Ratings based on 236 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classy hotel by a tree-lined canal

Posted Sep 10, 2014
Check went very smoothy, and a room was ready for me even though I arrived at about 10 a.m. after an overnight flight from the U.S. This hotel has a kind of a courtyard in front of it where you can escape from the city outside, and enjoy a beer or snack in the summer months. Berlin is too large a city to be able to walk everywhere, but you can stroll east from this hotel to the Potsdam Plaza and the Mitte or west to the Zoologische Garten (it takes about 20 minutes either way.) There are always taxis just outside the hotel and U-bahn stations about 5 blocks away. Breakfast is a bit pricey if not included in the room rate, but the buffet is excellent. There's an Italian restuarant and a bar right by the hotel if you're tired at the end of the day and unwilling to venture out again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fairfax, VA

Helped make my Berlin vacation great!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: As great as the property itself is, the staff is what made it special. Especially the young, shorter woman at the front desk and Jonny the Concierge
Cons: Not a whole lot. There is construction going on in one of the restaurants, Eck, and work starts pretty early. That was it. Very minor.
Location: A little far away for walking to most of the tourist attractions but only a short bus ride away from everything and the stop is about 75 yards away.
Stayed there for a week and really helped make the Berlin vacation memorable and enjoyable. The hotel itself is beautiful. The food was very good (try the schnitzel and the mousse). Beds comfortable and showers powerful. But the staff was what really made it special. Jonny the Concierge is about as friendly and knowledgeable as I've ever seen. When I checked in on Sunday, 8/17, I lost one of my credit cards. The young, shorter woman w/ short hair (didn't get her name) checking me immediately called Visa and efficiently checked me in as well as help resolve my issue. All throughout the week, the front desk people and Jonny made a non-German-speaking, lone traveler like me visiting Berlin for the first time, comfortable and knowledgeable about their great city. Few hotels have had staff top to bottom that was this good and trust me, I travel a lot and am a hotel snob. Don't worry about the distance to the main tourist attractions. A 75 yard walk gets you to the M100 or M29 bus for only 2.60 Euros and gets you there while driving through the other tourist attractions. One piece of trivia, I learned from visiting the Bendlerblock memorial to the July 20, 1944 assassination attempt on Hitler as depicted in the movie "Valkyrie" that some of the guys that were supporting Von Stauffenberg (Tom Cruise) were hanging out at the lounge of the Esplanade waiting for word to get going. Bendlerblock is only about a ten minute walk from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 12, 2014
This hotel was excellent and we had no complaints during our stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guet, Thank you very much for the great review of our Hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Yours sincerely, Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin Verena Schmelcher
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 15, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Yours sincerely, Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin Verena Schmelcher
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Yours sincerely, Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin Verena Schmelcher
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warsaw

Good stay

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Pros: Food at the restaurant stood out.
Cons: Free WiFi. It's 2014 already.
Staff was really helpful, good food in the Eck Restaurant, clean rooms. My only complaint is paid WiFi. Charging extra for Internet access is like charging extra for hot water in your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your kind review. We would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our staff and the hotel. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property. Yours sincerely, Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin Verena Schmelcher
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Cons: Only negative thing was that there was sometimes a slight damp/sewer smell in the bathroom.
We stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great base to stay while visiting the tourist sights in Berlin. It was just a 20minute walk to Potsdamer Platz and extremely near the Tiergarten. There were u bathe and s barn stops nearby allowing us to travel to the historic sights too. The hotel was clean and pleasing to the eye. The reception was well maintained and staff were there to welcome us. Staff were friendly and helpful; they also spoke fluent English which helped us a lot! The room was spacious and nice. We slept well because the beds were comfy and the hotel was quiet at night despite it being so big! Having access to the hotel pool was a bonus. Again this was clean and well kept. Overall a great hotel which I would recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, With reference to your kind review we would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our staff and the hotel. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property. Yours sincerely, Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin Verena Schmelcher
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kuwait

Nice hotel close to the city center

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Nice hotel . very comfort . Perfect staff. Very clean . Good location. Its realy 5 stars hotel . I higly recommended .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Yours sincerely, GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN Verena Schmelcher
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bethesda, MD

Wonderful hotel!

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Pros: Location and the facilities.
Cons: Nothing. Though this wouldn't be keeping with the ethos in Berlin, we'd love it if the hotel was completely nonsmoking - even the outside areas.
Location: Wonderful restaurants, shopping, transportation, museums, and things for kids and adults to enjoy.
The staff could not have been nicer or more helpful and the hotel itself was beautiful and well situated. A short walk to two U Bahn stations and lots of restaurants, shops, playgrounds (for those with young kids), and the zoo. We walked through Potsdamer Platz during our trip and I preferred the Nollendorfplatz area (where the hotel is located) to Potsdamer. Fewer annoying chain restaurants and not overrun by tourists.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, With reference to your kind review we would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our staff and the hotel. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property. Yours sincerely, GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN Verena Schmelcher
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, With reference to your kind review we would like to thank you very much for the praise and the kind words you found about our staff and the hotel. We would be very pleased to welcome you again at our property. Yours sincerely, GRAND HOTEL ESPLANADE BERLIN Verena Schmelcher
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Godaliming

Very nice hotel close to 100 bus stop

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: The attentive staff, locality, cleanliness of all the areas.
Location: It's a bus ride to the Zoo. Not much to do nearby but the buses run nearby and in approx 8 minutes you are in the centre of the city.
A comfortable hotel in a quiet locality. Close to bus stops for a very quick ride into city centre. Buy the Berlin card which give free travel on all transport so you can use it as much as necessary.the hotel pool is a good size and robes and slippers are in your room so they are useful for getting to and from the pool. Breakfast is pricey but you can have coffee and croissant in the bar area which is quite adequate and a fraction of the cost.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Patricia, thank you very much for this nice review! Kind regards Kevin Kadric Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from london

Nice hotel, stop for bus 100 within easy reach

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Bus stop is 3 min walk, u Bahn Nollen dorf is about 10 mins walk. Hotel is clean
Cons: If free wi -fi were given to tourists it would make it very appealing . Also it will be more family friendly if a choice of affordable breakfast .
Location: Bus 100 ,close to zoolog gardens and Alexander platz. A shop called Lotto ( travel tkts ) is on the back of hotel ,also a coffee shop with bakery.
Very close to bus stop 100, we had taken a 72 hr Berlin welcome pass,which only cost 25.50euros, all transport within zone AB,free. Zone C ,which includes scloenfeld airport only 27.7 euros, a bargain. All passes must be validated upon first use . Even though the Hotel is supposedly 5*, the hotel does Not have free wi-fi!, However it is mostly used by business travellers who probably charge their companies for it. No free breakfast ,but you can buy one for 22 euros(expensive ).
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 11, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear bav, thank you very much for your review. Kind regards Kevin Kadric Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cliff from New York, NY

Posted Jun 21, 2014
Hotel was great. The only drawbacks were the distance to most of the sites and the lack of free internet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 25, 2014 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Dear Cliff, thank you very much for this nice review. Kind regards Kevin Kadric Grand Hotel Esplanade Berlin