Ratings based on 135 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Warsaw

nice hostel with excellent view

Posted Aug 25, 2014
great place to stay close to s-bahn station, tram - very good connection with downtown, or even walk. you can rent bikes and ride the whole city. nice rooms and very helpful, friendly staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2014 by Babeta Schneiderova, Hotel Management
Hi Aneta, Thank you so much for your fantastic feedback after your recent stay with us! Our main goal here at Generator is to create unique experiences for our guests and I´m really proud and happy to learn that we have managed to achieve this for you. I will pass your great comments to everyone in my team here. I hope we will see you here again soon and please keep spreading the Generator word  All the best and safe travels, Babeta Schneiderova General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
by CJBTfrom UK

Noisy

Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our only issue was the noise, on and off all night, every night during our four night stay. The corridors were noisy with people shouting and running around and we could clearly hear the people in the next room talking, singing and tapping. The beds weren't at all comfortable with lumps and bumps in the mattress. I know its a hostel, but you are still paying for a bed for night so should be able to get some reasonable sleep. Otherwise its ok, a bit out of the centre of town but right by the train and tram so easy transport links. A supermarket and a couple of eateries next door.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but a retreated from downtown

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: The ambience.
Cons: Breakfast could be more substantial
Location: not that much, public transport is quite necessary
The hotel was in great conditions and it was a perfect place to meet new people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by njohn313from Berlin

CLEAN. CHEAP. GOOD LOCATION

Posted Aug 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for nearly three weeks before moving into my flat in Berlin. Staff were all very very helpful, rooms were clean, hotel is in a good location as it sits on a transit hub - and the neighbourhood surround it is not too lively, but it is nice a quiet. I would definitely recommend to anyone that likes clean, affordable, and likes to take the transit!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Willfrom Berlin

Great for teens, not teachers

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room for me was very small (even for European standards) and VERY noisy. Didn't sleep for two nights, then changed to a hotel next door. Students loved it though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Babeta Schneiderova, Hotel Management
Hi Will, thanks very much for taking your time to send us feedback! I am glad that your students loved our hostels but I am also very sorry to hear that you didn't get any sleep and had to change for a hotel. I hope you will give Generator another try,either in our property or in some other properties which we have. Best regards, Babeta Schneiderova General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not a bad hostel, Good price.

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Was close enough to the town centre and attractions, about 15 minutes by public transport
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2014 by Babeta Schneiderova, Hotel Management
Hi, thanks very much for the great review for Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg. Being a little bit out of town is not a problem when located right by the subway station PLUS it saves you money! Winning. Thanks again Babete, General Manager, Generator Hostel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

very basic hostel

Posted Jun 15, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: Adding air conditioning in the rooms,bigger toilets and showers, providing soup shower and towel, WiFi reception in the room,luggage deposit for free.
We got to the hostel on Saturday night. The desk clerk was nice and the entry process was quick. The room we got had no air conditioning, toilets and showers where very small and they did not include any soap or towels. Also there is no WiFi reception in the room (only in the lobby) and the check out is at 10 am. In addition, if you want to deposit your luggage after check-out, you need to pay 6 euros unlike other places that provide these service for free.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by nathfrom nz

annoying set-up

Posted Jun 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
this place is great for large groups containing children, schools sports teams etc. otherwise chose somewhere else. we stayed as a couple in tiny twin room no air con on the 7th floor. the tight shower was crumbling on the ground around your feet. there are two elevators that can fit 4 people in each. the hostel can sleep up to 900. do the math. it was a fluke if you didnt have to wait for the elevator. nd if you were so lucky u would have to stop on every floor because kids being kids would hit the buttons on the outside as a laugh. break wasca rip off. nd wifi only in the lobby is painfull especially if your staying on the 7th floor. will not stay again nor recommend to friends.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

base cheap clean hostel

Posted May 24, 2014
It is cheap and clean hostel. Nothing more nothing less.