Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 11, 2014
Pros: Great staff, lovely breakfast. clean rooms and great location. Would certainly stay here again.
Attending a conference in Berlin and was booked here by the university. We stayed on for an extra week at our own expense. The "standard room" is small but very clean, great staff, and hotel is convenient to cafes, museums and walking around. The english- language version of the website is not as detailed at the German version and it suggests that the hotel may not accept credit cards once you are there. They do take credit cards and can also help you with ubahn tickets, stamps, etc. Great breakfasts though pricey if you don't plan on a long relaxing meal. That internet is available for free in the lobby made the lingering breakfast attractive. Loved the courtyard sitting area. The staff bi-lingual was incredibly helpful with directions. And I will certainly stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel from which you can explore Berlin

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: In a convenient location for walking, access to transport and places to eat. The staff are helpful and speak excellent English. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: The storage facilities in the hotel room were minimal and could do with increasing. There are no tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.
Location: Too many to mention, go and look for yourselves!
Arrangements for late arrival at hotel worked well, however the following morning, promptly at 0630 am, the building site one plot away swung into action! The amount of noise generated led you to believe that you were actually on it. We requested a change of room and after the obligatory exchange of "You can have another room for an additional 20 euros per night", another and much quieter room was found at no additional cost. It is unfortunate for a convenient hotel located in the middle of Berlin within walking distance of so many of the things to experience and within reach of numerous eating experiences, that they have no control over the situation. If you view the skyline of the city, it is dominated by building cranes. Berlin is a fascinating city to visit a providing a wealth of information at each site. The transport system is efficient and reasonably easy to navigate; just remember to validate your ticket when you are on the train platform. If you want to visit the Reichstag, remember to book in advance; it's well worth the effort an amazing building. Do try one of the numerous and readily available tours - bus, boat, trabant...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by AB from Manchester, UK

An excellent base

Posted Mar 10, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, spotlessly clean, good location without being in the thick of it
Cons: Could have been slightly less minimalist in terms of storage
Location: Alexanderplatz, Tom's currywurst stand, New Synagogue, Bundestag, Museum island - all within striking distance quite apart from great S/U-Bahn links
Stayed in Berlin for a 5-night city-break, and wanted somewhere good for public transport links, but a quiet retreat from hard days on our feet. The Calma was just right, being close to both U- and S-Bahn stops, and surrounded by a range of eating places. Alexanderplatz was a brisk 25 minutes walk away, the Berliner Ensemble / Friedrichstrasse less than 15 minutes. The staff were friendly and enthusiastic, made sure we had good maps for the area and for public transport, and spoke great English. There was major building work going on just down the street - starting at 7am on the dot - but whilst we were aware of it, it didn't really disturb us, and I would guess that a room facing into the courtyard wouldn't have heard a thing. The only disturbances were a) the cleaner vacuuming at 7am one morning in the next room, where the socket sounded to be just through the wall from our pillows, and b) the resident of the next room trying his key in our door by mistake late at night. The hotel was spotless. Sadly there was no mention on site of the building's history as DDR printworks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by candy from uk

Nice environment and good location

Posted Dec 23, 2013
The room is nice and good environment . We were travelled in 3, they ready the sofa bed for us! So sweet , But need to tell them when you booked the hotel ! I love their breakfast , is really nice and delicious. Good location which near to both S and U-bahn station ! The staffs nice too!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Carlos from Miami, USA

Great Hotel, great staff, and excellent location.

Posted Dec 23, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great hotel with a great staff and excellent location. One note if you arrive late at night as I did make sure you have a phone since you will need to call the front desk because the front door is locked. No worries, the night time staff will check your reservation and to the right of the door there's a black box once you enter the access code given to you by the staff you room key will drop and just unlock the side door. The hotel is great and very safe as you know if you travel to Germany everything is very secure so no need to worry. The hotel is tucked away from the main street and its very quite. The only problem you will have is parking if you have a car, luckily I parked my car at my friend's garage few blocks down the street. Many restaurants around the hotel, plenty of bars, and very easy to get around. If you have any issues just talk to the person at the front desk, they are very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, great price, and very nice. The breakfast at the hotel is great has all I needed and all you can eat and is not expensive. Hope my reviews helps anyone..
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Patrick from Wexford - Ireland

Great Value, helpful staff

Posted Sep 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
A friend and I stayed there for four nights. The location was great for all major attractions. The staff were very helpful and all spoke great English. Breakfast was not the best, but it is all hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kelly from San Francisco

Lovely small hotel tucked away in quiet area

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
This was a very pleasant discovery. The hotel is tucked away from the street, with a small courtyard, which keeps everything quiet -- even thought it's located just a half-block away from Friedrichstrasse and a tram stop. You can easily walk to the Friedrich train station and, if you're up for it, even walk to Unter den Linden. Lots of shops and cafes on the way. Everything in the room was very clean and modern, and the staff is very nice. The only drawback is that they charge for wireless and for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C.D from London

A quiet hotel in Mitte.

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Small, clean, very centrally located hotel in a secluded courtyard near to Berlin's major museums. Perfect for anyone looking for a good value place to stay in Mitte. The only thing to be aware of is that if you arrive after 10.30pm the front desk is closed and you will need to phone another hotel who will give you a code to access your key. This is all made clear when booking, but it is worth being aware of. Good range of caf├ęs and restaurants in the surrounding streets as well as numerous small galleries and shops. I would certainly stay here again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Good location, no night service

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel has a great location in Berlin Mitte, the rooms are quiet, and their size is generous. Three downsides: a) "king" or "queen" size beds are essentially small beds moved together which is not great if you are not traveling alone, b) the reception is not attended after 10pm, c) the process of getting connected to the internet is needlessly complicated and error-prone. Points b and c are related. If you arrive at the hotel late, you will have to call a less than friendly hotline for the hotel group and somebody might arrive to let you in. The same applies if you want to get connected to the internet (i.e., you cannot just pay with a credit card to get connected). In our case, the hotline attendant was never able to give us a code; so we were not able to use the internet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by st. anne from memphis, tn

near train station

Posted Jun 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
staff were courteous and very helpful.