Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel in good position

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: The lift!
Cons: Nothing
Two couples visiting the city to sight-see. Good location in interesting area with shops, cafeteria and good restaurants near at hand. Had some good meals locally. 5 minutes to S Bahn. Rooms were excellent with plenty of room, walking-in wardrobe, shower/bath and comfortable beds. Nice touch was water and fruit in room. Could have more water as required. Breakfast, on the top floor, was excellent with wide choice and delightful service. Terrace as well. Free tea, coffee and cakes through out the afternoon and early evening was a very welcome feature after walking round museums, etc.. The hotel does not have a gym or pool and the lift does not reach down to reception level or up to the breakfast room which could be awkward for some people. But for those wanting a good place to stay when going out to explore the city this is ideal. Think there are one or two smaller rooms on ground floor, so do just check what you are getting! Otherwise go for it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by charlie from scotland

family run hotel

Posted Apr 10, 2014
Pros: Decore, friendly and helpful staff and between 2pm / 9pm there was complimentary tea,coffee available ,we thought this was a nice touch
Cons: nothing
Location: everything is within walking distance
this was our first visit to Berlin and to Hotel Otto. we were surprised how central we were ,within easy walking distance to train station , shops ,restaurants and bars
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Anna from Norfolk, England

Much more than we expected!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Lovely, attentive staff, clean, tidy, massive room, complimentary tea, coffee and cake and a lovely location with easy transport to Berlin centre. Perfect, will definitely be coming again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jay from mississippi

Wonderful hotel minutes away from Savignyplatz.

Posted Jan 22, 2014
From beginning to end our stay at Hotel Otto was incredibly pleasant. The staff was attentive, eager to please, and quite accommodating to English speakers. The neighborhood is quiet and beautiful, and we felt completely safe throughout the city. There are also several outstanding restaurants on the same block.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from London, UK

Family Christmas Market Trip

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: The rooms were large, clean and simple. The beds were comfortable and warm.
Cons: The rooms were a little cold. TVs are small but we were not there to watch TV.
Location: Lovely area, good restaurants. Particularly recommend Ottenthal a few mins walk away.
Hotel Otto is located in a pleasant neighbourhood with good restaurants close to the U-Bahn. The staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Rob from Wokong

Posted Dec 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent service. Rooms We're a little small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 3, 2013
Cons: They could use an ice machine.
Location: Easy walking distance to transit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ACG

Amazing hotel

Posted Dec 2, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing - heck even the front door automatically swings open when we arrive and when we exit. The front reception sees us coming and opens it for us!
Location: - Wilhelm Cathedral is within walking distance - Lots of restaurants - good food restaurants - Plenty of nightlife
It might not look spectacular from the outside but consider these: 1. The staff was second to none - they were amazing. No attitude and speaks English and only too happy to help 2. The location was excellent. No - it isn't central Berlin - but even that is only 4 subway stops away. And, the subway stop for this hotel is less than a couple of minutes away. Best of all - no need to find a place to eat in downtown - the street this hotel is in is loaded with places to eat (and not only German food either) 3. The room was huge (Comfort Room). We ended up going to Stuttgart and it was like half the size of what we had in Berlin. You would think it would be somewhat larger compared to what we had at Hotel Otto in Berlin - but it wasn't. We missed Hotel Otto! 4. Excellent Breakfast. Normally one would get a crusty bread and something to drink. But Hotel Otto not only seves me coffee - but all the tea selections are on the wall (a huge selection) - together with excellent sausages, baked potatoes, grilled eggplants, cereals, cheeses, yogurts, etc. Have 2 eggs + any of the above - and you're good for the day!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 1, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central near to public transport,restaurants etc.

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: Very clean and pleasant.Staff very helpful. They recommended a very nice restaurant and we had a wonderful meal.
Cons: Not to have a room near a public toilet
Location: The location was central and the underground and the buses were within walkng distance. Charlottenberg gate nearby was interesting, Zoo and shopping.
Was visiting Berlin with my friends and found this hotel very central with easy access to the underground, buses and the airport. There were some good restaurants nearby. The room was very clean and utilitarian. I was not too keen on being so close to a public toilet on the ground floor but did not get disturbed too often. The reception staff particularly Aivars, were very friendly and helpful and available almost all the time. The idea of having tea in the lounge was very nice and we enjyed coming back to a refreshing drink with some delicious truffles and fruit. I found my stay here very pleasant in a very clean and quiet city.