Ratings based on 488 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Zaandam

Hotel goede centrale ligging.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Zeer vriendelijke ontvangst. Mooie moderne kamer. Prima ontbijt van 07.00 tot 12.00 uur!!! Uitchecken tot 12.00 uur.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great location, but disappointing otherwise

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Pros: Location. 6th floor spa and roof terrace. Breakfast.
Cons: Room design and facilities.
Location: 2mins walk from Wittenburg Platz U-bahn, Ka De We, the shops of Kurfurstendamm, the main train hub of Zoologischer Garten.
A great location very close to Wittenburg Platz. However, beyond that we were disappointed. The hotel looks stylish but rooms are small (we were 5th floor, room 511). Have management personally tested these rooms? Poor storage; no coat hooks, two small drawers, one small exposed clothes rail with six hangers. Bath design that results in shower water all over the floor. Power box that means you scrabble in the dark trying to fit your room key into the slot to switch on power and thus turn on the light. A floor to ceiling window that didn't fully close meaning there was damp on the wall and exterior noise. Bedside lamps that couldn't switch off. Insufficient extractor fan meaning a shower turned the room into a sauna. The rooms just aren't practical and need personal roadtesting by management. On the plus side, the 6th floor spa is wonderful. The breakfast is good. The majority of staff were pleasant and friendly. Unfortunately however the experience was that of genuine disappointment and I wouldn't recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 18, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Sehr zentral gelegen.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Location: Sehr zentral gelegen. U - Bahnstation in unmittelbarer Nähe. 3 Minuten zum KaDeWe.
ImAllgemeinen war alles ok. Leider wurde das Duschgel und Shampoo nicht aufgefüllt. Auch ein benutztes Glas blieb stehen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen! Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Dec 1, 2014
Great hotel, great staff. Our room was noise because of the main road, we asked to changed and it was arranged straight way. Friendly, clean and great. Definitely when going back to Berlin will stay at Axel. Joe from London
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 5, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Sophisticated hotel in the heart of West Berlin.

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: People, room, design of the room, building, sauna, steam
Cons: The light in the bathroom
Location: The area is cool in walking distance to main shopping streets, Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church and Berlin Zoo. Public transport is perfect.
Axel is very good hotel located in the West Berlin. The personnel are very friendly. Nice, modern hotel and good conditions of everything. Sauna, steam and gym located on the top floor and Jacuzzi in open air with a view to a neighborhood. The area is cool in walking distance to main shopping streets, Kaiser Wilhelm Memorial Church and Berlin Zoo. Public transport is perfect as everywhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Tolerantes Alternativ-Hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Sehr gute Lage und freundliches Personal. Prima Frühstücksbuffet. Zimmer jedoch viel zu laut und Fenster schliessen nicht - Strassenlärm.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen! Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 27, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen. Wir hoffen, Sie bald wieder bei uns begrüßen zu dürfen! Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Haiti

Nice Hotel in the Berlin City

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: Easy access to the shopping center, theater and the zoo center where you can go by feet no taxi needed.
Location: Movie theater, park, clubs and some great restaurant not far away.
It was just for a short time but i enjoyed my stay there anyway.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom magescq

Hôtel très sympa personnel un peu froid

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Localisation idéale tout confort deco atypique et très sympa. Le personnel de la réception est un peu froid
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 24, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Cher Monsieur, Nous vous remmercions pour l'avis formidable que vous avez laissé sur notre hôtel! Nous sommes ravis que vous ayez tellement apprécié votre séjour et nous espérons de vous revoir très bientôt. Veuillez agréer, Madame, Monsieur, nos salutations respectueuses. Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mangelnde Sauberkeit

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Wellnessbereich "versifft" es gibt keinen anderen Ausdruck Im Zimmer kam aus der dusche kein Wasser, das ist kein Spaß. Im Hotel drauf angesprochen keine Reaktion und ekine Entschuldigung oder Preisnachlaß
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 25, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Lieber Gast, Vielen Dank, dass Sie sich die Zeit genommen haben, uns Ihre Meinung zu Ihrem Aufenthalt bei uns mitzuteilen. Auch wenn wir es bedauern, dass Sie keine besseren Erfahrungen bei uns gemacht haben, hilft uns Ihre Beurteilung dazu zu lernen und uns zu verbessern. Wir arbeiten daran, es unseren Gästen an nichts fehlen zu lassen. Wenn Sie uns die Chance geben, Ihr Vertrauen zurück zu gewinnen, garantieren wir Ihnen, unser Bestes zu geben, damit Sie genauso gute Erfahrungen mit uns machen können, wie andere Gäste. Mit freundlichen Grüßen, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Great location and service!

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Pros: Service, location, cleanliness/design.
Cons: Curtains/towels smelled of a strong scented air freshener. Had to open the windows to reduce the smell. Water from shower leaked under glass door.
Location: The late night bars are all within walking (stumbling) distance as are the subways which are spectacular.
Stayed 5 great nights at the Axel after booking an improptu trip to Berlin. SERVICE - The service was great! Though tired from an 18 hr flight, the staff quickly checked me in and upgraded my room (?!). After a nap, the front desk gave me a quick "101" of the area and provided me with excellent maps and information. LOCATION - perfect placement within easy walking distance to three subway stations and with immediate access to a taxi. The malls (KaDeWe and new Bikini Berlin) can be seen from my hotel room and are a short walk away, as are many Berlin sites. ROOM - very clean and modern. Everything you need is provided. The spa showers are fantastic with more nozzles than you know what to do with. The floor to ceiling tinted glass walls make for a fun show, if you're into that. AMENITIES - the gym is fine with limited machines and showers. There's a roof top hot tub with a view, but I didn't use it. The room service was super fast, and the food (from Hamburger Mary's downstairs, of the same L.A. based restaurant) wasn't exactly like the food from West Hollywood, but fine. If/when I return to Berlin, I would have no hesitation in coming back to the Axel Hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 28, 2014 by manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Juan Carlos Utrilla General Manager Axel Hotel Berlín