was the gym which had limited equipment.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 23, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom NYC

swanky gay hotel. lot of black walls. well done

Posted Sep 19, 2014
Location: flawless. corner of fuggerstrasze.
tiny rooms. no space to put my suitcase anywhere. no closet space. wash basin no spcae to put lotions. the hotel lotions and shampoo bottles are written in very tiny illegible letters. instead of it saying bluntly: Shampoo. In the shower there is no space to put the soap or anything else. the shower system is so complex i had to call a tech guy. bread crumbs in my bed after cleanup. and clean up spray bottles left throughout the room. other than that loved it except it was twice the price of the hotel i usually stay at
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom U.K.

Modern hotel in excellent Southern Berlin location

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location, Quality, Convenience
Cons: Although the hotel is aimed at a niche market, it would be appreciated by all travellers due to its location, quality and price.
Location: Underground Station within a two minute walk; Local smaller shops immediately outside and shopping centre two minute walk away
Although initially a little concerned I had booked a hotel South of the central Mitte area of the city, the excellent underground station is only a two minute walk from the hotel, making access to all areas of the city easy and convenient. The hotel is also in a quiet suburban-type area of the city, with a few local shops and cafes immediately outside, and a large shopping centre only two minutes walking distance. Surprisingly, the cost of my stay was the least expensive of each of my three European destinations, despite being the highest quality of hotel and facilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom ISRAEL

modern hotel, very close to KaDeVe

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: s like a butic hotal
it`s like a butic hotel, vey nice, good location, very good breakfast and friendly stuff
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kennyfrom NYC

Posted Aug 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
I changed rooms half way thru my week from the Suite to a City room and it was way nicer and less expensive than the suite. More light and cleaner feeling. Nice hotel and overall good experience.